Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty Crocker Gluten Free Cookbook
Betty Crocker's Gluten Free cookbook is probably the most "normal" selection of Gluten Free recipes out of the several Gluten Free cookbooks I've tried. It has many easy and tasty recipes using the Gluten Free Bisquick mix for several foods. I didn't think I would ever have fried chicken again but there was a great recipe for a coating. Have fixed several of the dishes in...
Published 21 months ago by Cathy

versus
48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of packaged ingredients, and a whole lot of fat
This may well be the right cookbook for someone suddenly forced to cook gluten-free after relying on mixes and convenience foods, or someone who is simply pressed for time. It's full of recipes are marked "quick" and/or "easy", many using Bisquick, Betty Crocker cake or cookie mixes, and other packaged convenience foods (e.g., frozen vegetables, frozen hash brown...
Published on April 19, 2012 by SJP


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of packaged ingredients, and a whole lot of fat, April 19, 2012
By 
SJP (Eastern Panhandle, WV) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This may well be the right cookbook for someone suddenly forced to cook gluten-free after relying on mixes and convenience foods, or someone who is simply pressed for time. It's full of recipes are marked "quick" and/or "easy", many using Bisquick, Betty Crocker cake or cookie mixes, and other packaged convenience foods (e.g., frozen vegetables, frozen hash brown potatoes). You can probably tell if it's for you by looking at recipes for the six items featured in pictures on the front cover - two made with Betty Crocker mixes (a cake with 490 calories and 25 grams of fat per serving, and a cupcake with 330 calories and 13 grams fat) and three made with Bisquick (pizza - 230 calories, 14 grams fat per slice; oven-baked chicken (420 calories, 21 grams fat per serving); and pancakes (430 calories, 2.5 grams fat per serving - one of the cookbooks relatively few entries marked "low-fat"). The remaining item pictured is white sandwich bread (120 calories, 4.5 grams fat per slice - also marked "low-fat"), made from scratch using tapioca, white rice, sorghum, garbanzo & fava bean flours plus potato starch and both xanthan and guar gums. That's a somewhat higher proportion of recipes made from mixes than you'll find in the cookbook as a whole - but the variety of flours used in recipes made from scratch is not atypical. On the plus side, the cookbook offers recipes for a few items not always found in gluten-free cookbooks - not just chicken fingers (dredged in Bisquick), but also soft pretzels and two kinds of crackers (sesame, poppyseed).

Since I'm at a stage of my life when I have plenty of time to cook and really enjoy it, I have never gotten into using cake and other mixes, and both my husband and I are on low-fat diets, I knew just leafing through the book it wasn't for me. Too bad. I do use Betty Crocker's Low-Fat, Low-Cholesterol Cooking Today, Betty Crocker's Diabetes Cookbook: Everyday Meals, Easy as 1-2-3and even the old Betty Crocker's International Cookbook now and then, so I was really looking forward to this gluten-free cookbook. (Granted, I usually turn to Elizabeth Barbone's Easy Gluten-Free Baking or How to Cook Gluten-Free: Over 150 Recipes That Really Work for baked goods or other items using flours - she achieves great results using fewer flours and no guar gum.) Aside from the fat content, the Betty Crocker cookbooks I use avoid another really annoying habit of this new gluten-free cookbook - promoting General Mills brands shamelessly at every opportunity. Recipes specify brand names (without the "or other gluten-free product" common in other bookbooks) not only for Bisquick and Betty Crocker cake and cookie mixes, but also for Rice Chex cereal, Yoplait yogurt, Betty Crocker frostings and Potato Bud instant potatoes, El Paso salsa, Progresso chicken broth and canned beans, Green Giant frozen vegetables, Muir Glen canned tomatoes, and Cascadia Farms apple juice. I found it very annoying, and hope anyone new to gluten-free cooking quickly learns that while some things (like chicken broth) should be checked over carefully because they may contain gluten, there is little reason to specify specific brands for others (like frozen vegetables - not that one shouldn't always, for everything, read the label before purchase, just in case).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty Crocker Gluten Free Cookbook, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Betty Crocker's Gluten Free cookbook is probably the most "normal" selection of Gluten Free recipes out of the several Gluten Free cookbooks I've tried. It has many easy and tasty recipes using the Gluten Free Bisquick mix for several foods. I didn't think I would ever have fried chicken again but there was a great recipe for a coating. Have fixed several of the dishes in here and love the Betty Crocker cake, brownie and chocolate chip cookie mixes as well for cheaper Gluten Free desserts than you can buy in the stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Met expectations, May 24, 2012
By 
Patty RJ (Oak Creek, WI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're looking for a comprehensive cookbook of recipes that you can find from the Betty Crocker website, this is a pretty good option. Most of the recipes are very easy and incorporate prepared mixes. Lots of good ideas and pretty pictures here! I was disappointed that there weren't more snack recipes made with Chex (like the website), but overall not bad. My other disappointment was the use of bean flours in the recipes for flour mixes. I don't like the aftertaste of bean flours, and therefore never use them, so I won't be making any of the recipes with these mixes. Although this will not be my "go-to" gluten free cookbook, I think it's a good buy and a nice addition to my GF cookbook library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Betty Crocker all the way, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I should have expected it. Recipes call for using Betty Crocker mixes which is fine if you want to spend the money on mixes rather than making your own from scratch. The recipes I tried turned out very well so it is a good buy if you dont want to spend much time and still wand a good result that is gluten free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The value is in the mix recipes, along with the nutrition info. Nice to have photos & 2 other gluten free authors included, April 16, 2013
OK first off, I deeply appreciate the Betty Crocker team using nutritional info sidebars for each recipe. This makes it much easier to compare carb content, fiber and things like sodium and trans fats. But WHY oh WHY did they count the syrup in with the blueberry pancakes? If I use that recipe, then why not let me have the count per pancake, not per 3 pancakes plus syrup. I use a Splenda pancake syrup available here in Canada when I do a rare pancake breakfast. Most of the other nutrient info sidebars don't include the extras like butter on the bread, so why here?

