Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF! Unrecognized Musical Genius! DIG IN!!!
King's X has a core following, a cult following, and that includes anyone that has heard their music.

See them live, and you will understand what true musical prowess sounds like. This is the loudest, the most talented, the greatest ungreat rock & roll act ever.

Doug Pinnick, Ty Tabor and Jerry Gaskill are 3 guys from Texas that decided to start...
Published on May 9, 2007 by B. Stewart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, if you are going to make a King's X best of, this isn't bad
I am a HUGE fan of King's X. This Texas trio are the best trio from that state with the exception of a little ol' blues band, ZZ Top (that's another review). But King's X are quite different from that other Texas 3. These guys are a great progressive metal band that make complex music that is not for the masses, but is rather for those who appreciate great musicianship...
Published on October 10, 2011 by Johnny Boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF! Unrecognized Musical Genius! DIG IN!!!, May 9, 2007
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
King's X has a core following, a cult following, and that includes anyone that has heard their music.

See them live, and you will understand what true musical prowess sounds like. This is the loudest, the most talented, the greatest ungreat rock & roll act ever.

Doug Pinnick, Ty Tabor and Jerry Gaskill are 3 guys from Texas that decided to start making albums back in the 80's. Since that day, they have created a truly unique sound that could only be accomplished by such a talented guitarist, a singer/bassist with pipes built for soul, and a drummer that can hammer louder than 100 roofers on top of your house.

These guys rock. Harmonies abound; the 3 voices mix in a way that you must hear to truly understand.

This album covers the first six releases by the band. It is a compilation of some of their best musical pieces and not necessarily an all-encompassing album. You really just need this to break in to the sound. Go back and get all of the albums after you hear the highlights here, because there are no bad tracks on any of their albums.

This album also includes 3 new songs (previously unreleased) and a live version of their most soulful tune to date, Over my Head.

FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS GOOD IN THIS WORLD, BUY THIS ALBUM. NOW!

THESE GUYS HAVE BEEN UNAPPRECIATED, UNKNOWN AND UNSUNG FOR FAR TOO LONG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to hard rock's most underrated band, September 11, 2006
By 
John Alapick (Harveys Lake, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
The Best of King's X is a good introduction to the most underrated band in hard rock. This collection covers their six albums on Atlantic from 1988's Out of the Silent Planet through 1996's Ear Candy. As with many best-of compilations, most of the best songs are here as well as a few questionable ones. Here is a breakdown of what's included from each album and some comments:

Out of the Silent Planet: "King" and "Goldilox". I can't argue with these selections as they are both the best and most popular songs from the album.

Gretchen Goes to Nebraska: "Summerland" and "Pleiades". First of all, I would recommend all newcomers to buy Gretchen Goes to Nebraska first since this is the band at their very best and the whole album plays like one long highlight. You can't argue with these selections since they are among the most well known. It would have been nice if the studio version of "Over My Head" was included but since the live version from Woodstock '94 is included, I can't complain.

Faith Hope Love: "It's Love", "Mr. Wilson". This is where the band went very poppy. "It's Love" is their most well known track and "Mr. Wilson" is very good. I would have replaced "Mr. Wilson" with "We Are Finding Who We Are" but no big deal.

King's X: "Black Flag" and "Lost In Germany". Although "Black Flag" is the album's most popular song, I would have placed "Prisoner" or "Chariot Song" on here first. "Lost in Germany" is awesome and deserves to be here.

Dogman: "Dogman" and "Cigarettes". "Dogman" is great but I was never a big fan of "Cigarettes." Of all the great songs from this album, I'd probably put "Fool You" on here.

Ear Candy: "The Train", "Looking For Love", and "Life Going By". Both "Looking for Love" and "Life Going By" are great songs and deserve to be here. However, I would have replaced "The Train" with "Mississippi Moon", which is the best song on the album.

As for the unreleased tracks, all three are very cool as "Sally" and "Lover" are both very melodic while "April Showers" shows the band at their funkiest. They're not among their best work but they are not the typical throwaway new tracks you get on best-of collections.

