Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST 1st Cookbook!!!
My 7 year old son is into cooking and this was our 4th children's cook book we have bought and by far THE BEST! It is unisex for both boys and girls. It explains the basics so well that I wish I had started with this cook book. The start of the book has information on cooking terms and meanings, kitchen safety, pictionary of tools, measuring, recipe reading and healthy...
Published 23 months ago by M. Stein

versus
106 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Fat-Free Obsession in this Cookbook is Unhealthy & Outdated Nutrition
I love the cartoons and kidfriendly recipes, but the ridiculous stress on fat-free everything is sad to see. Fat doesn't make you fat, people. It's actually a necessary building block for every cell in our bodies. In order to make a product fatfree, chemical additives take the fat's place. Not a positive nutritional step for growing bodies. I wouldn't have bought the...
Published 11 months ago by Eileen


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST 1st Cookbook!!!, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
My 7 year old son is into cooking and this was our 4th children's cook book we have bought and by far THE BEST! It is unisex for both boys and girls. It explains the basics so well that I wish I had started with this cook book. The start of the book has information on cooking terms and meanings, kitchen safety, pictionary of tools, measuring, recipe reading and healthy cooking. Recipes are child oriented like "Football Meatloaf" and "Crazy Pet Muffins." The pages are bright and colorful. It is a MUST buy for a budding chef!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BHG Junior Cookbook, September 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
Cute titles for each of the recipes, appealing to both boys and girls.
My grandsons are the chefs so the book is not too girly for them.
Ingredients are simple and easy to find.
The book also teaches basic cooking skills, utensils and cooking terms.
There are recipes for every meal and goodies, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Cookbook for Kids, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
This cookbook is vibrantly colorful. There are some themed pages. For instance, there are some recipes which can be used on Halloween and the colors suite the holiday. The characters throughout the book are in costume for the holidays as well. It is a really great start for kids to start cooking. We know cooking can be a chore but this book makes it super super fun. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Fat-Free Obsession in this Cookbook is Unhealthy & Outdated Nutrition, March 2, 2014
By 
Eileen (Boone, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
I love the cartoons and kidfriendly recipes, but the ridiculous stress on fat-free everything is sad to see. Fat doesn't make you fat, people. It's actually a necessary building block for every cell in our bodies. In order to make a product fatfree, chemical additives take the fat's place. Not a positive nutritional step for growing bodies. I wouldn't have bought the book, had I known this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
Bought this for my granddaughter who is learning how to cook. The recipes are easy and taste good when she is finished. The best part I like is that the recipes tell our "little chef" to clean up after herself when she is finished. So far, she has done a great job of cleaning up. With the exception of smelling and seeing what she has cooked, I can't even tell that she has been in the kitchen cooking. Kudos to Better Homes and Gardens for good recipes and for adding 'clean-up' to their recipes! They must know my granddaughter's penchant for leaving disasters behind herself. LOL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, January 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
I was very disappointed with the simplistic and un-healthy recipes. My daughter is very humble, her favorite Xmas gift was pipe cleaners she makes into animals. Anyhow she read this whole cookbook in one sitting and said mom this book is too simple and the food looks gross, I read it myself and had to agree. She is not the type of kid that ever complains about a gift. I instead got her the "my A to Z" recipe box by Hilary Karmilowicz . She and I both love it! She has an apron set I purchased on Amazon and a kids safety knife and cooks like a pro. This BHG cook book is not worth spending a dollar on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as advertised, November 3, 2012
By 
Tracy Miller (Towson, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
My granddaughter and I saw this book at a festival, and she was entranced. Now, we'll be eating dishes she makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for kids, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
I gave this to my granddaughter for Christmas and she was using it immediately! She feels so important having her own cookbook! Hard back makes it durable and photos are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Junior cookbook was a good gift, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
The Junior Cookbook is very popular with the 5 and 6 year-olds for whom it was a gift. The recipes aren't too complicated and the children like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kid friendly cooking, April 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) (Hardcover-spiral)
My son received this book as a gift for Christmas. His initial reaction was pure excitement!! There really isn't anything extraordinary about the recipes in this book but it is great for kids to look at and learn from. There are a few good recipes in the book and my son really enjoyed making them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking)
Better Homes and Gardens New Junior Cook Book (Better Homes and Gardens Cooking) by Better Homes and Gardens (Hardcover-spiral - July 27, 2012)
$16.99 $12.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.