Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers!!!
This is the book that I have been looking for! I am a wine lover but due to my lack of knowledge I have often found myself in aisles picking out which bottle of wine has the prettiest or most interesting labels; talk about judging a book by its cover.. This book hits every note. 250 bottles reviewed and the book is small enough to tote in your bag or leave in your glove...
Published on April 12, 2010 by Therese Murray

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is great; Kindle edition isn't so much
My wife and I love this book. We wanted to get the Kindle edition so that we'd have it on our phone when we went shopping. The content is still great like the paper book, but the Kindle edition is missing things like the dollar sign ratings for wines. I grant that even the $$$ wines are very affordable, it's just frustrating that some of the neat features of the text are...
Published on October 1, 2010 by J. M. Hammond


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous, August 12, 2010
I have been a Master Chef for over 30 years as well as Food Scientist and Restaurateur. I have read a lot of books on wine and thought I had read it all. I find Carolyn's book to be a fantastic reference and filled with accurate and useful information. I recommend it to all who wish to expand their knowledge of this very complicated subject.
Chef Robert Calvano Richard Phd,Master Chef
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GBB Wines by D.R. Nichol, May 12, 2010
This review is from: Good, Better, Best Wines (Paperback)
I just finished the book. I loved it. Easy to follow, formatted by White, Red, Sparkling and Bargain Wines I like she mentioned that she didn't use random wine brands pulled from the air, and that the wines tasted / tested were noted from a well known published wine source. You even took the time to break down wines for special events / weddings and parties.

The descriptions she give are specific without being technical, for example on how she described Merlot as Plump Lush Cherries dunked in chocolate - simple and accurate. You kept each description down to earth that even the novice wine drinker can understand and enjoy.

Bravo on the book. I'm buying 4 more for my two sister's, brother and my parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner to Sommelier, April 6, 2010
This review is from: Good, Better, Best Wines (Paperback)
Wether your wine taste buds are at a beginners stage or you are a honored to be a sommelier, no one can discount "GOOD BETTER BEST Wines"Good, Better, Best Wines: A No-Nonsense Guide to Popular Wines as a wonderful addition to your wine literature library. The book, is now available and is approachable to a broad spectrum of wine lovers. Breaking down "the more bang for your buck" is a nice approach to showing everyone that there is a whole wide world of wines out there, that can be enjoyed for any budget. In a manner of speaking, "you get what you paid for" isn't always true when it comes to wine. Sometimes there is that little diamond in the rough, like those perfect little bottles of Pinot or Sauv Blanc that are priced just right. Sometimes you can trust your what neighbors recommend as a good bottle of wine, but why not trust your own palate and an expert? Being quite the little gourmet, when going to the grocery store and spending close to a fortune on groceries, who wants to end up drinking a crummy bottle of wine with a meal that they truly worked hard at? Not me!!

Adding "GOOD BETTER BEST Wines" to you library, or giving it as a gift will be a great choice. Its affordable, approachable and very informative. Carolyn Evans Hammond has done a wonderful job.
K. Baca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Discover good cheap wine, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good, Better, Best Wines (Paperback)
Wake up to the revolution! There's a lot to love these days in box wines, screw tops, and what used to be "cheap plonk"! Advances in viticulture and wine-making technology are making alternate closures consistently awesome and raising quality across the board, but you still have to know where to look for the good stuff. This book makes a handy guide. Use it in any grocery store and bring home a tasty bottle of wine you won't have to think twice about at checkout.

-Unfussy descriptions help you pinpoint the flavors you can expect from a variety (e.g. Pinot Gris) or particular producer's bottle
-Quick-reference layout and small size make it non-embarrassing to take to the store
-Recommendations have yielded quality results for this (former wine-industry) tester

You'll still want complexity and local goodness (if you're lucky enough to live near a wine region) sometimes. But every other night, a solidly delicious bottle of Syrah for under $15 can be your new normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good, Better, Best Wines (Paperback)
I am a wine enthusiast and love this book! Gives you everything and then some on wine culture and product info. Highly recommend and great buy for the money. Received on time and in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book (in the right format), February 24, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first purchased the kindle version of this book and did not like the fact that the $, $$, $$$ symbols that the author uses throughout the print book are not included in the e-book (at least on my android). I returned the kindle version and got the printed version and liked it MUCH better. The rankings make more sense when you can see the price categories. The paperback version is an excellent reference - its small and easy to take around.

The author makes a statement in the book that 90% of the wines sold in the country are under $15 and the $20 and up wines make up less than 3%. So if you have looked on the shelves and seen Barefoot, Yellow Tail, Woodbridge, Turning Leaf and wondered which one to get, this book can help. This is obviously not the book to get if you are looking for a wine to impress people, but perfect for wine to have with that relaxing night at home or barbeque.

I would have liked to have seen a chapter listing the major "players" in each price segment and some information about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good. Too many references of American wines. Europe is almost forgotten. But you have good tips of inexpensive wines. Acidity is missing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheapo Alert, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Didn't catch it in the initial description but this book is strictly focused on wines you find at the grocery store versus the wine shop or the restaurant menu. Not bad for what it covers in the $5-$15 range. I tried a few and found the recommendations to be pretty accurate. Now if only I could learn what the best deals are on wine lists when dining out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IM A NEWBIE NOT A DUMBO LOL, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good, Better, Best Wines (Paperback)
STRAIGHT FORWARD TO THE POINT. I LIKE THE SET UP. FINALLY A WINE BOOK THAT ISN'T DESIGNED FOR SNOBS. RED, WHITE, SPARKLING AND THE BEST FOODS AND OCCASIONS TO PAIR A BOTTLE OF WINE WITH. EACH BOTTLE CONTAINS A SHORT DESCRIPTION OF THE TASTE AND ALCOHOL VOLUME. INEXPENSIVE WINES TO PRICIER ONES DISPLAYED AS $-$$$$$$ AND ALL THOSE IN BETWEEN. NATURALLY EXACT PRICE IS NOT LISTED AS THOSE THINGS VARY.TWO PAGES WILL HAVE 3 BOTTLES OF WINE: RECOMMENDATIONS LISTED AS GOOD, BETTER AND BEST. PER BRAND.COURSE I CAN UNDERSTAND WHY A PERSON OF TASTE WOULD DISDAIN THIS BOOK. CHECK THIS: "DID YOU KNOW? CLASSIC SPARKLING WINE ARE ACTUALLY CYLINDRICAL BEFORE BEING COMPRESSED AND INSERTED INTO BOTTLE NECKS,WHERE THEY ARE THEREBY DISFIGURED INTO THAT FAMILIAR MUSHROOM SHAPE BY THE PRESSURE?" I SAY, NO S*** !SERIOUSLY?! GIVE NOVICES SOME CREDIT MAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Good, Better, Best Wines (Paperback)
Love this book! Gave it as a present to a wine enthusiast and he loved it! A little tiny but otherwise great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Good, Better, Best Wines
Good, Better, Best Wines by Carolyn Evans Hammond (Paperback - April 6, 2010)
$12.95 $9.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.