Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Voice, Big Heart
Who can imagine the 80's without Laura Branigan? Few will deny that she had a big voice; she could belt with the best of them. But these recordings show that she had the heart to validate the power of the voice.

The CD opens with "Solitaire", which just might be my favorite track by Laura. I love the way she builds the song from quiet vulnerability to...
Published on March 7, 2008 by Steven Haarala

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you want to have a single "Greatest hits" of Laura Branigan, this one should not be the one to have
This is the same as The Best of Branigan package as "Greatest Hits"

If you want a "Greatest hits" compilation of Laura Branigan, you should look somewhere else. This compilation lacks "All Night With Me"," Satisfaction", "Shattered Glass", "Moonlight on Water", "I Found Someone", "Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow", "Never in a million years", "Shadow of Love",...
Published on March 26, 2008 by Kokegg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you want to have a single "Greatest hits" of Laura Branigan, this one should not be the one to have, March 26, 2008
By 
Kokegg (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
This is the same as The Best of Branigan package as "Greatest Hits"

If you want a "Greatest hits" compilation of Laura Branigan, you should look somewhere else. This compilation lacks "All Night With Me"," Satisfaction", "Shattered Glass", "Moonlight on Water", "I Found Someone", "Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow", "Never in a million years", "Shadow of Love", and several more.

This compilation opted to add new tracks("Show Me Heaven", "Dim all The Lights"), which should not be qualified as her Best/Great hits, the compilation should have opted to add more hits from her career instead of something new and untested as "Best/Greatest" hits. May be the new songs could have been added as Bonus tacks at the end of the CD, but they were scattered in the middle of the other hits songs.

If you want to have a "Greatest hits" compilation, I recommend "Laura Branigan Platinum Collection" or "Very Best of Laura Branigan".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Voice, Big Heart, March 7, 2008
By 
Steven Haarala (Mandeville, LA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Who can imagine the 80's without Laura Branigan? Few will deny that she had a big voice; she could belt with the best of them. But these recordings show that she had the heart to validate the power of the voice.

The CD opens with "Solitaire", which just might be my favorite track by Laura. I love the way she builds the song from quiet vulnerability to victory of operatic proportions. It rivals "Gloria" in sheer force. "Ti Amo" is a ballad in which she cries out in pain over the loss of someone she still loves desperately, as she does in her hit "How Am I Supposed To Live Without You?" "Spanish Eddie" and "The Lucky One" are more upbeat musically, along the lines of "Gloria". "Is There Anybody Here But Me?" is a smooth mid-tempo number with a light Latin beat, decorated with romantic sax and atmospheric synths. In "Over You" Laura goes to great lengths to convince herself, us and her ex that she is over him. But is all that drama really denial? Does she protest a little too much? In "How Can I Help You Say Goodbye?", Laura is gentle and nurturing, rather uncharacteristic for her songs, which makes it all the more beautiful.

Two songs were hits by other artists. Laura sings "The Power Of Love", and I am amazed at the similarity of the vocal and instrumental arrangements to Celine Dion's version. I wonder how many people know that Laura's came first? Her emotional expression is a little more raw than Celine's, and frankly much better than I had expected. The other cover, "Dim All The Lights", follows Donna Summer's original pretty closely, and Laura acquits herself very well in this hit written and made famous by the Disco Queen.

The collection closes with Laura's 2 biggest hits: "Self Control", in which she paints a picture of a rather sinister but alluring and exotic nighttime world, and, of course, "Gloria", the unforgettable warning to someone who is indeed "...headed for a breakdown."

I read that at the time of her death, Laura had been planning a comeback. I believe she had it in her to succeed, and I am very sorry that we were denied the pleasure of witnessing that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars '80's Ladies Rock, August 19, 2013
By 
E. Joseph Delaney (St. John, Missouri, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
There is a very good selection of songs on this album. For those familiar with Laura Branigan's works, her vocal range is fantastic and you can hear that on this album. And once you have, look for the rest of her albums on Amazon.com. Every album offers something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Laura Branigan will always be one of the great voices of our time! The songs are beaufiful and can be listened to over and over again! I highly recommend this cd to anyone who loves a great singer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable Branigan, May 1, 2009
By 
Fraser "horse lover" (Michigan (physically)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Laura Branigan has been terrific in the few albums I have. Her moods, softness, energy, emotions, come across as genuine. She had a beautiful voice with great control in her interpretations of many classics. So very sorry she is gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a voice, November 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Its Laura. I can't bring her back but can cherish what she left us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 3, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
A great collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 25, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
YES A GREAT CD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only if you like her, September 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
It's got one song for most of us - Gloria.
The rest is only if your a big fan of Laura's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best of
Best of by Laura Branigan (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.