Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource . . . .
Geoff Stray has meticulously researched and written a fascinating masterpiece of a book that provides a plethora of information re: many of the nuances surrounding the 2012 time-line/subject-matter. This book should have strong across-the-board appeal; as it has enough minutia and factual documentation to appeal to academia-types, as well as enough common-sense for...
Published on June 14, 2009 by Roger House

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
I ordered this expecting to find many plausible theories all in one place. However, the very first problem came up when I began reading many of the theories, only to find out at the end of them that they'd already been disproved! If I'd wanted to read that kind of theory, I would've have purchased a "disproven theory" book. Also, I suppose it's nice and technical that...
Published on November 23, 2010 by Crystil Loeper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource . . . ., June 14, 2009
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
Geoff Stray has meticulously researched and written a fascinating masterpiece of a book that provides a plethora of information re: many of the nuances surrounding the 2012 time-line/subject-matter. This book should have strong across-the-board appeal; as it has enough minutia and factual documentation to appeal to academia-types, as well as enough common-sense for Lay-People just becoming acquainted with this subject-matter. My own personal resonance with this book's facts and style is that is strikes a level-headed balance between a number of viewpoints re: this subject-matter - as the marketplace is already being flooded with extremely polarizing 2012 books/moves/video-clips that run the gamut from Ascension to Armageddon. Geoff's book is a refreshingly sane, objective and rational exploration into the completely unique time-frame that Humanity finds itself at . . .

I completely concur with Vincent Bridges comment re: this book, (co-author of 'Mysteries of the Great Cross of Hendaye: Alchemy and the End of Time) - i.e., "'Beyond 2012" is an invaluable resource. Fair, open-minded and rational. Geoff Stray's book displays the enormous range of the 2012 phenomenon: a sort of mega-mall of marvelous strangeness, insights, and sudden flashes of truth."

A few quotes from "Beyond 2012" to wet one's appetite:

- "In my opinion, there is enough independent corroboration here to show that this 2012 information is bubbling up from some deep communal level of mind and emerging from various human transmitters in order to give us a spiritual kick up the Aristotle!"

- "So we could look upon the Earth as a large hibernating creature like a bear that is recycling its body waste, but can only keep it up for a certain amount of time before it either has to wake up or poison itself. The unconscious mind of the bear knows when Spring is coming, the trigger that will arouse it from its slumber, just as the year 2012 is emerging from the collective unconscious as the end of time, or year of ascension, or the year of catastrophe, or the deadline for cleaning up the planet by the Kyoto Protocol. As we get nearer, there should be more outbreaks of telepathy and clairvoyance, like a pan of maize on a stove that starts with a few pops and speeds up until the whole pan goes crazy."

- "If this interpretation is correct, it is certainly an interesting time to be alive, to be a part of an evolutionary quantum leap which may be seen as the boundary between Homo sapiens and our descendent, Homo spiritus."

- "In the summer of 2002, I heard philosopher Stanley Messenger give a talk about Rudolph Steiner's prediction of "mankind crossing the threshold at the end of the century". Stanley said that all the people who have completed a struggle towards enlightenment through the ages have formed a "critical mass" that will allow the majority of mankind to cross this threshold together, that Steiner foresaw this, and that the time is now. Stanley sees the event as reaching its climax by 2012, and sees a connection to the crop circles phenomenon. Although some feel it is unfair that all the masses should reap the benefits of the sacrifices of a few, it would seem to be a natural process, like Rupert Sheldrake's `Morphic Resonance' theories, or the `hundredth monkey' phenomenon, in which an entire species somehow miraculously gains a behavioral attribute when a certain `critical' percentage of individuals pioneer it."

P.S. John Major Jenkins wrote the introduction to `Beyond 2012', and I would strongly recommend that his "Maya Cosmogenesis 2012" would be a wonderful synchronistic companion to Geoff's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Book on 2012 by which all others will be measured, June 17, 2009
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
BEYOND 2012... is a virtual Ph.D. dissertation on just about every subject related to 2012. Although Geoff Stray has written this book in layman's language, with plenty of illustrations and color plates for entertaining and informative reading, this is nevertheless a very scholarly work with great attention to detail and an impressive dedication to "getting things right".

