Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! 35mm Nitrate Fine Grain transfers in Hi-Def!
While these classic gems may not be "restored", the original 35mm Nitrate Fine Grain masters have been used to master this Hi-Def release.
The image is sharp, the contrast is good. The sound is crisp, clear and free of most noise.
There is occasional picture movement that could have been fixed with an image stabilization program, but this would be restoration...
Published 16 months ago by Paul J. Mular

versus
6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seriously? 12 cartoons? 83min total on a $29 retail Blu Ray?
OF COURSE they're beautifully remastered, but they're devoid of ANY EXTRAS, most of the shorts are missing the original titles, they're not the "essential choices" of shorts and they could be putting TWICE as many cartoons per disc.

Either Olive doesn't care about the fans or... no, actually there is no OR!
Published 15 months ago by HH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! 35mm Nitrate Fine Grain transfers in Hi-Def!, August 29, 2013
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
While these classic gems may not be "restored", the original 35mm Nitrate Fine Grain masters have been used to master this Hi-Def release.
The image is sharp, the contrast is good. The sound is crisp, clear and free of most noise.
There is occasional picture movement that could have been fixed with an image stabilization program, but this would be restoration work, which was not done.
White negative dust does appear, mostly at the beginning & end of the cartoons, but it is not distracting.

One advantage of a lack of 'restoration' is NO DVNR like the old Laserdiscs & VHS tapes.

It has been demonstrated at the Cartoon Research webpage that in the early days of sound Max Fleischer did not use the standard 1:37-1 square picture ratio. His cartoons were made in a slightly narrower frame ratio (called Movietone Ratio). These cartoons have been scanned to capture the original full frame, but slightly stretched to fill the 1:33-1 square video image. For the most part this stretching will be unnoticeable, but if you compare the frames to old VHS tapes you will see more picture at the top & bottom on this new HD Blu-ray transfer.

Unfortunately the original Television distributor spliced their replacement UM&M-TV logo right into the Nitrate Fine Grain masters! So the original Paramount Logos are lost. This poor judgement on UM&M's part keeps their name on the films forever even though they were only in business for a few years. However, many of these have their original Paramount title cards intact. BIMBO'S INITIATION was restored by UCLA on 35mm film in the 1990's and Paramount logos from that era have been spliced back into the cartoon, however the title card still says (C) UM&M-TV as that is all that exists.

AS FOR THE CARTOONS: They are classics. Many of these are "Per-Code" and have risque humor, you will see Betty's garter & underwear here. Only the last three cartoons are "Post-code" and had to be kept clean for the Hays Office.
While Max Fleischer lacked the big budgets of Walt Disney, he made up for this in clever surreal story lines. You can tell these gray cartoons are a product of New York City and not glitzy Hollywood.

Once you finish watching this disc you will be yearning for more! Be patient, future volumes will come if sales warrant it. I just wish a second disc was included with the non-Betty Boop Fleischer Cartoons, that would be the only way we would get to see those gems. And Jerry Beck's input is missed here, he would have replaced those Paramount logos like he did with Popeye and given us some good background on these gems.

THE MENU is brief but it does give you the option to "PLAY ALL" or select specific "SHORTS", at least on the Blu-ray version a pop-up menu bar gives you the shorts to select from.
(Sorry, No closed captions or Subtitles)

Don't miss these other Max Fleischer Cartoon Collections:
Max Fleischer's Color Classics: Somewhere in Dreamland
Max Fleischer's Superman: 1941-1942
Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938, Vol. 1
Popeye the Sailor: 1938-1940, Vol. 2
Popeye the Sailor: 1941-1943, Vol. 3
Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Volume 1 [Blu-ray]
Betty Boop: Essential Collection 3 [Blu-ray]
Betty Boop (Two-Disc Collector's Edition)
Fleischer Classics featuring Gulliver's travels pre-release offer
Max Fleischer's Famous OUT of the Inkwell Vols. 1 & 2
Ko-ko Song Car-tunes

These DVDs also feature Max Fleischer cartoons"
Accidentally Preserved, Vol. 1
Animation Cartoon History: Tramp, Tramp, Tramp DVD (1924) Directed by Max Fleischer. Starring Koko the Clown.
Gabby [Slim Case]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once again....Buy it in spite of my quibbles, October 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My opinion on this second installment in this series is the same as the first.

