Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just doesn't get any better
As a teacher, I encounter many students who want to improve their reading and writing on their own and ask me what to recommend. I say this book hands down. This new version introduces reading through literary excerpts from old and new French and Francophone culture . It includes expanded vocabulary lists and integrated translation and grammar exercises to improve your...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars too easy
I was looking for a collection of short stories to form a discussion group around. If you are looking for some easy French reading, you may like this better.
Published 4 months ago by E. Lees


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just doesn't get any better, August 23, 2012
As a teacher, I encounter many students who want to improve their reading and writing on their own and ask me what to recommend. I say this book hands down. This new version introduces reading through literary excerpts from old and new French and Francophone culture . It includes expanded vocabulary lists and integrated translation and grammar exercises to improve your writing and comprehension. The icing on the cake is a compendium of internet sites where you can further explore all the chapter subjects, love, travel, food, song, art, etc. If you get the e-version, simply buy a little notebook to jot down the answers and check them with the easily accessible answer key at the end. Amusez-vous bien!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent teaching tool, November 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In answer to the reviewer who was critical of "Better Reading French," this book was not intended for the electronic medium and, therefore, it is unfair to rate it per se a "disappointing purchase." I feel that from the point of view of its content and its value as a teaching tool, "Better Reading French" is extremely useful because the texts and exercises cover a large variety of interesting topics and help to expand the reader's vocabulary and enhance his comprehension of the French language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and intersting reading texts, March 3, 2013
Excellent choix de textes même pour un francophone confirmé. Très bon moyen d améliorer et le niveau de langues et sa culture
Merci pour cette édition
Je recommande cet achat a tout les amateurs et amoureux de la langue Molière.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing compile of French text for Intermediate/Advanced level!, June 28, 2013
By 
This review is from: Better Reading French, 2nd Edition (Better Reading Series) (Paperback)
This book is Amazing with fresh French text to bring your intermediate level to advanced as the book would say. It really is a great book for those who have finished French IV and are looking for reading that is more advanced than say "Easy French Reader"-which is great too but too easy for an intermediate student. I like that there are no translations because if you are at the intermediate level you should not need much translation. Also, it helps to learn a language when YOU have to look up words you are unsure of. If you find this book to be extremely challenging, then asses your level and knowledge of French. You may not be as far as you thought! If this is the case, try Easy French Reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the beginner, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This arrived on my doorstep only yesterday, so it's probably too soon for me to have an opinion to offer here. Mostly I'm writing to say, "Annie! This needed translations in the back of the book!"

There are irregular usages of grammar, words, etc. that need translating and perhaps a note of explanation. For example, p. 13, George Sands letter to a lover , "pouvons-nous nous aimer." This from a paragraph filled with the word "nous" in sentences that twist my inexperienced brain in knots!

I will learn much from this book and I'm glad to have it, but I don't understand why there are no translations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great French reading enhancement, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Reading French, 2nd Edition (Better Reading Series) (Paperback)
This book is a great way to enhance your French reading ability and vocabulary. It provides articles from popular French magazines and websites, and teaches you a little bit about French culture. The questions that follow are somewhat helpful, but not as helpful as the vocabulary exercises are. If you want to improve your French reading or vocab. or you want to take the AP French Language or French Sat Subject Test, I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fatal flaw in the Kindle Edition on a Nexus 10, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the books contents, however when reading on a Nexus 10, the lists of examples following grammatical explanations is in a font
whose size remains constant (and small). The effect of this is that the list of examples can only be seen with a magnifying glass.

This makes the book unreadable for those with less than 20-10 vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars too easy, March 2, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Reading French, 2nd Edition (Better Reading Series) (Paperback)
I was looking for a collection of short stories to form a discussion group around. If you are looking for some easy French reading, you may like this better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better Reading French 2nd edn: well worth buying, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Better Reading French, 2nd Edition (Better Reading Series) (Paperback)
This is similar in style to the previous book which was pitched at a lower level. Plenty of short examples of different writing styles to please all readers. The level is a little too hard for me at the moment because I have been slacking off but I would recommend it for people who have passed the beginner stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, July 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This ebook is a disappointing purchase. It is little more than a hard-copy book in electronic form, and makes very little use, if any, of the electronic medium. There is no interactivity, no audio, no video, and the minimum of linking to useful, relevant sites. Perhaps I could share part of the responsibility in the disappointment because I did not download a sample first. On this occasion, I allowed myself to be swayed by the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Better Reading French, 2nd Edition (Better Reading Series)
Better Reading French, 2nd Edition (Better Reading Series) by Annie Heminway (Paperback - October 6, 2011)
$15.00 $11.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.