Customer Reviews


366 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (125)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars
There's nothing I love better than a dirty, sexy read with a plot, and Beyond Shame hit the nail on the head.

Sheltered debutant-like Noelle has only lived her life within the glistening walls of Eden, when she breaks the rules too many times she gets the boot and ends up in grimy 'real' world left after solar flares took out most of the world's technology...
Published on September 28, 2012 by CaroleDee

versus
46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I thought it stunk.
*SPOILERS ALERT*

Gotta say this was not my kinda book- at all. I LOVE a good erotic romance. This was soft porn, no romance. I could not connect with any of the characters in the book and I thought the sex was cut and dry with no emotion at all. I finished the book and couldn't tell you what color the guys eyes were, what the girl looked like, how old anyone...
Published 17 months ago by My name is


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, September 28, 2012
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There's nothing I love better than a dirty, sexy read with a plot, and Beyond Shame hit the nail on the head.

Sheltered debutant-like Noelle has only lived her life within the glistening walls of Eden, when she breaks the rules too many times she gets the boot and ends up in grimy 'real' world left after solar flares took out most of the world's technology. After a near rape she's rescued by Jasper, her knight in shining denim.

Jasper has lived outside the walls his entire life. Steadily working his way from forced laborer to respected enforcer for the biggest gang leader in Sector 4. When the doe eyed Noelle passes out in his path he feels drawn to help the naive girl.

With a gang war on the rise and a potential threat from Eden, the O'Kane gang struggle to hold together their empire. In the meantime, Jasper (with the help of some friends) lead Noelle through the world of sin that life outside the walls of Eden has to offer.

Usually at this point in my review I would describe the relationship between the hero and heroine, BUT there's a twist in Beyond Shame, Noelle not only has a romantic relationship with Jasper (that is completely off the sexual charts) she also partakes in acts with a slew of other O'Kane gang members, including Lex (a female sexual switch that shows Noelle the ropes of living the life of a gang member). Typically, in a story filled with orgy-like scenes I would expect the relationship between the central characters to seem forced, or unromantic. BUT when I took into account Noelle's submissive need to please Jasper by doing his bidding (even if that meant involving herself in sexual situations with others) it made complete sense. (Not to mention, it was completely HOT!)

The writing style was fantastic. The writing team of Kit Rocha did a fantastic job describing situations that could have been confusing. When you have multiple partners in a story things can get dicey, but they pulled it off flawlessly. Not once did I find myself wondering HOW a particular erotic scene was playing out. (Which has happened to me before in polyamorous books.) The characters were so well written I felt attached to each one, even the minor ones. Not to mention, the plot outside of Noelle's sexual realization was just as much fun to read as the erotic stuff.

If you're shy when it comes to sexual themes you may not be prepared for the absolute carnal situations Noelle gets herself into. Beyond Shame includes bondage, impact play, sex toys, and multiple partners (M/F/M, F/F, M/F/F/M etc...)

If you're an experienced BDSM/erotic romance reader you should love this book. If you're new to the genre it might take your breath away a few times, but I highly suggest giving it a try. There's nothing wrong with pushing your limits! You may just like what you find ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinfully sexy combined with dark and edgy., September 16, 2012
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Rating: A ... Heat: Sizzling

Warning: This story has the usual m/f as well as f/f, m/f/m, and m/f/f/m... or is it m/f/m/f... not sure, but no m/m in the ménages. There is also exhibitionism, bondage and elements of D/s but it has an organic feel that matches the world and setting.

Review:
Yes. This book... Hell yes. Beyond Shame is sinfully sexy combined with dark and edgy. A combination that thrills your senses and keeps you squirming in your seat. And it is so incredibly delectable you can't help but devour it quickly--which makes a reread practically a requirement. That way, the next time you read it... you can take it nice and slow...

Ahem. Sorry, my mind drifted back to this scene that included a particularly creative use for strands of pearls... *fans myself* And, now we're moving on...

Beyond Shame takes place in a dystopian world--a world that has been ravaged by solar flares and is now broken up into the idyllic city of Eden and the gang-riddled sectors that surround it. I don't generally gravitate toward dystopian settings unless there is a unique twist or a convincing reason for why the world has gone to hell in a hand basket. Beyond Shame meets both of those requirements. While it did take some time to get a firm hold on it all, once I did, I was hooked. It is such a complex and intricate society, written with such forethought and detail, that it easily became a real place in my mind. And it really was the perfect backdrop for this extensive cast of unique and colorful and... lustful characters.

