Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to be captivated...and up all night
During my research on domestic violence to feature in Sisters in the Lord Magazine for October, which happens to be Domestic Violence Awareness Month, I ran across Lynn Tolson's, Beyond the Tears: A True Survivor's Story.

By the second paragraph of Beyond the Tears, I was transported into the mind of a young woman bent on suicide and traveled with her through...
Published on September 27, 2005 by E. Dian Moore

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much
I found this book a little slow moving and some of it just seemed a little too contrived for my taste. After having this book for several weeks, I still haven't quite finished it yet. I feel like I'm forcing myself to read something that just isn't that good. So, the book still sits.
Published on September 10, 2011 by D. Gross


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to be captivated...and up all night, September 27, 2005
By 
E. Dian Moore (Moundsville, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
During my research on domestic violence to feature in Sisters in the Lord Magazine for October, which happens to be Domestic Violence Awareness Month, I ran across Lynn Tolson's, Beyond the Tears: A True Survivor's Story.

By the second paragraph of Beyond the Tears, I was transported into the mind of a young woman bent on suicide and traveled with her through her suicide attempt, discovery, revival in a cold hospital room and transfer to a psyche ward. This was just in the first chapter.

The remainder of my night was shot as I stayed awake, reading each page as quickly as possible so that I might know this woman was okay. That she recovered. That she escaped her abuser and survived.

Intense doesn't begin to describe Beyond the Tears. This writer's true story reads like a best-selling thriller - but it's not fiction. It's Tolson's nightmare that begins the story and her victorious survival that ends it.

Peopled with characters we all know in our own lives, Tolson brings her own cast alive with crisp dialogue and action - oftentimes breathtaking with brutal honesty. Tolson's abuse cycle started as a child and continued through her marriage. The pages turn on their own as this compelling true story shows the cycle of abuse, the mindset of the victim, the actions of the abuser, the betrayal of relatives and friends and finally, the first steps toward healing.

As I suspected when reading Tolson's story, her true calling was to be a writer, which she revealed in a subsequent interview. She is now working on her second survival story - this time she has survived breast cancer.

Beyond the Tears is critical reading for victims of abuse. Through Tolson's story, many will recognize themselves, their families, their spouses, their friends, and from there, recognize that they, too, can heal-even when death seems like the best solution.

