Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent Jazz compilation for the Intermediate Jazz pianist, July 9, 2001
By 
"digital-piano-man" (New Haven, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
Some of the more popular tunes in this compilation are A night in Tunisia, Satin Doll, Sophisticated Lady and All the things you are. Missing out on classics like Take the A-train in lieu of several rather obscure tunes that aren't exactly Jazz standards, by my measure, is the book's greatest flaw. For the beginning to intermediate jazz student, its a nice book to own. All the songs are full arrangements and not too difficult to play. Advanced pianists will probably be happier with a nice, solid fakebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Jazz Standards Ever, May 8, 2000
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
This is a good collection of some famous Jazz tunes, it does also have some less well known songs. This means you can play/sing your favourites and still enlarge your repetoire. Guitar chords are provided as well as the piano part and the vocal line with lyrics. There are some songs that I feel aren't strictly Jazz, though this can be taken that one can adapt more than the obvious songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for good pianists wanting to play Jazz, October 5, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
I play bass in a Jazz trio with a piano player who was Classically trained. Her sightreeading chops are outstanding, but her Jazz instincts are non-existence. These arrangements give her the ability to play Jazz with us, all the while giving her experience in playing Jazz. Already her improv skills are improving and her swing feel is strong. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and there is also an easy piano version which was what I wanted, November 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
I bought this thinking it was the same thing I got from the library, but it was actually slightly different. This is the piano/vocal/guitar version, and there is also an easy piano version which was what I wanted. The latter has much bigger notes for ease of reading and is more at my level. This version has the vocal on a separate line which is mostly unnecessary considering that the highest note of the piano is usually the vocal melody, but it does mean that the piano notes are smaller to make room for the vocal line, and there are more measures per page as well (which is good for limiting page turns but bad for reading). One problem throughout for me is the left hand tenths (some elevenths too!), most of which I just x'd out and I play the lowest note an octave higher. The selections from the two books are different enough such that owning both would not be totally redundant, but if I had to have one I would choose the easy piano version. Overall, good book and good selection of tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fulfilled all of Daughter's needs, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
My daughter loved this bookas she is growing in her Jazz studies for when she gets into college. Her vocal coach loved the book and encouraged its use a lot over the next few months. Thanks to the seller who got the book here in plenty of time for Christmas using ground shipping. It was it expected condition and wrapped well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, August 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
This is a good book of songs. I will be using it for sight-reading training, so, unfortunately it is a bit too hard for me right now. But I do look forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Selection of Jazz Tunes, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
A decent collection of the classics, the guitar chords are excellent. The piano line just needs a little jazzing up on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 14, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
Nice addition to my library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great jazz standards!, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
Great book of jazz vocal standards! This is exactly what I was hoping it would be! Fairly easy piano accompaniments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Standards Explored --No. @, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) (Paperback)
This too is a great book. But I think my gold standard is for a book to include every song off the John Coltrane/Johnny Hartman classic recording. Pure magic. Coltrane somehow lifted Hartman from a good singer to a great singer. It's sad that Johnny never hit that mark with any other recording. And as I've said before, if a book doesn't have Billy Strayhorn's "Lush Life," it can't have five stars. But that's my bias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series)
The Best Jazz Standards Ever (The Best Ever Series) by Hal Leonard Corp. (Paperback - March 1, 1994)
$19.95 $14.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.