The first character we meet, Noelle Cunningham, makes quite the entrance. Thrown out of Eden, she is alone and at the complete mercy of everyone else. Luckily, one of the first people she stumbles into is Jasper McCray. Not willing to leave her to the wolves, Jasper brings her back to his gang, the O'Kane gang, and essentially gives her a fighting chance at survival. Which won't be easy as Noelle is terribly naÔve and clueless when it comes to this new world, with its unfamiliar rules, that she's been thrust into.

And, with Jasper's possessive stares and gentle yet firm touches, it's no wonder Noelle immediately feels safe with him. Which, in turn, brings out a very protective side in Jasper. As the bleeding heart of the O'Kane gang, he endures more than his fair share of ribbing for taking Noelle in but he simply takes it all in stride. Probably because, even though he tries to fight it, there is something between him and Noelle that flares up immediately. He can't help but be drawn to her.

Also undeniably drawn to Noelle is Lex. Lex is feisty and sexual and pretty much everything Noelle wishes she could be. Lex quickly becomes Noelle's best friend, always there for her, helping Noelle get her footing and figure things out. More than friends, Lex and Noelle become confidantes and... playmates. I loved the way these two women grew to care for each other.

Really, I loved the way all of the women in the gang care for each other and aren't catty in any way. Every single one is willing to help and offer Noelle advice. It's nice to have female characters who are truly there for each other--no backstabbing or b-tch fights.

And the men in the gang--holy f'ing alpha hotness. Muscular and covered in tattoos, constantly working out their issues in cage matches... It really doesn't get any hotter than that. The O'Kane gang is like an all-you-can-eat buffet of yummy alpha goodness. You can't help but want to eat them up! Seriously. You'll want to have a little nibble on Dallas, maybe get your lick on with Ace... Definitely use your teeth with Bren, he'd probably like that. And, of course, gorge yourself on Jasper. Miz Rocha has done a fine job creating such a wicked and sexy cast.

The character development in this book was spot on as well. I love how Noelle goes from feeling helpless and useless to empowered and able to truly own herself. And Jasper is right there with her, encouraging her and trying to give her the distance he thinks she needs to discover who she is outside of Eden. It made for this sort of teasing, fast then slow then fast again, kind of pacing in their relationship. And a little teasing is never a bad thing.

Beyond Shame satisfies a craving like the most delicious of desserts. A sweet treat that's decadent and rich and offers all of the pleasure with none of the guilt (or calories). Miz Rocha isn't afraid to give us what we really, really want either: the nitty-gritty, down and dirty, details. And I thank her for that--profusely!

*On a side note... I feel I must implore--beg and plead, if necessary--for Miz Rocha to give us the marking scene! Noelle, Jasper, and Ace... Wow, it'd be blazing hot to read! Please give it to us!

Favorite Quote:
She kept shuddering even after he stilled, whimpering every time an aftershock shivered through her. Her lips moved, mumbling the same hoarse sounds over and over. "Oh, God... oh my God."
Jasper let her legs down and rolled so that Noelle was on top of him. Her hair spilled across his shoulders as she panted openmouthed against his chest, every breath out accompanied by a twitch of her hips.
"Jasper..."
"Shh." Words were for other things, things that didn't matter just yet. Right here, right now, they didn't need anything else.

-- A Romantic Book Affairs Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously Dirty... ;-), September 18, 2012
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I must bow down to the Mistresses... ;-)

Ok the people on Twitter (you know who you are) that said this book was deliciously dirty didn't even come close to how truly naughty this book is. I mean decadence can't cover it.. you feel like a bit of a voyeur but man oh man can it give you some ideas.

I felt for poor Noelle when she ends up kicked out of Eden to make her way in the Sectors. She is quickly seen as prey and ends up getting juiced by someone that wanted to take advantage. Luckily for her she lands in the arms of a very sexy, dangerous man. She's innocent, naive and believes that the thoughts and feelings she's been having are shameful. You may think this makes her weak but as you get to know her and watch her grow ... she's strong and such a lovely character. Sure she likes to submit... sure she likes to play with both men and women but... she's no weak plaything...

Jasper.. *fans self*... man oh man can he get your motor running. He's growly... possessive... sweet... lost.... and man oh man can he come up with some interesting things to say and try out. I loved watching him in both his dealings with Noelle and the rest of the world we were immersed in. I loved his ability to both want to keep her but knows that what he needs to do is let her come out of her shell by not completely stifling her. He does some typical male bs but hey I can forgive a lot.

