Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 13, 2008
Reading this book made me completely reevaluate my vacation choices. It covers a wide range of trips spanning across the farthest corners of the earth(yes, there's an antarctica trip, too), some that you've thought of, but most you probably haven't. The types are broken up into sections: there's Arts & crafts, Volunteer vacations(my personal favorite), learning retreats, and wellness escapes. With the multitude of options, you'd be hard pressed not to find something that you're really interested in, or, more likely--several. Each trip/cause has general costs, whats included in those costs, and contact info, including websites--although one of the websites that i visited was completely in spanish--and there had been no indication in the review that you had to be spanish speaking/literate to participate in that particular vacation. If there was one thing that was really lacking in this book, it doesn't quite tell you how much of the language you need to make your vacation enjoyable--am i okay with a phrase book or should i start studying spanish now? it doesn't really answer these questions consistently.

4 stars because the book does not address what I consider to be important information related to how difference sexes, nationalities and language levels are received by the locals. For example, the middle east trips made no mention of whether it would be difficult for lone travelers or female travelers(or a lone female traveler), which is important since I have thought of taking a few trips alone. Not that I expect this book to do all your research for you, but it would be nice if it were to mention possible problems with certain areas.

On the whole, i found this book to be incredibly enjoyable, but it is not a one-stop vacation description, its just a starting point. you still need to do a lot of research about the vacations that you find interesting. It definitely gave me new ideas and perspective about what i can really do while i'm on vacation--i can learn a craft, begin a language and immerse myself in a culture that most tourists will never take the time to appreciate. i highly recommend this book :)
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2016
This is a great book by National Geographic for vacations that are educational and make a difference in the world and in the process a person's life. It is a great book to use to travel the world, explore and do good. The book provides information about a trip, such as The Mona Foundation babysit chimps. The book provides history, information about a program and how to get in touch to with an organization for more information. I love the 100 best National Geographic books and recommend them to anyone interested in traveling and making a difference in the world while learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2009
Pam has done a great job pulling together great trips that wouldn't necessarily be listed all in one place. It's amazing how many trips there are and how diverse they can be!

At Adventures Within Reach, we have noticed that travelers no longer want to travel just to get away. They want to experience something more -- learn something, experience a new culture, or give back to the local people. This book addresses these needs.

We are happy to be listed in the book under Volunteer Vacations and hope that more people plan their next vacation to enrich their lives.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 2, 2010
I love taking vacations that aren't mainstream; vacations that are different, enriching or educational. This book is a great compilation of 100 opportunities to experience the world outside of the well-worn pathways. Why go to Turkey and just tour ruins when you can learn to shake and shimmy doing a belly dance; the gobek atmak? Instead of just viewing art in some of Russia's fabulous museums, study classic Russian art at Catherine the Great's Academy. Make Goods from the Woods in Sweden or Strut your stuff at Rio's Carnaval. These are only the chapter titles--the descriptions are more detailed obviously and give you a sense of whether this type of vacation is for you.

Within the pages of this book you'll find four chapters chock full of alternatives to sightseeing, eating out, and viewing ruins. Chapter one contains arts and crafts getaways, Chapter two focuses on volunteer vacations, chapter three details learning vacations and finally chapter four focuses on wellness escapes. You can learn Swahili while studying Rhinos in Kenya in one of Earthwatch's Kenya projects. Or you can enter a zany boat race in Australia. There are vacations to appeal to your brain, your heart, and your body. Go Thailand and earn your Elephant driving license. Anyone for cycling across Cuba?

I would suggest you check out the websites attached to each project. Often the sponsoring organization has other opportunities to explore if the one in the book isn't quite what you are ready for. For instance Earthwatch (the Rhino project referred to above) has 75 or more projects if you don't feel ilke risking being chased by the nearly blind rhinos. I only found one nonworking link while checking out alternative vacations that I'd be interested in.

Other good resources, if you are into adventure vacations include Volunteer Vacations: Short-Term Adventures That Will Benefit You and Others,Volunteer Vacations Across America: Immersion Travel USA,The Back Door Guide to Short-Term Job Adventures: Internships, Summer Jobs, Seasonal Work, Volunteer Vacations, and Transitions Abroad to name a few books out there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 7, 2011
An alternative in vacation mind set!

There is a growing trend in tourism, and that includes cultural and volunteerism options. This book provides readers with the opportunity to re-consider and evaluate vacation options.

The 100 locations include a significant list of alternatives that are listed in general categories:
1.arts & crafts
2.volunteer vacations
3.learning retreats
4.wellness escapes

The breakdown continues with options on eco-tourism,, vocation vacations, cross-cultural learning and much more.

This book is not for everyone and there were sections of little interest to me, but overall the message of this book is urge readers to consider alternatives globally.

As always, comments are welcome

John Hogan
HospitalityEducators com
HoganHospitality com
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
LOVE THE BOOK NOT WHAT I PERSONALLY WAS LOOKING FOR BUT IT WORKED OUT FANTASTIC BECAUSE IT WAS MADE RIGHT BY THE SELLER
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
Looking forward to experiencing these adventures. Starting to make plans. The book was well written and well organized. Excellent and an eye opener.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
World's Best Vacations wasn't what I wanted. I thought it a rather usless book. But... the service from the vendor was swift & satisfying. Thank you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse