Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars two women co-joined by family tragedy in Viet Nam
In 1975, ten years old American Genevieve learns that her mother died in a war related plane crash in Viet Nam while trying to adopt a child. At about the same time, not that far away, the civil war destroys the family of seven years old Vietnamese Lan when her brother, a Viet Cong soldier, drives them out of their home.

Years later partially in homage to her...
Published on June 16, 2005 by Harriet Klausner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Having adopted from Vietnam, this book was so real. But even for those who have not adopted, the story really helps one see the paradox of adoption, a child given up by a birth mother, yet adopted by a forever family. I couldn't put the book down and it brought all the sights, sounds, and smells back from Vietnam.
Published on September 7, 2005 by S. Reeder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars two women co-joined by family tragedy in Viet Nam, June 16, 2005
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
In 1975, ten years old American Genevieve learns that her mother died in a war related plane crash in Viet Nam while trying to adopt a child. At about the same time, not that far away, the civil war destroys the family of seven years old Vietnamese Lan when her brother, a Viet Cong soldier, drives them out of their home.

Years later partially in homage to her mother, infertile Gen accompanied by her spouse Jeff come to Viet Nam to adopt. Though she detests doing so, an impoverished Lan gives up two of her children for adoption so they have a chance for a better life. Separately impacted by the war, Lan and Gen will soon meet with both still trying to make sense out of what happened to their families back in 1975.

BEYOND THE BLUE is an intriguing tale of two women from differing backgrounds co-joined by family events in Viet Nam almost two decades earlier. The story line follows the preadolescents as they grow up in radically dissimilar environments, but the tragedies of 1975 haunting both of them until they converge as adults. Ironically though quite realistic, the pace shows down when Gen and her husband struggle through delays, detours and unnecessary impediments caused by the unsympathetic Communist government, which in turn adds plenty of realism. Leslie Gould writes a strong two women character study that provides her audience with a fine story that nurtures hope in the future.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant and extremely well-written, December 20, 2006
By 
Kathi Macias (Homeland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
What an incredible interweaving of lives and cultures! Leslie Gould writes with amazing fluidity and a depth of understanding of the painful yet joyful emotions involved in adoption, as well as the contrasting elements of culture in a prosperous America and a war-torn and poverty-stricken Vietnam. And yet, with all the differences in lifestyle, the author manages to bring about a meeting of the hearts that culminates in lives that are changed forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, September 7, 2005
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
Having adopted from Vietnam, this book was so real. But even for those who have not adopted, the story really helps one see the paradox of adoption, a child given up by a birth mother, yet adopted by a forever family. I couldn't put the book down and it brought all the sights, sounds, and smells back from Vietnam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another homerun by Leslie Gould, September 27, 2010
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
Once again, Leslie Gould handles difficult subject matter with great compassion and sensitivity. Infertility and adoption are topics that tug at the hearts and minds of women (and men) everywhere. In this novel, two women with vastly different backgrounds and social status experience the joys and sorrows surrounding childbearing and rearing. The way the author interweaves their lives and stories is fascinating. As well, I appreciate the author's ability to "turn a phrase" as in this heartrending scene where Lan kisses her four-year-old son good-bye for the last time. "Lan swallowed hard. She would not cry, not again. Her heart broke in two and then came back together, mostly." Leslie Gould is a gifted writer and I look forward to reading all of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story of Adoption, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
BEYOND THE BLUE is an intriguing story of adoption. It takes place in Viet Nam and reveals cultural issues around poverty and adoption. It is the story of American mothers who went there to "see' and to help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, August 7, 2012
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
This is one of the best boooks I've ever read. It was so realistic and the author really captured your emotions. You could feel the hurt and sorrow of the characters. It gets a little confusing at first because it flashs to different settings and different people but after the first chapter or two it really doesn't matter because thats all it'll take for you to be all into the book. I love this book and would highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic and intriguing, July 30, 2012
By 
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
I have read many fiction books, but few have affected me like this one. It caused me to have a "what would I do if I had a million dollars" fantasy, thinking of how I could go to Vietnam and provide for many of the needs of the women and children who have to live like that. I read this book a few years ago and I still recommend it as one of my very favorite fiction books. She makes the characters so real that I could see them even though there are no illustrations. I wanted to hug those kids and give them some food and clothes, and their mom too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Love Looks Like, July 26, 2012
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
As a Dad with 7 adopted kids, I completely relate to the emotional roller coaster that is international adoption. Leslie Gould knows how to tell a great story, and she knows this topic well, and it comes through in this thoroughly enjoyable and moving story about how hearts are changed through the process of growing your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a new favorite author, August 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Beyond the Blue (Paperback)
Perhaps I am writing this review prematurely as I have not yet finished reading this book. But I came here to Amazon in search of another book by Leslie Gould for once I am done with Beyond the Blue. I don't want to be empty handed when I have completed this book. This is the second book I have read by this author, first one was Scrap Everything, and I want to be sure to have another Leslie Gould novel on hand for my next read. I have not been reading much lately and it has been several years since my last novel, prior to these Leslie Gould books. But now I am hungering for more and more. The stories are not related by her writing ability has been consistant. She creates very believable characters, living very believable lives, facing life's trials and trying to understand who God is and how they should live.

I am really enjoying the character development, cultural insights, and even the jumping back and forth between the two very different worlds. I have been captivated.

okay, gotta go find some more Leslie Gould books................... and then get back to reading Beyond the Blue.................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beyond the Blue
Beyond the Blue by Leslie Gould (Paperback - April 19, 2005)
$22.99 $19.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.