Quite simply, this is THE most comprehensive book on the subject of 2012 I have read so far. And the least agenda-based or theory-driven, so readers have more freedom to draw their own conclusions. Impressive in both its scope and depth, it not only covers familiar ground, but does so with fresh insights, and also reaches out to more distant vistas, to the "event horizon" surrounding 2012, and the predicted changes within its influence.

This is a beautiful book and though softbound I would say that no expense has been spared in its production. It's also a BIG book, almost 300 pages and is well worth the modest price, considering it represents 25 years of research. This book belongs in any serious (non-strictly empirical) thinker's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, March 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
Descriptions of many ancient calendars and predictions from the world over. Includes graphs and charts that are very detailed. I tended to skip over the visual aids and sometimes the descriptions. Read the parts that interested me most and skipped the rest. Very interesting ideas and comparisons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommend Beyond 2012, December 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
The author of Beyond 2012 has painstakingly made extensive and yet objective research on this highly controversial subject matter. I particularly found the analysis of many well known authors in this area to be carefully considered and objectified.
The information provided is the best I have found yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New age libraries will find it the item of choice for considering 2012 changes and challenges, September 18, 2009
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
Mayan studies and new age sentiments blend in a fine survey of predictions revolving around 2012, the year the Mayan Calendar's Great Cycle will end. The ending of this cycle coincides with a rare galactic alignment, a phenomenon at the core of many wisdom teachings around the world. BEYOND 2012 represents the author's gathering of data related to the phenomena since 1982, moving beyond Maya beliefs and charts to embrace information from cultures around the world. New age libraries will find it the item of choice for considering 2012 changes and challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, November 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
I ordered this expecting to find many plausible theories all in one place. However, the very first problem came up when I began reading many of the theories, only to find out at the end of them that they'd already been disproved! If I'd wanted to read that kind of theory, I would've have purchased a "disproven theory" book. Also, I suppose it's nice and technical that Mr. Stray provides a rather exhaustive amount of calculations and graphs but once again, if I'd wanted a technical book on the subject, I would've purchased one. It's claim of being in "layman's" terms is partly true I suppose but for the average consumer, I think they'd have a hard time getting through all the numbers.
Out of the 2012 books I've purchased thus far, this had been the most expensive and the worst! Don't waste your money, unless you like the idea of the problems mentioned above. I'd refer you to John Major Jenkins line of work based on the Maya as a start. I'm still looking for a valuable, all-encompassing work that will keep my interest and relay information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncovering Maya Cosmology, December 11, 2011
"Geoff Stray shares his exhaustive research of current and ancient sources on the Maya perspective of time, cycles and the cosmos. Many unsubstantiated myths are debunked, resulting in a cogent and positive outlook on how we can create the future we wish and begin the next cycle of human development that is inclusive of all."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best yet!, July 26, 2011
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
have read several books on the subject and this is the best one so far... covers many points of view and predictions from many sources, finding support for some and not others... an incredible research effort...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference-type Book, July 21, 2011
By 
R. Laroche (Portland ME USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
I've researched this subject since fall 2008. I have also read 'The Orion Prophecy' and 'Apocalypse 2012'. Of the three I like this one the best. Recommended for those who want a complete reference book without having to do hardcore research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boy Scout Handbook for 2012, October 1, 2009
By 
Ronald L. Bedry (Pacific Grove, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions (Paperback)
This book is great for bedside or bathroom reading, as it is jam-packed with short segments of esoteric anecdotes and pseudo-scientific speculation that is sure to raise eyebrows and keep you turning for more, even if you don't necessarily buy into the whole 2012 craze. I think Geoff Stray has an amazing brain, or else he's just a bit crazy, I can't be sure. If you're looking for mainstream science, this is not the book for you. But if you like to let your mind meander into the realm of the collective unconscious and meet beings from other dimensions, or listen to a good scary yarn around the campfire on a starry night, you will find this book very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beyond 2012: Catastrophe or Awakening?: A Complete Guide to End-of-Time Predictions
$24.00 $18.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.