Now... my comments would not be complete without mentioning the next pair that we will hopefully see... and man oh man this will be an amazing book when the Mistresses give it to us..

Dallas and Lex... dude these two are scorching in this book but man oh man... Their book should be absolutely positively scorching.. They burn up the pages in this one and dear GAWD will they be hot ...

I'm looking incredibly forward to more from this dystopian world and have to say they can send them to me any time they wish... I mean I'll buy them anyway but....

Thanks to NetGalley.com and Kit Rocha for letting me get my greedy hands on it in exchange for my honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I thought it stunk., August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
*SPOILERS ALERT*

Gotta say this was not my kinda book- at all. I LOVE a good erotic romance. This was soft porn, no romance. I could not connect with any of the characters in the book and I thought the sex was cut and dry with no emotion at all. I finished the book and couldn't tell you what color the guys eyes were, what the girl looked like, how old anyone was. I also do not like that I would have to read more to find out what happens to them. Are they going to stay a foursome? Are they going to keep handing her out to anyone who wants to have sex with her? Can she go off and have sex with whoever she wants or is it always who her "boyfriend"? "mate?" " husband?" gives her to? I don't recommend this at all. To me, this was NOT romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Shameful Shame Beyond Shame, October 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
When I looked at this book i really was optimistic about it. Then I read the reviews and was excited over it, over the moon about this. A book with a protagonist and not a heroine (because I don't think adapting to a new society warrants the term 'hero').
Noelle is cast out of her home for getting caught with alcohol and fornication. She's inexperienced and has a dirty mind. Okay. I can dig that. I was intrigued. When she's kicked out of her home city in this post apocalyptic world she has to find a way to make it on her own. When she falls onto a stranger she is further inducted into the new society. This is my summery of the plot. It will suffice for now as i never made it past chapter seven.
Somewhere in it is a romance blooming but it gets lost in the sex and confusion over physical desires (to politely phrase it).
Pros
I had no problem with the writing style. The author does a good job at describing the world. It's easy to visualize the 'new' world. I found no typos in the seven chapters that I did read.
Cons
I could not connect with this character at all. I know she is a young adult (somewhere between 18 and 22 I'll say) and I thought that was excellent because I'm in that age range. I read on to find she has very little sexual experience. I thought 'Great,' because I have none myself. And after that is established, in a desperate attempt to find some connection I began skimming through the book. This is a major negative for me and to any author. If you have failed to draw me in as a reader in the first few chapters you've lost me. If anything I was more interested in this post apocalyptic world with three very different societies.
The word shame is mentioned about 400 times thus far (I exaggerate) and I start to presume that the author has misplaced her thesaurus. I would have pulled a tooth out and given it in sacrifice to find something else there like 'no inhibitions'. The shame began to annoy me.
I skimmed (not read) further along to find that I did learn something from this book. I can't stand a book that has a naive, unworldly, virgin (or very inexperienced) protagonist transform to an utterly wanton creature willing and wanting to try any and everything all the while developing feelings for one of the secondary characters in what I would consider a short space of time.
If I were booted out of some self righteous, prudent community for having a bit of alcohol and making out with someone or having sex or watching- (or whatever 'fornication' covers)I would feel utterly lost not for a day or two- for weeks! And if within a day or two I stumble into someone that somehow leads me to the opportunity of work with the chance of earning money that did not involve me having to take my clothes off, I would thank my lucky damn stars and take that job, maybe two of them if they have availability.
Oh I'm not saying that I would not be attracted to anyone or unaware of the lust in the air but call me a prude when I say my priorities would be a little different. I would be a little determined to make it now that i was on my own. Perhaps what I am saying is the sex was a little too rushed. There was a lot happening in little time.
Don't get me wrong I like the contrast of going from constant confinement and the demand of refinement to total freedom; mind, body and soul. But come on, something more could have been done. This book needed some finesse it was going to anything more than another raunchy erotica. It wasn't even a delightfully wicked read it was just smutty and that's very disappointing given the premise for this story. I was hoping to be able to cheer on and laugh with or cry with this protagonist, Noelle, but she clearly had a one track mind and it made Lex's statement about using your head just flat out ironic.
As a last thought; if the author was trying to portray this society as free-spirited where sex is a physical expression of our more passionate sides then... I didn't get that either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Shame, Beyond Bad, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you are a masochist, like bad books, and want to waste your money, so this is the one for you: no story, just gratuity sex & weird BDSM.

