Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 4 Was the Best!
Much can be said about Bewitched's 4th season. I believe the series peaked here. They introduced a whole slew of new sound effects, some of which remained until the end of the series. Sam's identical cousin, Serena, began making semi-regular appearances during this season. Dr. Bombay appears a few times also. His character was fully developed from the word GO. Also,...
Published on August 21, 2006 by R. Lussier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok show
Published 2 months ago by Ben Myers


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 4 Was the Best!, August 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
Much can be said about Bewitched's 4th season. I believe the series peaked here. They introduced a whole slew of new sound effects, some of which remained until the end of the series. Sam's identical cousin, Serena, began making semi-regular appearances during this season. Dr. Bombay appears a few times also. His character was fully developed from the word GO. Also, this was the final season we see Aunt Clara prior to Marion Lorne's passing away. (They should have at least given an explanation about her absence in season 5).

Some of the best episodes here include "Double Double Toil and Trouble" where we first see Serena terrorizing Darrin while pretending to be Samantha. Also, "I Confess" has Sam showing Darrin, via dream, what would happen if they told the world Sam's true identity. Another classic is "Allergic to Macedonian Dodo Birds" has Endora losing her powers only to be a bigger terror to Darrin than ever before. This is also the only season to film a Thanksgiving episode where aunt Clara zaps the gang back to the first Thanksgiving...a holiday must-see. Oh, and let us not forget Samantha being crowned Queen of the Witches. They came up with this idea, then didn't know what to do with it, so they quietly seemed to drop it. It was mentioned halfway through the season, then not ever again acknowledged that it ever happened until the beginning of season 7.

Although we don't see Tabitha too many times at the very start of the season, she pulls some very funny story lines with her powers as the season progresses including conjuring up Prince Charming out of a fairy tale, turning a spoiled brat of a neighbor into a bulldog, and zapping up strange-looking spooks out of a halloween book. The second episode was devoted to Tabitha turning her dolls and stuffed animals into live beings, but if you look and listen closely, it is very obvious that episode was filmed for season 3, but wasn't aired until the beginning of season 4.

My only complaint about this season was that if someone were tuning into episodes like "Business Italian Style" or "Cheap, Cheap" and they never have seen the show before, they would come to the conclusion that the Stephens' were childless. That always bugged me, but that has always been a television affliction. We are always to assume kids are asleep, in their rooms, out back, etc while the action is going on. Just watch "Everybody Loves Raymond" or "I Love Lucy" and you'll know what I mean.

There were a couple of lousy episodes including "Majority of One" and the episode that introduced a nanny, but never materialized after that. But thankfully, with modern DVD's, you don't even have to fastforward over them. Just click which episode you want to see, and it appears. Samantha and Tabitha would have said that the mortals were catching up with them.

But every show has episodes that are subpar, and quirks. But the superior character development, original storylines and superior acting makes Bewitched a show for all-time. Many shows in the sixties were not terribly well acted, especially the police dramas. But many of the sitcoms like Bewitched, Jeannie, the Flying Nun, That Girl, Green Acres, Beverly Hillbillies, Get Smart, all had top rate actors and storylines. This is why they remain a staple in our culture to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Comedy Series Hits It's Peak In Hilarious Fourth Season, May 12, 2007
By 
Simon Davis (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
"Bewitched", was one of those special programs that I had the extreme privilege to literally grow up with as a boy. Blessed with one of, if not THE best cast of players in comedy history, terrific writing, imaginative special effects, and most importantly of all heaps of charm, this show was a total winner from episode one. Binding all of this magically together through an amazing 8 seasons was the ever lovely Elizabeth Montgomery as the beautiful suburban housewife witch Samantha. Quite rightly dubbed "The Grace Kelly of 1960's television", Montgomery was one of those rare television actresses that only the 1960's decade seemed to be able to produce who totally won everyone's heart. How she never won an Emmy Award for playing Samantha is one of the great mysteries of American Television History . Season Four of "Bewitched", is by far my favourite of the whole series and saw the series really peak with the entire cast at their creative best. It was also sadly the last season before Dick York's on-going health problems really began to interfer with the production of "Bewitched", prior to his unfortunately having to leave the series near the end of Season Five. Season Four contains a huge host of classic episodes that spotlighted the shows leading players in Elizabeth Montgomery, Dick York, and the legendary Agnes Moorehead (another performer who also strangely missed out on winning an Emmy Award for her hilarious playing of the Mother-In-Law from Hell, Endora ), while still giving the wonderful supporting players like Marion Lorne, David White, Mabel Albertson and Bernard Fox real opportunities to shine in various episodes.