As stated earlier, while I would recommend newcomers to pick up the flawless Gretchen Goes to Nebraska first, Best of King's X is a good introduction to an awesome band and most of the tunes included are among their best work. And if you like what you hear, check out all their other albums. There's not a bad one among them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sad Thing About This Album For The NewBies!!!!, August 31, 2000
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
This album compiles their greatest hits or whatever... but the thing that is really sad is that u can buy any Kings X cd ... go home and pop it into the cd player and fall in love!!! Kings X music is just that great. The band is special ... unique ... and i believe should get major exposure but don't. This cd is full of just great music ... from beautiful harmonies to heavy guitar ... to wicked bass and neck cracking drums. 5 star and worth every penny!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated for far too long, January 13, 2005
By 
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Here's the thing, folks. King's X ain't your daddy's prog-rock band. You're not gonna find boring 20 minute drum solos and endless keyboard noise with this band. I can't even figure out why they're considered progressive...guess the record company feels the need to label 'em something.

King's X is a healthy combo of rock, funk, blues, and jazz but they lean on the rock end of things most of the time. They can be hit and miss but when they hit, they hit like a ten ton hammer. This greatest hits collection, while nowhere near complete, is an excellent starter kit for someone new to the band. "Goldilox" is a brilliant track with harmonies so dense you could longboard on 'em. "It's Love" offers a tight riff and again delivers on the harmonies. Matter of fact, if you dig lush harmonies, you've found your band. They're all over this album: "Mr. Wilson", "Train", "Cigarettes". "Black Flag" and "Dogma" each offer heavy guitar riffs. About the only thing King's X don't do very well is stay with one sound. Have no fear, this album rocks top to bottom, no matter how much they bounce around. It's a little known fact that Kurt Cobain and the boys in Pearl Jam have all, at one time or another, praised King's X for their sound, a sound that Pearl Jam admittedly tried to emulate.

Bottom line: If you like strong choruses, thick harmonies, and hard edged guitars, I'd like you to meet your new favorite band, King's X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band...Great Compilation!, May 3, 2009
By 
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
I'm writing this review celebrating the fact that King's X is coming back to El Paso in concert. I saw them here in the early 90's so it's been a long time. I simply can't wait until this show. This band is classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consummate Collection for Any Rock Fan, May 6, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Showcasing 10 years of power and beauty on one CD, you get your money's worth and then some with 73 minutes of genuinely fantastic music. This compilation of "hits" (remarkably, King's X has not had any major hits that your average AOR radio listener can name - I think a byproduct of poor record label marketing) spans the range of sounds King's X is capable of - heavy power rock, slower ballads, great vocals and harmonies, killer bass and guitar riffs. The disc displays the enormous talents, both individually and collectively, of this tight threesome. For me, having seen and felt the power they deliver in a live performance on several occasions, the highlight of the CD is Over My Head, in which Doug describes his upbringing in a way that really makes you believe (not to mention, the bass and guitar work here is awesome). People, buy this disk, share it with your friends, and put out the word that King's X is one of the premiere rock bands of this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it even if you have earlier albums, February 6, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Ty remastered the first half dozen or so songs from earlier albums (which now sound 80s), and it shows (I wish they'd remaster and rerelease all of the earlier albums). I played "It's Love" from FHL and this CD, and it sounded seemingly twice as loud at the same volume, with better sound all around. So, my opinion: if you like the selected songs from the earlier CDs like OOTSP, Gretchen, and FHL, and you'd like more of their live (heavier) sound, then I'd recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, if you are going to make a King's X best of, this isn't bad, October 10, 2011
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
I am a HUGE fan of King's X. This Texas trio are the best trio from that state with the exception of a little ol' blues band, ZZ Top (that's another review). But King's X are quite different from that other Texas 3. These guys are a great progressive metal band that make complex music that is not for the masses, but is rather for those who appreciate great musicianship and sheer complex metal. If you want either of these things, King's X is the band for you.

'Best of King's X' is a difficult album to put together, simply because King's X has so much great material out there and so many different styles to choose from. And while I do like the new-for-1997 studio tracks, I do feel they would be more at home on a King's X studio album rather than a best-of like they are presented here. Just my opinion. But they are all still great and capture King's X at a good time in their career.

Another thing I like about this compilation is that it moves chronologically. You get to hear the band as they evolve from the extremely complex music of 'Out of the Silent Planet' (their debut, and also perhaps my favorite King's X record) to the more straightforward hard rock approach that was to be found on 'Ear Candy,' their last album for Atlantic Records, in 1996. This compilation shows the evolution of this great band up to 1996. Of course, King's X made plenty of great music after 1996, but they switched labels, and so the buck stops in 1997 on this collection.

Now for the negatives.