Tolson says it best in this quote from her website, "In the meantime, know that my purpose as Lynn C. Tolson is in my initials: LCT, Learning, Creating, Teaching, to provide empowerment of our minds, bodies, and spirits. May this generation break the silence that surrounds sexual assault and incest so that future generations may live in peace."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Male's point of view/ A therapists point of view, February 3, 2005
Beyond the Tears was very captivating. I felt for and understood Lynn as she told her story. I never felt that it was biased in any way, and longed to find out what was coming next. As a man reading a story about a woman and her experiences with sexual, emotional and physical abuse, I was touched by her courage to continue, even when she did not want to continue she persevered, found strength and did more than survive, she thrived. I was able to identify with the main character just as easily as if that person had been male. As a therapist I have encouraged several of my clients to read this book to assist them in working through their abuse issues(both male and female clients). If I could sum up the most impressive thing about this book besides the author, it would be how she tells her story as though she is telling it to her therapist. That is very healthy and encouraging to others who may need counseling. Thank you so much Lynn for sharing your story and breaking the silence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for real life survivors, May 12, 2003
By 
A survivor is not always the one who is the strongest or the wisest, but the one who perseveres. Lynn Tolson's story is compelling and uplifting. She takes the reader through the darkest moments of her life into a place where peace and happiness come to fruition. The book is candid but not brutal. It is an enjoyable read with a great message. Tolson is truly a gifted writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond The Tears Book Review, July 1, 2004
Beyond The Tears, a book by Lynn Tolson, is a story that needs to be read by anyone who has ever thought about suicide, has experienced abuse or is running from the painful memories of their past. Lynn provides a powerful story as she takes you down the painful path of her last suicide attempt that almost killed her. The strange thing is she doesn¡¦t know why she wants to die, she only knows that she wants the pain to stop. It is only by the grace of God that she survives. Having been given a reprieve, Lynn finds a special therapist named Karen she can begin her journey of healing with. It is her special relationship with Karen that gives her the permission and freedom to talk about the sordid and painful memories of her past. She reveals her innermost secret about being sexually abused by her father and then her brother„oyes, her own brother. She tells how lonely she felt as a child in her overwhelmingly dysfunctional family and how she just wanted someone to love her. ¡§That¡¦s what I felt like, a tattered book that had been thrown away before anyone bothered to read beyond the cover¡¨, she writes. Lynn plodded along in therapy for quite some time revealing everything that had happened to her while receiving invaluable hope and support from Karen. She tells how she ¡§¡Ksurveyed the fragments of a family not yet dead but no more living¡¨. In the end, Lynn overcomes her past, confronts her perpetrators and stops just existing, but begins living. She then courageously writes her own story, offering hope to anyone who is a survivor of childhood abuse, neglect and/or trauma. She shares her inspiration and hope with anyone who feels hopeless and unworthy. Read her story and you will find that no matter how bleak a situation or family may look, there is always hope and the potential for healing.
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you a victim of Abuse, Addiction or Attempted Suicide? This book is for YOU!, July 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This author, Lynn Tolson rises above her long buried private pain, her horrific young life of childhood incestual and physical abuse, to help others. She takes you on a well written, can't put the book down, journey through her life in vivid detail which is carefully drawn out through counseling sessions and reveals the full extent of her abuse.... then on to recovery some 20 years later. She has brought her story out in the open, out of the dark shadows so that other victims can hopefully gain the strength and courage to tell somebody, anybody about their own abuse. She is one very brave, very strong woman now. She is determined to tell her story of survival. She survives Incest, Sexual & Physical Abuse, Drug Addiction, Suicide Attempts and PTSD. Read this whether or not you yourself are a victim. You may know a victim and can maybe be a better helpful friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revealing the True Self, May 10, 2004
By 
Lynn Tolson's story is one of courage and survival. Despite her initial suicide attempt, she perseveres, using counseling, introspection and reflection. These things are not easy tasks for someone who has been physically, mentally and emotionally abused by those who were supposed to protect. Tolson doesn't sugar coat her abuse or her voyage through recovery, but even though the realities of overcoming abuse are difficult, she proves, in the end, it was/is worth it. Early in the book, Tolson says, "I was afraid to reveal my true self because I was unsure of who I really was under the muck and mire of memories." Ironically, in writing this simple sentence, she is letting us see her true self-a woman, not unlike millions of women around the world, who was abused by the men who were supposed to love and protect her, and, yet, she triumphs over the hurt they inflicted. This is a story that those women need to hear. This is the story of a woman, who in the face of revealing her true self to the world, took her life back. This is the story that can help abused women in every corner of the world begin their journey through recovery so that they, too, can someday say, "Now, at last, I see the ultimate destination: a healthy life, a spiritual connection, and emotional and physical well-being."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think this book was excellent, if you ever expienced anything like this, you could relate, I believe this book could help people understand they are not alone, very hard to put this book down untill finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lori R. Lopez gives Lynn Tolson's "Beyond The Tears" five stars!, September 10, 2010
By 
Lori Lopez "Wordsmith" (National City, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond the Tears: A True Survivor's Story (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of triumph over a series of adversities, and learning to love life after wanting to die. Lynn Tolson has captured a time period and given us a glimpse of that era from her unique viewpoint. This behind-the-scenes perspective takes us through Sixties and Seventies American culture, while conveying the author's hardships and turmoil with wit and deep insights. Her narrative resounds with humorous and poetic depictions as she undergoes family strife, endures child abuse and later assaults, survives violent close calls and suicidal impulses, careens farther off-course in a haze of drugs and alcohol, rejects then embraces therapy to emerge a healthy creative individual.

The book is an engaging and affecting account of a life nearly lost but eventually discovered -- cherished -- directed toward fulfillment through love, social work, advocacy, writing and art. Although it is a tale of woes and torments, Lynn's voice manages to guide and inform the reader with a style that is both soothing and appealing. Whether you can relate to her specific travails or not, this is indeed a story that is worthy of being read. The emotions portrayed and repercussions of her experiences are universal; everyone has suffered some degree of anxiety, confusion, and self-doubt.Beyond the Tears: A True Survivor's Story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story of true courage, January 10, 2011
By 
Gyingst (Lebanon, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Tears: A True Survivor's Story (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommend this book for anyone who has ever been a victim of childhood sexual abuse, or suffers from the disease of addiction, as well as other mental health issues.

As I read Lynne C. Tolson's account of her life, beginning with the first page, I felt as though I was reading about my own life. It gave me a feeling of déjà vu.

Only if you have experienced any type of sexual abuse, addiction, attempted suicide, emotional abuse, mental health issues and just the fear of living with the memories inside of you, can you appreciate the courage it took for the author to put herself out there for the entire world to read.

On a personal level, this book has recently helped me move on in my own therapeutic journey in dealing with that area of my life where I know I need to in order to experience true freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting!!, August 1, 2010
An indepth look at one woman's life which you can't imagine and how far she goes to openly shares her dramatic story of her life. A well written and well read book that can be learned from. For any survivors of abuse and a must for survivors of suicide and for those in need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.