Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reclaiming the Initiative
"There is nothing new under the sun." So says the Book of Ecclesiastes. But much of what has always been remains a mystery, whether it be the nature of light or human nature. Once in a while, however, some mysteries become clearer when keen observers find the words needed to describe what we all see but fail to comprehend.

In "Beyond Office Politics," Linda...
Published on July 13, 2012 by MAE

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nice story
Really good book, I like the story telling approach and summary to understand the premises this book is based on.
Published 6 months ago by serg337


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reclaiming the Initiative, July 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond Office Politics: The Hidden Story of Power, Affiliation & Achievement in the Workplace (Paperback)
"There is nothing new under the sun." So says the Book of Ecclesiastes. But much of what has always been remains a mystery, whether it be the nature of light or human nature. Once in a while, however, some mysteries become clearer when keen observers find the words needed to describe what we all see but fail to comprehend.

In "Beyond Office Politics," Linda Sommer beholds the workplace with fresh insight and clarity. She then uses simple language to describe the dynamic that causes one person to flourish and another to perish in the battle for position and power in the boardroom or the back room. She's not describing anything new, but reading her book is like seeing it for the first time. And by giving us a vocabulary to describe it, she has equipped us with the tools to understand it and to purposefully navigate it. For those who have lost their business edge or have grown weary, "Beyond Office Politics" will breathe life into your career by showing you how to reclaim the initiative and enter the fray with 20/20 vision and clarity of purpose.

An easy read about some hard truths and a great investment in your own future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, July 3, 2012
It is very easy to understand the dynamics at play in different business environments via the fabulous storytelling of this book.

From a content point of view, the story of Don and his relationships with managers and peers in the company BioWidgets explains the different key concepts of how office politics play and how to get the best out of each potential situation. The author chose a very nice approach to take us through this concepts by using Don's story, as it is a very relatable tale, but most importantly, it is clear, concise, and can provide great insight for the reader's own situation. The book is organized very nicely in chapters that have a concrete learning point, easily browsed via the table of contents.

One of the many great things about this book, since I got the Kindle edition, is the ease of navigation. At the end of each chapter there is a link with coach notes which takes you to a summary / review section of the key concepts from the chapter. I found this section particularly useful to make annotations, usually I make them all over the book, but I found myself annotating everything in the coach notes! I'm sure paperback readers can get the same benefits, they would just need good old-fashioned page swapping!

Overall, I really liked this book and can fully recommend to have in one's library. This is definitely one you want to read more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick and powerful read, July 7, 2012
This review is from: Beyond Office Politics: The Hidden Story of Power, Affiliation & Achievement in the Workplace (Paperback)
This book was a very quick read and gave me lots of little pearls of wisdom to apply to my own career. I usually find "self help" books to be dry and difficult to apply to real life. This book is different because, rather than list a series of canned bullet points, it presents the story of an executive working with a coach and advancing in his career as he learns new principles. The story really pulls you in and keeps you engaged, while also teaching you powerful tips that will help you better understand and influence the people you work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was extremely useful. It was simple to understand, August 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was extremely useful. It was simple to understand. Although other books have contradicted some of the statements in here, that is because I believe this was written primarily for high achievers who work so hard at their goals they don't often understand how power and affiliation plays out with their other team members. The story that went through the book made the book pleasant to read and gave an example of the principles at work. If you are a high achiever, I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for people who are suffering under office politics, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond Office Politics: The Hidden Story of Power, Affiliation & Achievement in the Workplace (Paperback)
This is a good book for people who are in the mid-level management and who are getting pulled into office politics even if they do not want to get involved in any politics. This book offers the positive side of the how to go about office politics but not the negative side. Obviously, when someone sees you climb up the ladder (or even if they have a hint of you doing that), they make every effort to pull you down starting with your leg. But the content is more imaginative and lacks real examples of office politics. That's why the 4 stars (I would have given a 3.5 stars if there was one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice story, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really good book, I like the story telling approach and summary to understand the premises this book is based on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good read, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
well written, clear structured. unfolded a clear hidden org chart in front of us. these are something need to know if you're working for an institute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not much here, October 13, 2013
By 
gtcaz (Tucson, AZ) - See all my reviews
I'm a bit suspicious of the many positive rating for this largely insubstantial book. What it lacks in practical substance it compounds with a cardboard cutout story that amounts to filler. Content might have worked as a blog post, but doesn't cut it for a book.

EDIT: For a *much* better book on this topic, I would recommend "Secrets to Winning at Office Politics: How to Achieve Your Goals and Increase Your Influence at Work," by Marie G. McIntyre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book I've been waiting for for 30 years!, August 5, 2013
This review is from: Beyond Office Politics: The Hidden Story of Power, Affiliation & Achievement in the Workplace (Paperback)
This is a book that I've been waiting for for the last 30 years! As an unabashed admirer of D.C. McClelland who first researched the Power, Affiliation, Achievement motives on which this book is based, I'm delighted that the author Linda Sommer has put together a good description of how to identify and use these three motives in the workplace.

The book is written in a novelette form using Don as our hero as he fights to save his career. This story-telling way of writing makes it very easy for the reader to quickly grasp an understanding of the key concepts and how they might work in practice. However, it does have its downsides which I'll explore shortly.

Don our hero, meets Joe his coach for coffee and starts on a journey to regain the support of his team and his boss in order to gain a promotion over an ambitious new peer. Each chapter takes us through the coaching process Joe uses to help Don discover his strengths by gaining an understanding of the three motivational needs (Power, Affiliation, Achievement) in himself and others. Each chapter concludes by directing the reader to a summary of the concepts in the back of the book. This is a very well structured and easily assimilated approach (as an aside, the coaching process, method and style used by Joe, is a first-rate example of good coaching).

In addition to giving us a sound understanding of the three motivational needs, the book is an excellent guide on how to position oneself better in the organizational hierarchy through a strategy such as personal branding.

The downside of using a novelette to explain a theory is that it immediately makes it contextual. If the context resonates with the reader, then the story works wonderfully well. As someone who has worked across many cultures I feel that some readers (e.g. from European based organisations) may see this story as a very North American way of playing the politics of organisational life.

However, the book is about office politics and if you see the need to position yourself better in your organisation, then this book could be very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Insights, July 20, 2013
This review is from: Beyond Office Politics: The Hidden Story of Power, Affiliation & Achievement in the Workplace (Paperback)
This relatively quick read by Linda Sommer will provide the reader with some insights that are generally not taught in business schools - and need to be. Looking at the personality type of your counter parties and your competitors, Sommer contends that the key to success is to understand what makes them tick and approach the relationship in such a way as to create a win-win interaction - in her words "coopetition". This seems pretty logical, yet many of us suffer from this very shortcoming. Framing up personality types in terms of needs for power, affiliation and achievement, Sommer provides techniques for both identification and interaction with each dominant type - including a website to help classify your own dominant traits.

She also embraces the concept that all business is really at its core about people, and success in business boils down to success with our interpersonal relationships. The book provides an easy to read and relatively useful paradigm for understanding and managing those relationships - and while not breakthrough in content, is extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beyond Office Politics: The Hidden Story of Power, Affiliation & Achievement in the Workplace
$12.95 $11.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.