I hate that this is a single disc collection. Personally, I feel that King's X is the type of group that needs two discs for a compilation to get the job done instead of one. I mean, you have so much missing material that is worthy of best-of material. 'A Box,' 'Human Behavior,' their excellent cover of 'Manic Depression,' 'The World Around Me,' 'What I Know About Love,' 'We Were Born to Be Loved,' 'Legal Kill,' 'Fine Art of Friendship,' 'Send a Message,' 'Out of the Silent Planet,' 'Far, Far Away,' 'Visions,' 'Wonder,' I mean I could just keep going on. King's X needs a two disc retrospective -- that is all there is to it. This is a great, underappreciated band, and a two-disc retrospective could really give the listener a chance to hear what this Texas trio were all about.

Overall, if you need a good launchpad into King's X, try 'Best of.' It is far from perfect, but you do get some new tracks, a great live version of 'Over My Head' (recorded at Woodstock 1994), and some other great nuggets from their Atlantic albums. But the newcomer to King's X would be best served by simply purchasing 'Gretchen Goes to Nebraska,' perhaps their highest-rated work critically and commercially. If you like what you are hearing, try 'Out of the Silent Planet,' 'King's X,' 'Ear Candy,' 'Faith Hope Love,' and just keep building your collection from there. This is a great group that deserves far more attention than they get. If you like great progressive metal, than I can almost guarantee you you'll love King's X.

Give these guys a shot. This is some of the best metal music you can buy anywhere. 'Best of King's X' is a good starting point, but I'm willing to bet this collection will leave you hungry for more. This might be your first King's X purchase, but I will bet it is not your last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Place to Start Discovering this Great, Underrated Band, June 10, 2010
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Despite their infectious blend of metal riffs and beatlesque vocal harmonies, quality songwriting, a high profile gig at Woodstock '94, accolades from fellow musicians and glowing reviews from both mainstream and specialized media, King's X never managed to reach a massive audience: from 1988 to 1996 the band delivered six top quality hard rock/heavy metal albums on Atlantic records, selling just enough copies to keep their major label contract but always failing to approach gold status. This collection covers that period, with two studio tracks from the first five albums and three from the sixth, plus three previously unreleased songs and an extended live version of Over my Head.
Considering the sheer songwriting and performing talent within the band, any discussion regarding the tracks selection is completely futile, and one can only wonder why songs like Goldilox, Summerland, Pleiades, It's Love, Dogman and Looking for Love didn't become the massive hits they deserved to be in the first place. I can only infer that the trio's unique sound made it really hard for the label to market them properly, since they always sounded completely out of place within the different musical trends of those years: too hard and complex for hair farmers, too sweet and poppy for thrashers and finally, too polished and ambitious for alternative rockers.
I won't give this album this album five stars for two reasons:
a) The packaging is inexcusably bad considering it's a major label release.
b) As good as the live version of Over my Head is, it's almost ten minutes long. The disc space could've been much better used with a studio version of that track and two additional songs.
That said, the sheer quality of the music in this album will appeal to hard rockers, AOR fans and open minded headbangers alike and it's a great way for discovering one of the greatest and least known rock bands ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Sampling Of Their Early Hits, November 22, 2009
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Basically this is a very good selection of great songs from the first part of their career, you still have to get "Gretchen Goes To Nebraska" because there are a few songs from that CD that could have fitted here quite nicely also, but for a one disc set, it's pretty decent. Myself I don't particlarly care for many of their studio albums as a whole, they have songs here and there on each that are fantastic, but up to this point "Gretchen" was the most cohesive complete effort to me anyway.

I loved the CD's that came after like "Tapehead" in particlar, that's a fantastic heavier, yet melodic CD that is more my speed, that I would consider perhaps the beginning of the second chapter for this band, but for now you need this very CD and Gretchen to get a very good catalog of great tunes from one of the most underrated bands in recent history perhaps.

Bands like Saigon Kick who were a bit heavier with the guitars to this point, and other alternative bands with rock and alternative influences were and still are the most fascination, emotionallly charged bands I liked to listen to and could find at the time...the songs had levels, different levels, from beginning to end, and you could get lost in the transformation, the soundscape they produced, think The Beatles with modern production, edgier guitars and bombast, completely melodic, hard rock that breathed steady, and rocked slightly outside the mainstream.

These guys are so talented that there have been many side projects, bands, solo efforts that have even though perhaps not up to Kings X standards, have outshined anything put out that was on the radio at the time, and it's like they just tore it up, the rules, regulations on what a rock band should be and could do....without all the chart success, they still managed to do all this and do it well. Not much of it made it on the radar, except the critics who adore them and the fans that know what a great band they really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best of
Best of by King's X (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.