I LOVE erotica and I LOVE dystopian. So, when I read the blurb and all the reviews, wow! I bought it and put it on the the top of my huge TBR.
But reading this was like... err... watching a non-ending bad porn movie, if you get my meaning.

The idea was appealing: an erotic dystopia where people are trying to survive after the whole society ruined after a Flare(?) attack and living in sectors away from the capital (Eden). It sounded like Hunger Games (5 stars) with erotica, so it should be a 10 stars. Well, it was not.

There is no character development, just one sex scene after another, emotionless sex. Pointless. We hardly understand what they are doing or why. We only see the characters sexually interacting and when there is a tiny bit of a story it is all drenched with sexual innuendos and gratuity violence.

Let me repeat, I love erotica and dystopian and I have nothing against violence (violence as violence, not violence as love) but really? It became not only boring, but tiring! There's no story. No promised dystopian world. Oh, Ms. Rocha tries, but she is so immersed in sex, orgies and punishment that she forgot the story. And what is worse, as she tries, she loses the readers with her tentatively dystopian world. And worse, the sex scenes are raw, no reason for them to exist besides an immense amount of lust. The characters can tattoo and have sex - a threesome - at the same time. Huh? Oh, please! Orgies, twosome, threesome, foursome, lesbian, and I stopped on 45% ... I don't even want to imagine what was to come.

Noelle Cunningham the female leading character is exiled from the sexually repressed city of Eden.
She just wants sex and thinks she is dirty and a bad girl for wanting it. Then she wants to be punished for that?
And then we have it all again, the virgin, innocent girl that enters the den of sex, drugs and rock'n'roll and loves but keeps blushing. Oh, please!!! The male leading character is without charm, he tries to be nice and hot, but he mix both things and in the end (in the middle) he became amorphous. A collection of qualities that didn't blend.

All women are horny - all the time - and Noelle’s can think of nothing but sex, pain, drinking and freedom. All men are handsome alphas (and that's okay) but they only think of sex, tattooing and fighting for releasing some steam. There are so many unnecessary secondary characters that it becomes confusing. They appear and disappear in a flash without reason. And the author tells at the same time the story of Dallas (that she can decide if is Dallas or Declan) and Lex.

Now. About the the story (?)... Weird, boring, tiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, November 11, 2012
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
When I read the blurb for this book I thought I had hit the jackpot. I love post-apocalyptic books and with some sexiness thrown in too I thought I had the perfect book. I thought it was going to be like Nightfall by Ellen Connor or Driven by Eve Kenin but with more sex in it, sadly that was not to be the case.

I didn't have any feelings for the characters I couldn't relate to them and didn't care what happened to them. We don't get to find out much about life in this post-apocalyptic world and that is what let it down for me. I found this book to be lots of explicit sex scenes strung together with a bit of a story and I need more than that from a book.

I have to admit that I didn't finish this book, it just wasn't for me. If you want a book filled with explicit group sex scenes but little story then you might want to give this a try. However if you want more story set in a post-apocalyptic world and less sex then I recommend you try Nightfall and Driven instead. Beyond Shame gets 1 star from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was porn with a futuristic backdrop. It could have been in space, underwater, in a kibbutz and it wouldn't have mattered. The storyline was inconsequential...the entire book was based around hardcore sexual situations. Erotica happens to be an area I review a lot and I do like the genre, but this one just didn't do it for me. Now don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad and for someone looking for a book with a lot of heavy sexual situations (f/f, voyeur, BDSM, group sex, etc.) this book is perfect. I happen to need a book with more heart and passionate, yet hot sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much sex, not enough story, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you are looking for an erotic read with sex, sex, sex, and no real connection between two characters... this book is for you. Otherwise, I would pass.

This book was not what I was expecting. I read about the first half and then did not finish.
I don't mind a book with sex, but when there sex within every chapter and the storyline is lacking ... I draw the line.

The romance between the characters didn't stand out because everyone was doing everyone. There were threesomes and foursomes and just plain lots of sex.

Not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, March 24, 2014
This review is from: Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book in the anthology a Ride or Die Kind of Love. I'm doing individual reviews for each of the stories. I had problems connecting to the characters in this book. I had to really push myself to finish it. I hate leaving reviews for anything under a 3 star. Reading the synopsis, I thought I would really like it and with it being in this anthology, I figured it would be some sort of dystopian, erotic MC read (since all the other books are about MCs). I was sadly disappointed. There wasn't much character development either. The story line was basically just sex. They had a few minor issues that happened with the characters, but nothing major. No real climax to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beyond Shame (Beyond, Book 1)
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.