Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raising young boys to be young men - wisdom for the journey
Truett Cathy, founder of the Chick-fil-A empire, shares a wealth of experience and wisdom in this little gem of a book. Using Proverbs chapter 22 as his inspiration, Cathy writes about how young men need the guidance of an older man in their lives to put them on the right path. Cathy has been teaching a Sunday school class for young boys (age 13) for the past few...
Published on January 18, 2007 by Dan Panetti

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Enjoyed reading the book but it was not what I expected. I do admire Mr. Cathy and his stance concerning helping to build people.
Published 13 months ago by Valerie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raising young boys to be young men - wisdom for the journey, January 18, 2007
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
Truett Cathy, founder of the Chick-fil-A empire, shares a wealth of experience and wisdom in this little gem of a book. Using Proverbs chapter 22 as his inspiration, Cathy writes about how young men need the guidance of an older man in their lives to put them on the right path. Cathy has been teaching a Sunday school class for young boys (age 13) for the past few decades and also has his WinShape program that provides a home, love and an opportunity to countless young boys needing direction and discipline in their lives. From this long history of helping young boys become young men, Cathy draws some basic principles for putting boys on the right path in life.

The first admonition that Cathy shares is that a boy needs a father in the home - present, engaged and caring. He follows with wisdom how to train a young boy into a young man through words of encouragement, modeling the example for them to see, and giving them opportunities to learn life lessons on their own. Cathy talks about the importance of teaching young men how to handle money as well as how to pick the right life-mate.

The book is short, easy-to-read, and packed full of practical wisdom and heart-touching stories from Cathy's own life and experience. This would be a wonderful gift for any father raising sons. Cathy is a Christian and his values and beliefs are grounded in God's Word and this comes across with simple clarity in the book, just like it does in the management of his billion dollar company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A concise and worthy read., September 29, 2004
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
Just when you think your heart is big enough... Truett Cathy comes along and knocks your ego down a peg or three. If you are looking for a book full of "advice theory" then move along. But if you want to read some "best practices" from a man who has... well... actually practiced them and gotten the desired result, then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men, October 6, 2004
By 
M. Law (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
Great book! All parents should read for a gentle nudge in reevaluating our priorities. Raising our children to be morally, emotionally and physically sound should be a high priority in our busy lives. Reading this book has reminded me to really look and listen to my children. Thank you Mr. Cathy for taking the time to share your experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stitch In Time--, March 19, 2006
By 
Disney Driver (Winter Garden, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
This is a great book. Being a good parent when your son is little is a whole lot easier than trying to make up for it after he has grown up. Don't try to be a friend to your son. The friendship will, undoubtedly, come later. Be a courageous parent! Art Linkletter learned this lesson the hard way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, September 30, 2008
By 
D. A. Hill (Kerrville, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
I would highly recommend this book to anyone, especially parents, teachers, and anyone working with young people. This is a quick read, is well written, and even though I don't know him, I think S. Truett Cathey is a class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift for Father's Day --- And Every Day, June 12, 2007
By 
Dr. David Frisbie (Rancho Santa Fe, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
Truett Cathy is one of those people who changes the lives all around him. Instead of giving advice and moving on, Truett has "lived the story" and literally made a difference in thousands of people's lives.

In this short, wise book, the founder of Chick-Fil-A shows us the value of mentoring and the high worth of fathers. A great gift for Father's Day, but a wonderful addition to any library on any occasion.

There's a lot of wisdom here: this book is inspiring and filled with hope!

Dr. David & Lisa Frisbie
The Center for Marriage & Family Studise
Authors of Raising Great Kids on Your Own: A Guide and Companion for Every Single Parent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good core analysis of how we need to engage with our boys, August 27, 2011
By 
T. Hollins (Columbia Station, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
The feminization of American has caused boys to interact with women all the time instead of men. This book just tells us men some of the things to try in order to engage with boys. Whether they are our boys or the other boys that ours play with. This recollection of stories from when Truett had his foster homes going tell us a lot about why kids are ending up in his foster homes.
The boys' feedback is sometimes poignant and not what one would expect.
Its a very short read, but I would recommend it be read by women and men. Women, because they need to step back from situations instead of coddling the boys. Also women need to not interfere with a man raising his boy. I also remind other women when they're about to tell their boy that climbing to the top of a split rail fence is not "too high" for a boy.
Men need to read this to make sure they are engaging with boys. Be there for your boy, and those boys you come in contact with. When my son has his friends over, I give each of them a hug when they arrive, and several of them give me a big bear hug back. They KNOW they are welcome and safe here. Have "Men's Night Out" where you send the women out, either over night somewhere or away from the house that night. You don't serve the boys, they serve themselves, and eat what they want, when they want. Sometimes boys just need some freedom. Take your boy and enroll them in Boy Scouts. Scouts teach a boy skills they'll never learn elsewhere. Scouts teach them how to interact with adults, and adult men. Scouts teach them how to be a leader. They are taught leadership skills in a safe environment so they can fail without it costing them their job.
Boys need to be boys. Boys need to take risks, push themselves, and find their limits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boys instructional manual, January 1, 2008
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
This book is really good to read especially if you have young boys in your household. A great gift for new parents or friends with boys. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, May 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
loved it. Chick fil A is more than just another business. It's a business with a heart and a purpose lead by a man who cares more about people than profit. As a result the business has both touched the lives of many while earning a great profit. Reminds me of the quote by C.S. Lewis "Aim at heaven and you will get earth thrown in. Aim at earth and you get neither."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bottom line, November 3, 2006
This review is from: It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men (Hardcover)
Much more than inspiration - a message of hope to many, and a call to action. Whether in his public speaking or his private life Mr. Cathy is an American treasure and this book speaks to real success that is not illusive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men
It's Better to Build Boys than Mend Men by S. Truett Cathy (Hardcover - Aug. 2004)
$10.00 $9.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.