Every "Bewitched", buff has their favourite episodes from this season and I find that season 4 has an abundance of really classic episodes to choose from when compiling lists of favourites. Some of the outstanding ones in my belief are;

"Long live the Queen", a very lavish episode that finds Samantha enthroned as the new Queen of the Witches in a out of this world ceremony. Her new honour however causes numerous problems on the homefront with Darrin.

"Double, Double....Toil and Trouble", where in her latest scheme to get rid of Darrin, Endora gets Serena to masquerade as Samantha for a day causing all kinds of hilarious misunderstandings and the usual bewilderment for Darrin as sweet Samantha suddenly transforms into the raunchy "Terror of Morning Glory Circle".

"Cheap, Cheap", where Endora turns Darrin into a terrible penny pinching miser which causes all sorts of complications at a dinner party for an equally "careful", client.

"A Safe And Sane Halloween", the best of the Halloween episodes in my belief and a very funny telling of how Tabitha brings to life a number of Halloween characters from one of her books causing mayhem for Darrin and Samantha. This episode taught me as a boy in Australia just how this holiday was celebrated in America, proving that television of all kinds can "educate".

"Allergic to Ancient Macedonian Dodo Birds", one of the great classic episodes of the series and a tour de force for Agnes Moorehead when Endora loses her powers much to Darrin's delight, however the delight turns to horror when a "mortal" Endora proves even more impossible to cope with in the Stephens' household.

"Humbug Not To Be Spoken Here", a wonderful Christmas episode based loosely on Charles Dickens' "A Christmas Carol", has Samantha showing the real meaning of Christmas and togetherness one magical Christmas Eve to a scrooge-like client of McMann and Tate. Elizabeth Montgomery has in my belief`never been lovelier than in this episode.

"Once in a Vial", another hilarious Agnes Moorehead performance when Endora by mistake drinks a love potion intended by her for Samantha and then runs off with one of Darrin's clients in a "love potion induced romantic frenzy", to get married!

"Snob in the Grass", Samantha has another encounter with Darrin's ex-fiance the bitchy Sheila Summers, (Nancy Kovak in a scene stealing performance), at a dinner party for a prospective McMann and Tate client. The evening comes to a climax in an all out cat fight between the two women with Sheila once again coming off the worse thanks to some of Samantha's well timed witchcraft.

"If They Never Met", a wonderfully romantic and at times sombre story where Endora takes Samantha back in time to see what Darrin's life would have been like had he and Samantha never met.