Scanned from the best possible source material, these are the best these cartoons have ever looked...It's just too bad they didn't take the extra time and expense to clean up the film grain and restore the original opening and closing titles.

On the upside: none of these cartoons are censored (but if they do this on any future volumes I will stop buying them). It's nicely packaged (once again the slip case is nicely designed) and they are at least in chronological order.

Maybe someday someone will do a proper release but not buying these will only send a message that there is no audience for restored vintage cartoons like this. So if you care about vintage cartoons I recommend you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great,collection but, December 30, 2013
By 
Peter Neski (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Olive released this collection with no video correction, While this is better than
screwing up the cartoons with Poor video fix ups,its doesn't mean that if they spent the money(They don't Have, and Viacom
doesn't care) and did it right it wouldn't have been better, But this is the best we can hope for,and its pretty nice
They could have spent a little and gave us the Original Titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my childhood remembered, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I grew up watching Betty Boop cartoons on a very small, probably fourteen inch, black and white television. Viewing the Blu=ray was a trip down memory lane for me. I want to think I remembered seeing most of the cartoons when I was a kid but I don't think I can make that statement. Seeing some new cartoons, for me, made the purchase all worthwhile.

Having said I loved the disc, I can't recommend this disc for everyone. It is perfect for someone who truly loves the cinema or classic animation. I've shared it with son who has a Film Studies degree from Cal State Fullerton. He really liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, inventive and well-preserved, August 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
While not the expert on vintage cartoons some here are (thanks for all the insight and info!) I really enjoyed most of
these cartoons, and I'm glad companies like Olive are working to keep them alive (although I agree with those who
say twelve 6-7 minute cartoons on a pricey blu-ray is a less than great deal.)

For me the earlier cartoons in the set were by far my favorites. I don't know if it's specifically the Hayes Code coming
in or just the changing times, but the earlier cartoons don't worry much about plot, and are filmed to the brim with
inventive visual puns, general anarchy and a terrific sense of surrealism. The later films (specifically the last thee
on the set, all from 1934) tend to get more plot and situation heavy, and/or the jokes and images less wild and
absurd, less filled with crazy imagination.

To my eye, for 80 year old cartoons, these look pretty great. There's some variability from print to print,
and they're not all cleaned up, but for the most part they are very crisp, with good density. Certainly as
good as I'd hoped for with material this age, preserved on fragile nitrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Betty as good as you're likely to see her., November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yeah, more could have been done, but given the economics, I think this is as good as we're going to get. I'd love to see this done with the style of the Disney hardcases of a few years ago, but Betty was never as cared for as Disney characters. Too bad there isn't a similar release of the Fleischer Superman animated features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vol 2 is as good as Vol 1, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Another good blu-ray collection of Betty cartoons. I hope we do not have to wait long for the next collection. Expensive but worth it to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Betty Boop" Volume Two, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This second of two "Betty Boop" collections is as ordered - the BluRay edition; the previous volume was mistakenly shipped to me in the DVD format but returning it was not a big problem and the correct edition was quickly sent to me! I am very satisfied with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seriously? 12 cartoons? 83min total on a $29 retail Blu Ray?, September 5, 2013
By 
HH (Sherman Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
OF COURSE they're beautifully remastered, but they're devoid of ANY EXTRAS, most of the shorts are missing the original titles, they're not the "essential choices" of shorts and they could be putting TWICE as many cartoons per disc.

Either Olive doesn't care about the fans or... no, actually there is no OR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Betty Boop: The Essential Collection, Vol. 2 [Blu-ray]
$29.95 $15.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.