Another helpful addition are the tips beside the recipes. I didn't think of using applesauce from snack cups for baking. I've avoided recipes calling for small amounts because I don't like having to deal with an open larger tin or jar of it. Handy.

One tip of theirs I can improve on though. They mention that most brands of gluten free pasta are fragile and gummy. And they suggest how best to deal with that to avoid problems. I have found that the Tinkyada brand of brown rice pasta behaves and tastes almost like normal pasta, as does pasta made from corn.

There are full colour photos for almost each recipe which is helpful, seeing what the finished product looks like.

There is a LOT of wasted space on recipes that traditionally went together without gluten, eg the appetizers made with beef and cream cheese and red papper or pork roast!!! I have plenty of cookbooks for those things that never had gluten in them to begin with. The only purpose I can see is perhaps reassurance to the newly diagnosed celiac. Even so, I find it a bit of a waste.

Silvana Nardone author of Cooking for Isaiah: Gluten-Free & Dairy-Free Recipes for Easy, Delicious Meals and Jean Duane The Complete Idiot's Guide to Gluten-Free Cooking contributed many of the non mix recipes. For those avoiding legumes (bean flours) please be aware that almost all the Jean Duane recipes contain garfava flour blend. Many celiacs have additional allergies and sensitivities to soy, legumes, dairy proteins, and corn. For those wanting to increase fiber and protein slightly the garfava containing recipes by Jean will work well if you can tolerate legumes or the somewhat beany taste the garfava flour lends to the finished product.

For the allergy sufferers, the recipes by Silvana are great. She is legume, dairy and mostly corn free although her pie-crust has cornmeal in it. I noticed that there were very few of her recipes (10 total including the flour mixture used in 3 recipes) compared to the multitude of Jean's garfava containing recipes.

These non mix recipes in the book call for a number of different flours, which is ok for experianced celiac bakers who probably have invested in a lot of the different flours anyway, but for beginners, it's maybe a bit expensive to start out on. Mixes save you from having to buy a shelf full of new flours to make a recipe that you don't care for. Now what to do with that bag of expensive millet or garfava flour???? If you don't like how it turned out, you now have expensive leftovers staring you in the face. It gets even more pricey when you have to mix up a big batch of a blend to use in certain recipes you may with to try.

This book has you mixing up 2 large batches of flour blends one making 13 cups and calling for brown and white rice flour as well as tapioca flour, potato starch and xanthan gum which is needed for only THREE of the Silvana recipes in the book. The other blend makes 6-1/2 cups, and calles for the above ingredients PLUS garfava flour, sorghum flour, cornstarch etc. That is used in several of the Jean Duame recipes. So now if you don't like the recipes you have a BIGGER and more expensive problem sitting on the shelf with that now useless blend.

For now I'm just ignoring those recipes. Someday when the budget can stand it, I'll experiment a little.

For me the mix recipes--what to do to sparkle up a box of cake mix or Bisquick or a muffin mix--- is more what I bought the book for.

There are plenty of recipes calling for mixes, all of which are made by General Mills. The biggest problem with this book is actually the lack of Gluten Free Bisquick in Canada and presumably other places as well. If that worries you, avoid this cookbook as many (but not all) recipes call for it. However I have a solution for that.

For a near perfect copy of the Gluten Free Bisquick (which is fat free) try this recipe from gluten free recipe box. It is at [...] and it makes the equivalent of one box of Gluten Free Bisquick. Remember it is VERY different from the old gluten filled regular Bisquick which has added shortening so the recipes for old Bisquick will need something like Bette Hagman's version of the old Bisquick. For now, just remember that gluten free Bisquick is also fat free and that the recipes calling for it are very different from the old ones using old Bisquick. The bakers at General Mill have played around with it to produce the old favourite recipes like the impossible pies for example so that you can enjoy your old favourites using this new Bisquick. I have tried the home made version and while I have no Bisquick to compare it to, I've used it in some Anne Byrne recipes calling for GF Bisquick and they turned out just fine.

