Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 1, 2005
The Best, The Rest, and The Rare was originally released in 1991 as a way for Helloween to fulfill their obligations to BMG and Noise, for the band and Noise were in a lengthy lawsuit that put Helloween on ice for 3 years. The Best...includes highlights from Helloween's early recordings and is a good way for a new listener to get a feel for the band's earlier work. For the seasoned Helloween fan, four hard-to-find tracks are included on The Best, hence The Rare. Included are the b-sides Livin' Ain't No Crime, Savage (Why this song didn't make it on the Keeper II album is beyond me), the Michael Kiske version of Victim of Fate, and Don't Run For Cover. These four songs are hard to find separately on the singles they originally appeared, but this is an economical, easy way to get these songs. Worth the money for these four tracks alone.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2007
This album was originally put out in 1991 prior to pink bubbles go ape on noise records, the old lable of hellowen to finish out their contract. It is by far one of the best greatest hits compilations available for any band, much like alice coopers greatest hits in 1974. This album has the harder to find tracks "livin ain't no crime", "Save Us" and re-recordings with michael kiske's vocals of "savage", possibly the definitive version. Kiske re-recorded many of these old "Walls of Jerhico" tracks on this, which can also be found on the Pumpkin Box, or the album 2006 re-masters. Kia Hansen was a good vocalist, but I am glad he stepped aside to focus on guitar, because he is one of the best thrash/power guitarist around. This is well worth adding to your collection, and likely a great introduction/solo disc if a person only wants to own one helloween disc.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
I think that this is a very good example of rock and instrumental. On the song "Kepper of the Seven Keys" there are some very good sounding and talented solos. I think that this is a great CD and you should consider buying along with Helloween; Keeper of the Seven Keys Pt.1.
-Andrew Mullenax 15 years old
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2009
Single disc compilations of bands are often times a dreadful experience for fans and beginning listeners alike, but this happy accident is certainly an exception to the rule.

Helloween had a contractual obligation to make one more album for there record company and released this compilation which covers there first three albums, which was arguably the band's golden age.

The three albums covered are there debut, "Walls of Jericho" followed by the legendary albums, "Keepers of the Seven Keys part 1" and "Keeper of the Seven Keys part 2". A few B-sides are tossed in as well to make the package even more desireable.

All the definitive tracks from the band are covered including "I Want Out", "Dr Stein" and "Future World". There very Maidenesque classic "Eagle Fly Free" is dissapointingly absent, but this is partially made up for by the inclusion of the epics "Halloween" and "Keeper of the Seven Keys".

This is one wonderful introduction to the band, a Metal act that in the late 80s had became the heir apparent to Iron Maiden's Metal legacy. A really worthwhile compilation even for the die hard fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2008
The Kiske years were my fav incarnation of Helloween, and every fall I listen to their early catalog endlessly and marvel at how good they used to be. This one is just such a great collection of songs, I agree the 4 sorta rare songs are the frost on the pumpkin. You get those plus other classics like "Future World", "I Want Out", and "Dr. Stein" to name a few.

Simply put, this is the best collection of early Helloween you can find, and for the most part, this was the bands peak for me, their next 2 studio albums were not even close to being classic Helloween (even with Kiske there for those 2 also), but at least we have this collection to remind us just how good they used to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2010
Pretty much being a casual fan of Helloween,this album made me happy.Only buying Better Than Raw when it came out and 7 Sinners,their latest,I have become more of a casual fan.I would recommend this collection to anyone who is in the same boat as I am.Perhaps I'll never be a die-hard fan,but better than casual and perhaps enjoy any other of their older efforts,etc in the future...Buy it now if you want to discover some of their 80's gems. RNR!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2009
Selected songs were OK. Only some concert versions could be also included.
However, CD seems to be recorded not well as the sound is not satisfactory. Especially the vocal is so much distorted from the drum & guitar. Anyhow, it was good to listen best selections in 1 cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2007
I just receive this CD yesterday which is also on the eve of Halloween. What a coincidence! Anyway all the tracks are during the 80s where Helloween is at their prime. However compare to Treasure Chest I still think this is the definitive Helloween collection...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
Nice way to find out about an under appreciated thrash/Euro metal band. It's hard to find Helloween stuff in any store that I've been in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
awesome album, if anyone likes helloween or their early greatest hits, this is the album, for them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.