"Samantha's Secret Saucer", another of Aunt Clara's classic goof ups when she accidently (of course!) zaps a spaceship with two aliens onboard right down into the Stephen's backyard while spending the night babysitting Tabitha. This causes all kinds of trouble for Samantha and Darrin with both the military and an ever suspicious Mrs Kravitz before Aunt Clara remembers how to send them back into space. This sadly proved to be Marion Lorne's last appearance on "Bewitched", as the daffy but loveable Aunt Clara just prior to the actresses death in early 1968.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comic Season, November 19, 2006
By 
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
The fourth season of "Bewitched" is a delight. The series had established a universe of characters so that they had an excellent variety & balance by the fourth season. Several episodes were written with Darren away on business, presumably because Dick York was increasingly suffering from back problems. I thought that my favorite character Aunt Clara was well represented in episodes like "McTavish" where her warlock boyfriend Aucky buys a haunted castle that requires Samantha to zap over to England just as Darrin's parents are vacationing there. One professional reviewer did write, "Conspicuous by her absence throughout most of season four is Marion Lorne as 'Sam's' befuddled Aunt Clara, whose magical spells somehow always go awry. Seriously ill and suffering from a rapidly failing memory, the 84-year-old Marion Lorne was forced to severely cut back her work load; the actress died just after filming wrapped for the season, on May 9, 1968." While I didn't feel an absence of Clara because of great episodes like "Out of Sync, Out of Mind" where Clara's spell throws Samantha's voice out of whack & "Samantha's Thanksgiving to Remember" where the Stevens & Gladys Kravitz get whisked back to Plymouth. I also enjoy how the producers seemed to develop an ensemble cast such as bringing Craig Hunley back as a neighbor boy who wants to mow Darrin's lawn. On another season's episode, he'd been an orphan that Samantha takes to the North Pole to prove there is a Santa Claus and in another he played the young Darrin Stevens. On of the silliest episodes for the great Agnes Morehead was "Once in a Vial" where she drinks a love potion and then gets lovey-dovey. Elizabeth Montgomery is a delightful comedienne with great double takes, confusion and continual surprise. While Sony might have put a bit more information about the show in the packaging or on the extras, this is an excellent DVD set. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bewitched 4th Season is a great season, April 10, 2007
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
I loved this season . It is a bit more manic than the first three. But it is great! I love Bewitched and this is right up there with the best of the seasons! Tabitha plays more into the show, and it is the last season that has Aunt Clara. Samantha's cousin (her identical) adds a funny angle to the series, especially the episode where she plays a hip, hippy, strumming a guitar and freaking Larry out because he thinks she IS Samantha. Hijinks galore. Grab the popcorn, sit back and relax, you're not going to have to work hard at being entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved Bewitched, March 29, 2007
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
I loved Bewitched as a kid & I love it now. It was such a sweet, funny show. I'm not a "fan" of any Hollywood celeb but I did find myself tearing up the day Elizabeth Montgomery died, watching this dvd reminds me of why. She , along with other cast members became part my childhood & to this day it's hard to separate Samantha Stevens & Elizabeth Montgomery in my mind. I just think they had the best possible cast for this show as well. Funny & timeless humor. Also my kids aged 9 & 5 love the show.This dvd collection allows me to share it with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved This Season!, October 18, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
I know that there are Bewitched fans who love the first two B&W seasons the best well Im one who enjoys the color seasons after Tabitha's magic develops the best.This season has some of my personal funniest episodes. The Halloween episode this season is in my opinion the best Halloween episode from this or any other TV Sitcom ever! I LOVE the chase around the house that Sam does when chasin after those spooks Tabitha zapped out of her book. And then when one of the spooks turns Gladys Kravitz's nephew in to a goat it is so funny how he baaas her name "aunt gllllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaadddddddyyyyyyyyyyysssss"! Gladys is also funny on that episode. Plus I LOVED the bull dog episode when Tabitha changed that bully into a bulldog.This season and the Fifth season were my two favorites. I just hope they continue and release the fifth season as well as the sixth thru the final season which is the eight season. I can't add much more that none of the other reviews haven't said except I agree with most of their comments... Why doesn't TV air these anymore? We pay so much each month for dish and cable? It makes me so angry the way TV Networks air the same series on different channels. Why can't some of these TV channels drop some of those same old shows that we can see on other channels and add Bewitched back on?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps Getting Better & Better, no problems with these discs!!, November 3, 2006
By 
M. Badzinski (Sun Valley,NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
Well, here we are, another great season if Bewitched. This season is classic. From the lovable Uncle Aurther to Wonderful Aunt Clara, This season is really funny. This season has such great episodes as: The first Thanksgiving. Where Aunt Clara transports the Stevens clan & Gladys Kravitz back in time to the first Thanksgiving with the pilgrams. Another fine episode is Mc Tavish, Where Sam goes to England to get rid of a pesty ghost. One of my favorites is the flying saucer. Aunt Clara changes a little toy flying saucer into a real flying saucer with martians on board, that look like dogs. These are all clasic shows that can never be replaced, no matter how hard anyone tries. They will live in our hearts for a long time to come. Our Childrens Children will probably be watching these long after we are all gone. I haven't had any problems with my discs either. They all play great. The CC works good also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bewitched Season 4, January 3, 2007
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
I really liked Season 1-3 better than the fourth Season and rest of the seasons because Daren (Dick York) did not have as many roles in Season 4, and in some shows he was never seen. It seemed lonely without Daren in the shows and because of his back problems that is why he was so absent in both Season's 4-5, and later replaced with (Dick Sargent) in season 6, who unfortunately does not have a good connection with (Elizabeth Montgomery) as Dick York had. Bewitched ratings went down hill fast when Dick York left the show! Bewitched Season 4 still has some really good shows but in the middle/end you will notice that Daren was missing from the show for no explanation or was out of town, and the roles that he had were smaller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great season, February 20, 2007
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
Another great season of Bewitched. Tabitha's still causing chaos with her magic. Darrin got to find out what it would be like if Endora didn't have her powers only to learn she was even more difficult. The wonderful Clara with her mix up spells. This was the last year of Clara, as the actress passed away, she was defiently missed in the later seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Twitching-Good Season on DVD, January 9, 2007
By 
DVD Fan (Tempe, Arizona USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bewitched: Season 4 (DVD)
This is a great season for Bewitched. All the characters get episodes to shine. Tabitha's growing up, Uncle Arthur, Serena and Endora are causing a lot of trouble for the Stephens', and Aunt Clara conjures up Leonardo Di Vinci, and space aliens. And I believe this is the first season with the new Gladys Kravitz.

This season starts out with Samantha becoming "Queen of the Witches". Endora gets a taste of her own medicine, Darrin learns Italian, Tabitha twitches up Prince Charming, Serena poses as Samantha to mess with Darrin, Uncle Arthur tricks Darrin into believing he's invincible against witchcraft with a fake charm.

This show was great then and great now. I'm already looking forward to Season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.