Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THE TITLE ... THE BOOK IS GOOD TOO !!!
Have you seen Bette Midler recently? She looks great! Part of the glow might be coming from the release of her updated book. It is witty, funny, sarcastic, down-to-earth and informative. What else would you expect from this multi-talented woman. Fiction is fine for passing the time ... but so is non-fiction when it is presented in a great biography like this one. This is...
Published 3 months ago by Robert Steven Thomas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly boring
It did not keep my attention and as a result I have not finished reading the book..
Expected more humor and funny stories. She is a funny and talented performer but the book did not reflect that in my opinion
Published 1 month ago by Justina


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THE TITLE ... THE BOOK IS GOOD TOO !!!, April 1, 2014
By 
Robert Steven Thomas (author, researcher, retired executive) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A View from A Broad (Hardcover)
Have you seen Bette Midler recently? She looks great! Part of the glow might be coming from the release of her updated book. It is witty, funny, sarcastic, down-to-earth and informative. What else would you expect from this multi-talented woman. Fiction is fine for passing the time ... but so is non-fiction when it is presented in a great biography like this one. This is a book which will hold the interest of many readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still broad, but more depth, April 2, 2014
This review is from: A View from A Broad (Hardcover)
The book is funny, brash, unpredictable and literally all over the map with its fun photography. Ms. Midler's act was solidifying the characters and humor that launched her successful concerts for the rest of her career, and this is a fascinating look behind the scenes of her first global tour. She's also a good writer, effective whether she's trying to be funny or reflective. Read this book after seeing her concert films "Divine Madness" and "The Showgirl Must Go On," and it will help you connect the dots between the two. The bonus is having Ms. Midler look back with affection in the new forward she wrote for this re-release.

It takes a lot of guts to put on a hot dog costume and take it across the globe. It takes talent and self-awareness to spin it into a book that still holds up 34 years later. Thanks for sentimental journey, Ms. Midler. It's great to have you sit down in front of the keyboard again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bette Midler Rocks!, August 5, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bette Midler: A View From a Broad (Hardcover)
I am a great Bette Midler fan, so this book was top on my list - especilly when its written by Bette, herself. So far Out of all the books on Bette I have enjoyed this one the best - Its so fun and unique. Bette Makes this book full of laughs and funny pictures. Divine. A book every fan must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine!, April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A View from A Broad (Hardcover)
I love this book! But, I am a huge Bette Midler fan so I could be a bit biased. I have a copy from the original release and had to buy a copy of the re-release. I'm sure I will enjoy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Boring View From an Interesting Broad, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Bette Midler. But the best thing about A View From A Broad was the title. If her account of her world tour is any indication, her world tour must've been boring, boring, boring.
I enjoyed seeing photos of her younger days, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly boring, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It did not keep my attention and as a result I have not finished reading the book..
Expected more humor and funny stories. She is a funny and talented performer but the book did not reflect that in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Have always been a big fan of Bette Midler...so was so disappointed in this book....Can't believe she would write such "gibberish" of a part of her life....It really didn't make a lot of sense, & was not edited well at all for Kindle....Could barely distinguish writing on a lot of the pages....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crap, May 2, 2014
By 
Josef V Barnickel (Boca Raton, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle version was badly edited with stuff missing and just a big ol' mess.
I hope the book version was better edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whirl wind that was the first world tour, November 25, 1998
This review is from: Bette Midler: A View From a Broad (Hardcover)
This is a combination of scrap book and jotter, containing thoughts both real and in the abstract from the time deciding to do her first world tour, prepare for it and actually under take it. There are chapters on all the major cities she visited. Only likely to be able to get it now from a Bette Middler fan. Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Pick, August 8, 2003
By 
Laura (Riverside, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bette Midler: A View From a Broad (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for all Bette Midler fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bette Midler:  A View From a Broad
Bette Midler: A View From a Broad by Bette Midler (Hardcover - March 15, 1980)
Used & New from: $0.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.