BUT of all things to miss out in this big cookbook, BISQUICK BISCUITS!!! Yep, they missed printing the recipe, possibly because it's on the Bisquick box, BUT they forgot to make sure Bisquick was available in all markets. However Anne Byrne in her Unbelievably Gluten-Free: 128 Delicious Recipes: Dinner Dishes You Never Thought You'd Be Able to Eat Again states she tried that recipe, didn't care for it, and gives an alternative biscuit recipe using G Free Bisquick in that book.

WHY MIXES MAY BE BETTER (at least to start with):

The ease of a mix when I have my grandchildren over and I want to make fast cookies or a cake means I don't have to save my array of containers filled with rice, tapioca, mochi, cornstarch and gums from the little hands "helping" me on my counter top. Ditto a morning round of pancakes or muffins. You haven't lived till you've tried cleaning xanthan gum off the counter!!!! Or found how far we can blow the cornstarch dust thru the formerly clean kitchen. Cooking gluten free with kids is MUCH easier with mixes.

It's cheaper - you don't have to invest in a series of new flours, and you can try out recipes without fear.

It takes less shelf space in your pantry. One cake mix, one brand of brownie or muffin mix, a box or bag of Bisquick or HM alternative. Now you can try dozens of muffins, cakes, cookies, pies, breads etc. If you don't like a recipe, no worries, make a note not to do that one again.

It's convenient. The learning curve is steep enough, it's nice to have a shortcut you can count on.

That said, for the newly diagnosed celiac a better choice might be Anne Byrn's 2 books The Cake Mix Doctor Bakes Gluten-Free and Unbelievably Gluten-Free: 128 Delicious Recipes: Dinner Dishes You Never Thought You'd Be Able to Eat Again.

Her recipes are all from store bought mixes and idiot proof. Not one of them has you mixing up a 13 cup batch of a flour blend that may not work well for your recipes. Save the flour blends for the future and just concentrate on a few easy reliable recipes.

Please note that Anne Byrn's books use a lot of different brands of mixes, all easily available ---and she explains which mixes are interchangeable, mentioning them by brand name which is very helpful. After a little time learning that mix brands can be interchangeable, and that mixes benefit by adding things to them, you'll be more confident and ready to play around with recipes that call for expensive stuff you have to hunt down in health food stores or online. The Betty Crocker book calls for Betty Crocker mixes only which leaves you high and dry if your store doesn't carry them as in the Bisquick problem I mentioned above.

So start with Anne's books before this one, as you will get a better feel for how to use different brands interchangeably plus Anne's tweaks using mixes (including G Free Bisquick) are really a touch better than these new gluten free Bisquick ones, although I'm a long time fan of old Bisquick.

This book I'd recommend as a close third after Anne's books. It's nice to see old favourites like Impossible pies-- the apple one, and the cheeseburger impossible pie recipes are in here using the new gluten free Bisquick (or the home made version from the above site).

To sum up ---Betty Crocker Gluten Free Cooking may not the best book to start with, but still pretty good. It might have been better if General Mills aka Betty had launched the Gluten Free Bisquick in all the markets this book is sold in (like Britain, Canada, Australia and New Zealand) but at least they managed to launch the Betty Crocker Gluten Free cake and brownie mixes here in Canada. However our markets already had plenty of good brands of those such as CeliMix, Glutino, Bob's Red Mill and others. We just didn't have Bisquick. Oh well, it's good to substitute and learn that if one mix is too pricey or has something you can't eat, another one will do nicely. And that cheaper homemade alternatives exist.

So try mixing up the home made Bisquick, --the recipe is the equivalent to a single box which is almost 3 cups. And enjoy the great mix recipes in this book.

Happy Baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gluten free book, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the great helpful information and tips in the front of the book on gluten free products, tips and setting your kitchen up to be successfully gluten feee. Also love all the colored pictures, everything looks yummy. The receipes I've tried so far are good. Highly recommend this book to anyone who needs gluten free recipes but also for the additional gluten free tips and info on shopping and nutrition. Great gift for anyone who has to be gluten free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basics, March 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are some good basic recipes here. I don't like the texture of GF Bisquick, and there are many recipes in this book that call for it, so I use Better Batter baking mix instead. I also don't like recipes that use bean flours because of the flavors, and there are a few here. That said, there are some good recipes for vegetables, entrees, and even appetizers that are naturally gluten free that are simple and fast. It's not the best GF cookbook out there, but I'm still glad I have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good variety of recipes, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my favorite, go to Gluten Free recipe books. Really like this cookbook, it has a good variety of recipes for all kinds of food. I do use Gluten Free Bisquick which some of the recipes called for, it makes it easier than trying a to make up batch of GF flour mixture. But it also has baking recipes from scratch with a GF flour blend.
Made a few recipes already and trying some more this week, havent been disappointed with any so far.
Just a note: after we try a new recipe we grade it on a scale of 1-10 and write it on the corner of the recipe page, then there is no question of whether we like this or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes, February 9, 2013
I am very happy with this cookbook everything I made turned out delicious and was easy to make. And the ingredients aren't off the wall they are easy to find at your grocery store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shelia, July 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a great book. a new way to use Betty Crockers gluten-free items that are now available. Have already used several recipies and looking forward to using many more. Hope the company continues to produce more gluten-free items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Cooking
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.