Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best
The Best Karate Series are the definitive books for learning the art of Shotokan karate. They have been around for many years and still none have surpassed their excellence. They are very helpful for the beginner and the advanced student alike. I have read them all and have found that each book in the series is excellent. Although you can't learn a martial art from a book...
Published on April 12, 2010 by Bohdi Sanders, Ph.D.

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful at all...
Volumes 3 and 4 for Kumite were not helpful at all in tournament karate combat knowledge. There are plenty of pictures of techniques in action, however the minimal explanations presented are very vague and not very technical. There is no helpful analysis nor tips for actual tournament combat aspects (training, targetting, distancing, scoring points, etc.). These two...
Published on October 18, 2011 by jaykit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, April 12, 2010
This review is from: Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 (Paperback)
The Best Karate Series are the definitive books for learning the art of Shotokan karate. They have been around for many years and still none have surpassed their excellence. They are very helpful for the beginner and the advanced student alike. I have read them all and have found that each book in the series is excellent. Although you can't learn a martial art from a book alone, these books are an excellent supplement to your training and are very helpful in learning the finer points of the art of Shotokan. Each book in this series sets the standard for books on Shotokan training. There are simply none better, at least none better that I have found, and I read a lot of martial arts books. I highly recommend these books for anyone who is interested in improving their karate or who is interested in Shotokan. They are simply the best! Highly recommended. 5 Stars.

Bohdi Sanders, author of the award-winning bestseller, Modern Bushido: Living a Life of Excellence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic guide to Shotokan Karate Kumite techniques., August 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 (Paperback)
This fantastic book was written by the late Nakayama, Sensei, who was the Chief Instructor for the Japan Karate Association. As with all his "Best Karate" series, this volume is comprehensive and detailed. The focus of this text is sparring techniques (Kumite). The author explains the progression of learning karate sparring. Beginning with five step sparring, moving to three step sparring, and than to one step sparring. There is also semi-free sparring and the ultimate level being free sparring. All serious students of Shotokan Karate should have this book in their personal library.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Karate Multiple Strikes Techniques for Self-Defense).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best karate is no misnomer!, March 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 (Paperback)
I cannot sing enough praises to this series of books. Together with the title Dynamic Karate, they form a foundation upon which to advance your karate with rock solid kihon information.

I started to practice karate at the age of 16. After a long period of medical school and residency training during which practicing karate was out of the question, I got back to it at the age of 38. In my comeback I found out that the spirit of karate had changed. When I started, the emphasis was on learning good kihon and good kata, so that your kumite skills would have a strong foundation. It was also on the moral values of karate. Now, I feel that much of that is being lost and kumite and competition is all many karateka think of.

This series of books presents karate in the light of an era of change. Sensei Nakayama lived in a generation marked by the transition of the karate as taught by Funakoshi, who believed it was unsuitable for competition, to an era where competition, if not the single purpose, has become one of the main goals of karate practitioners.

When you read Funakoshi's books, it is easy to grasp how he viewed karate: a martial art meant to discipline ones body, improve ones health and lifespan, rein in ones violent impulses, and promote the sense of respect and politeness towards others, especially ones would be opponents. In summary, karate was to span a persons whole being and attitude, both inside the dojo as well as outside. Maybe especially outside.

Sensei Nakayama clearly inherited that way of thinking and added to it a scientific view of body mechanics and systematic organization of techniques and concepts. He also presents excerpts of famous tactical experts of the past, many of whom where not karateka, but swordsman or strategists as they were called. Those excerpts represent the concept that all martial arts are the same in terms of rational, only the methods and weapons vary. The need for strategy, for constant training and for the understanding of the spirit is of paramount importance.

While learning Karate-do from a book is impossible, complementing what we learn at our dojo with technical information provided by this series of books is certainly very desirable. I dare say it is desirable regardless of your karate style. I hail from Kenyu-Ryu karate, which tends to use karate stances that are higher. But still, I feel that 100% of the books still apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is simply a necessary addition to your Shotokan Karate library, October 30, 2008
By 
This review is from: Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 (Paperback)
You need this book and all the books in this series if you are a Shotokan Karate student.

Shotokan Karate is one of the most practiced styles of karate in the world, and this series of books by Sensei Nakayama will give you a fairly complete introduction to the style.

These books were designed and distributed before we had dvds, and they were designed to provide a reference of correct technique in a world without enough qualified Shotokan Instructors.

This volume provides an overview of many Shotokan sparring techniques, although it won't make you a figher or a Shotokan student. For that, you need a qualified teacher.

On the other hand, this and all the other books in the series provide the best reference yet for the entire syllabus of Shotokan Karate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bes Karate :Vol 3, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The beginning of this book is excellent. It describes preparing for combat/kumite and the different types. After that, there are lots of pictures describing various kumite techniques. For someone new to Shotokan (or new to martial arts), it is valuable. If you already have a foundation of experience, it's less valuable. The issue I had is despite the many pictures - the written descriptions, which are not shown step by step, are just summarized at the bottom of the page. So, sometimes you can figure it out by seeing the pictures, but sometimes there are gaps between how a technique went from one step to the next step. And it leaves the reader unclear. Overall, worthwhile for learning the basics about Shotokan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Karate Vol. 3, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 (Paperback)
Part of the library for my students. I encourage all of them to get the full set and I try to help them. All Shotokan Karate-ka should have these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Karate, November 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 (Paperback)
This is a fantastic series for any serious Karate students. Insofar as the Kata are concerned, the pictures, diagrams and descriptions are excellent and have really helped me with my Karate. Incidentally, if you are not a Karate student I would strongly recommend this as a sport for an individual of any age. The physical excercise and mental stress relief are unsurpassed by any other sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful at all..., October 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 (Paperback)
Volumes 3 and 4 for Kumite were not helpful at all in tournament karate combat knowledge. There are plenty of pictures of techniques in action, however the minimal explanations presented are very vague and not very technical. There is no helpful analysis nor tips for actual tournament combat aspects (training, targetting, distancing, scoring points, etc.). These two volumes are not recommended at all for class nor tournament preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1
Best Karate, Vol.3: Kumite 1 by Masatoshi Nakayama (Paperback - October 15, 1978)
Used & New from: $0.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.