Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Dora Isn't So Dumb
These days, game shows are making their way onto DVD much more frequently, but not in the actual way some video owners have wanted. More games like Price Is Right, Family Feud and Let's Make A Deal are being made into DVD video games, not as home video. It is difficult for it to be equally mastered. Last year, Jeopardy tried to make it onto DVD video in good fashion...
Published on November 29, 2006 by Michael Kerner

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Release, but poor transferring!
I was ecstatic to hear that The Best of Matchgame was released on DVD! Any Matchgame compilation can't be BAD, but this has some major flaws that will hopefully be corrected on future volumes.

I returned 3 sets due to disc problems. The end of disc 3 and half of disc four were inoperable. Some episodes just wouldn't play and I tested them in multiple players...
Published on March 6, 2007 by Matt Williamson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Dora Isn't So Dumb, November 29, 2006
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
These days, game shows are making their way onto DVD much more frequently, but not in the actual way some video owners have wanted. More games like Price Is Right, Family Feud and Let's Make A Deal are being made into DVD video games, not as home video. It is difficult for it to be equally mastered. Last year, Jeopardy tried to make it onto DVD video in good fashion. Sadly, it seemed more like it was about contestant Ken Jennings, and his reign as champion rather than the other recognized champions like blind champion Eddie Timanus, or others. Now, another game show classic has tried to make it happen, and this time it really is no blank at all, Match Game.

The Best Of Match Game is a 4 disc DVD reflection of one of the most legendary game shows of the 70's and early 80's. See some of the classics that legendary wild host Gene rayburn, and his band of merry blanking panelists, as they bring out the best in humor from the legendary classic CBS game show. The shows popularity within the past years has been extraordinary in the past few years on Game Show Network, later called GSN. Earlier this year, GSN named Match Game as the greatest game show of all time, according to their countdown of the 50 greatest game shows of all time, outranking longer-running shows like Jeopardy and Wheel Of Fortune. This DVD collection 30 episodes from this classic show in its 3 formats, the syndicated late 70's edtion, the CBS daytime version, and Match Game's nightime version, Match Game P.M.

There are many great episodes here that feature classic panelists Brett Sommers, Charles Nelson Reilly, and Richard Dawson, yes Richard Dawson before and while he began his reign as the original host of Family Feud, including a episode where Richard helps the audience start a riot, where he felt a ruling from a judge was improperly given, to a episode where Gene starts a fight, where he is playing tug of war with a cameraman for giving a improper shot. The set also features episodes with favorites including Kirstie Alley from the recent Jenny craig ads, when she was originally appearing just as a contestant who had won $6,000, and Michael Landon who was the first celebrity announced on the CBS daytime version in 1973. There also as extras from a tribute to the late Gene Rayburn, andd reflection from Brett Sommers herself, on some of her all time favorite moments from the show, from her point of view.

All in all, I just absolutely wish that there could've been more episodes of Match Game that were highlighted, but hopefully there will be. All in all, The Best Of Match Game is still a much better purchase for anybody who is into game shows like this classic blank. I definitely love watching this wonderful classic game show on GSN, and it is all new, fresh and exciting to me. If you haven't seen this classic game show at all, you really don't know how much fun you're missing. I love this show a lot, and I really recommend The Best Of Match Game on DVD. Dumb Dora really isn't so dumb after all.

Price: A-

DVD Extras: B+

Episodes: B+

Remastering: A-

Packaging: A

Overall: A-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game Show Ever, November 26, 2006
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
I never thought I would be so addicted to a TV Game Show until I watched The Match Game. Well, ok, everybody can say that. But I'm not even American.

I've been here for almost 5 years, started watching game shows only like 6 months ago. I liked a lot of shows but only enjoyed The Match Game. This show is just so so hilarious. If u never watched it, give it a try, watch 2 or 3 episodes, I guarantee you will love it. It doesn't matter which episodes you're gonna watch because they're all super!!!

This 4 DVD box set contains 30 episodes, not nessaccery my best episodes but like I said, they are all super!!! My favorite stars are the 3 regular ones: Brett Somers, Charles Nelson Relly and Richard Dawson. And I like the host Gene Rayburn, too. And Betty White, and Fannie Flagg, too. Everybody was just too funny.

There are also the Special Bonus Features which contain:

Best moments of Match Game hosted by Brett Somers

A Tribute to Gene Rayburn

Photo Gallery

Exclusive interview with Brett Somers

AND: The original 1962 Black and White Pilot episode.

I really recommend everybody to buy this 4 DVD box set and enjoy it with families and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!, November 5, 2006
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
I just found out about this set last night and I am just absolutely stunned. Never in my wildest dreams did I think Match Game would make it to DVD. From what I've read at GSN's "Classics" forum, this set is supposed to consist of 30 of the best episodes from 1973 to 1982, and likely will be uncut, meaning that the ticket and fee plugs should also be left in tact! It sure will be great to watch these episodes without those annoying speed-ups and credit crunches that we always see on GSN. Though I'm aware of the Jeopardy DVD which only contains a handful of episodes, one only being a vintage episode (the pilot), I'm hoping that the Match Game set will open the doors and pave the way for many other classic game shows on DVD.

This will definitely be a must-have for any hardcore Match Game, or game shows in general, fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Set......but.....defective...?????, December 20, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
I LOVE this set !! But.......I have had two copies of this Match Game DVD set....and find portions of the discs defective and unreadable on my DVD players...I have four different brands. Check out Disc Four....the 1962 Pilot.....anyone else having problems watching this...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs more pre-1978 episodes!, November 26, 2006
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
Okay, that is my whine. My one and only whine.

I never expected the day when Match Game would be out on DVD. I am quite overjoyed. The outfits, the smoking, the drinking, the risque (BLANK) questions, the era, all of it. Great stuff! Nice piece of tv history from a more civilized time. :)

But the amount of material from 1978 onward makes up half the set. MG (and Match Game PM) hit their most confident stride in 1975-1977. Not that the latter-day episodes were bad, but there was some toning down and repetition of the questions.

Still, if this set sells well I can't see why another would be released. And with over 1000 episodes taped, they could do this for years...

Few game shows transcend the "Wanna win money" theme. Match Game was always entertaining and about the absurdity of the questions and, more importantly, coming up with clean answers to PG-rated questions. (one can only fathom if a remade were to be made today; the censors would probably allow anything requiring a bleep to be said unbleeped. The comedy isn't in being overtly lewd. It's about being cute and poking innocent fun at folks who want to censor pretty much anything. And that's what Match Game is; poking fun at overzealous censors. Not being crude for the sake of being funny; this isn't about laughing at people passing gas.)

The extras were a TERRIFIC touch as well. it's great to listen to Brett Somers reminiscing. Her input, along with the other extras (Gene Rayburn's tribute, et al) are alone worthy of the price.

The restoration of these episodes is very good. The sound is crisp and clear. The video looks very clean as well. There are some periodic tape dropout and other artifacts due to being stored for all these years, but they are few and far between and the quality of the basic remastering reveals very crisp and solid video. And being on 4 single-sided discs is also a plus.

Definitely a must-have for fans, and a good rental for most anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Game Show to Hilarious, the Match Game delivers more than a blank., January 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
After years of success on CBS, then well-deserved recognition on the Game Show Network, the Match Game has been given the release for new and old fans alike: a box set edition featuring 30 of the most unique and hilarious episodes from various seasons (1973 - 1980). We all know how hilarious and improv the regulars were (Richard Dawson, Charles and Brett), but the nostalgic rewind of show guests such as KUKLA FRAN & OLLIE (hand puppets that you may have forgotten about), Don Sutton (MLB), and even Joan Collins are an exceptional welcome to this four-disc set.

As far as box-sets go, this catalog is pretty good, yet my center snaps in the box interior were all broken when it arrived from Amazon, which as a collector of '70s / '80s nostalgia, I found disappointing. I could have returned the set, but it is too funny to give up; night after night, my wife and I enjoy a different episode (30 total, with lots of clip samples and commentary from Brett Somers). There have been complants regarding the cd coding and the inability to read in some players. This may be, in fact, a problem as my player too (which reads all formats incl. regions 0, 1, and so on) has 'frozen' a few frames here and there, but overall satisfying my watching pleasure.

My only concern with the box-set is that the bonus clips are from episodes featured on the collection that you'll see already once you watch the episodes. I imagine that copyrights were only granted to some of the episodes (or those that the distributor chose to 'buy' rights too) and the distributor made the most out of those episodes, including adding commentary as aforementioned by regular Brett Somers.

Overall, this is a nice set and one you will enjoy over and over again. It makes a great party set for company and you can even play along if you use your pause button and score points by matching everyone, including the panelists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Release, but poor transferring!, March 6, 2007
By 
Matt Williamson (Milwaukee, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
I was ecstatic to hear that The Best of Matchgame was released on DVD! Any Matchgame compilation can't be BAD, but this has some major flaws that will hopefully be corrected on future volumes.

I returned 3 sets due to disc problems. The end of disc 3 and half of disc four were inoperable. Some episodes just wouldn't play and I tested them in multiple players and computers. I was determined to get a working set but after 3 tries I gave up. I purchased my copies in late December of '06. I'll wait until the problem is corrected and buy a fourth copy.

As mentioned in several Amazon reviews, true fans of Matchgame favor the 1973-1977 years over any others. This is the only real problem with the content. Unfortunatley, half the episodes from this set are from 1978-1982 when the show had lost a little of the spontenaiety and humor along with several top notch celebrity guests (Maclean Stevenson is no Richard Dawson). They should have given fans a broader selection of celebrity guests instead of showing too much of the same guest panel. Furthermore, I would have rather seen a 70's episode than the 1962 pilot which added little to the overall package.

I will certainly purchase future volumes in spite of my experience. I just hope there are future volumes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept package, but a lot of misses, April 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
I am SO GLAD this was finally released as it is one of the better early gameshows that had staying power. What a fantastic panel of celebrities and impromptu comedy. Get it just for the walk down memory lane.

Now for the bad:

1. Bad Disc 4!! I am in the process of returning my first set for this reason.

2. Episodes should have been chronological and not all mixed up. You could really tell when the game started to pick up steam, but then you get thrown back to the 73-75 era which was just so-so.

3. They could have picked better episodes, in my opinion. Some of the episodes could NOT have been the "best" of the Match Game. I remember screaming out loud in laughter at some of the episodes and they are not on this set.

All in all, it's a great set. I'm not sure if they rushed this or what, but it could have been a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show, flawed discs, February 1, 2007
By 
Eric Norton (Daytona Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
The episodes of "Match Game" included in this compilation are hilariously fantastic, filled with one-liners, jokes, and an unrepeatable rapport between host, panelists, and guests. Several well-known episodes are included, most notably the famous "school riot" episode. Unfortunately, some of the discs in the set, especially disc 4, have problems playing. Some episodes and almost all of the special features on disc 4, for example, are not playable at all, disappointingly rendering the original black and white pilot of the 1960s "Match Game" unwatchable. Despite the problems, however, the enjoyablity of this show is well worth buying the compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Set, but Could have been Better, November 28, 2006
This review is from: Best of Match Game DVD Collection (DVD)
I am a HUGE Match Game fan, and when I found out they were releasing it on DVD, I was ecstatic. Having bought it and ran through some of the episodes (I'm currently on Disc 2) I decided to write this little review.

First off, let me say that this set IS NOT Digitally REMASTERED. It is merely Digitally TRANSFERRED, meaning taking an analog VHS tape and transferring its contents to a Digital source- i.e. DVD. There was no clean up of any video or audio of any kind, wich is disappointing. Audio is presented in a mono format, which is fine for audio purists, but I expected more. I wanted so much to hear Johnny Olsen say, "Get Ready to Match the Stars!" in surround sound! :)

In this set, you get 30 episodes of the "Best" of Match Game. Some of the ticket plugs are kept in the episodes, and others are not. Keeping the original product placements at the end was a nice touch. However, there is no Play All function; that means that after every episode, it goes back to the menu after running through a couple title sequences- EVERY TIME! It gets kind of annoying after a while. One big disppointment is the fact that probably the most famous moment of Match Game was not included in this set: the hilarious Karen Lesko "nipple" incident from 1973! If anything, a clip could have been included as part of the Best of Match Game special feature.

Be warned: On Disc 1, episode: 10/2/76. There is a major audio/vidoe sync error starting from 13:01 min to 14:34 min. Several seconds of video is missing and caused the a/v to go out of sync. This is corrected when the show comes back from commercial black. Disappointing and unfortunate that this has happened in this day and age. It should have been corrected.

Also the episode labled as the pilot is not actually the pilot; instead, it's the premiere episode from July '73. The pilot featured a different "Jackpot Round" and had a few cosmetic changes. The pilot has aired on tv, so this error shouldn't have been made, either.

One minor personal nitpick: many of the episodes (over half) are from 1978 or later, which doesn't make much sense, seeing as how Match Game's best years are generally considered to be from '74-'77. That's when the panelists were at their zaniest, that's for sure!

The special features are pretty good. Match Game regular celebrity panelist Brett Somers is interviewed and hosts a little special "The Best of Match Game" on every disc. While it's great to see her, she's clearly reading from cue cards, and looks more than a little distracted. In my opinion, there could have been more interviews with other celebrity panelists that have been on the show. Brett Somers and Charles Nelson Reilly were both on for 9 years, so they are the logical two, but where are the other fan favorites like Betty White, Marcia Wallace, Richard Dawson, and Fannie Flagg? They all could have shared some fond memories on Match Game and, indeed, host Gene Rayburn. And as a fan, I would have liked to have seen the GSN documentary, "Match Game: Behind the Blank" added to the set. It would have been a nice addition and certainly shines a lot of information about Match Game and some of the panelists.

The packaging is awesome, I must say. It's so '70s retro, it's almost ridiculous! But that's the way it should be: tongue-firmly-in-cheek, the way Match Game was. It even has some questions on it like, "Dumb Dora is so dumb! She tried to BLANK her birthday suit!"

All in all, it's a fantastic DVD collection that could have been made even better had the episodes simply been Digitally Remastered. I don't necessarily mean HD quality picture and sound, but DVD quality. Really, the monaural soundtrack has to go. As for the collection of episodes, it's all a matter of opinion, but this collection is a pretty good one. It's not definitive, that's for sure. I would love to see another collection or two with all these problems fixed. The Best of Match Game Volume 2, anyone?

Collection of episodes: A-

Video quality: B

Sound quality: C-

Fun Factor: B

Special Features: B-

Overall Rating: B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best of Match Game DVD Collection
Best of Match Game DVD Collection by Marc Breslow (DVD - 2006)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.