Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Might Supplant Keating's Catholicism and Fundamentalism
An amazing book by the amazing online apologist, Dave Armstrong.

Covers the biblical evidence for those Catholic doctrines that typical Evangelicals/Fundamentalists find problematic: Tradition, Justification/Salvation, Development of Doctrine, Eucharist, Sacrifice of the Mass, Communion of Saints, Purgatory, Penance/Reconciliation, the Blessed Mother, the...
Published on December 25, 2001 by PhilVaz

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insightful......sort of...
This book gives a rather interesting look into the rationale of Catholic dogma so, for that reason, I gave it three stars. After that there isn't much to recommend it. It's premises collapse under the weight of their own arguments and it's theologically confused. At points the author asserts that the Catholic position on a matter is correct, then proceed to demonstrate...
Published 10 months ago by Jason T.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Might Supplant Keating's Catholicism and Fundamentalism, December 25, 2001
By 
PhilVaz (St. Petersburg, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An amazing book by the amazing online apologist, Dave Armstrong.

Covers the biblical evidence for those Catholic doctrines that typical Evangelicals/Fundamentalists find problematic: Tradition, Justification/Salvation, Development of Doctrine, Eucharist, Sacrifice of the Mass, Communion of Saints, Purgatory, Penance/Reconciliation, the Blessed Mother, the Papacy and infallibility. Appendices on perspicuity, the visible Church, the OT deuterocanonicals, celibacy, infant baptism, and liturgy.

Quotes from major Catholic writers and official statements of doctrine.

This book is arguably more thorough than the previous best book on the subject: Keating's Catholicism and Fundamentalism. Dave Armstrong's Biblical Defense of Catholicism might supplant Keating's book in the future if the word gets out...

Could some Evangelicals/Fundamentalists find "problems" with some of Dave's interpretation of Scripture and its applicability to Catholic dogma? Sure, but so do most Protestants find "problems" with their fellow Protestants interpretation of Scripture. This book by Dave Armstrong proves that Catholicism is AT LEAST as "biblical" as any so-called Protestant "Bible Church" of whatever denomination, sect or cultic persuasion.

Catholics have the Bible, Tradition, the early Fathers, the early Saints and Doctors on our side. The overwhelming evidence is there for anyone looking with an open mind: the Catholic Church is the original and historic Church Christ founded! Get Dave's book and examine the evidence for yourself! Forget Dave Hunt, James G. McCarthy, James R. White, Norm Geisler, R.C. Sproul -- or rather read them along with this book which demolishes them all!!!

Support this man, his ministry, his huge web site, and his powerful biblical apologetics! Buy this book in bulk!!!
Don't forget the sequel More Biblical Evidence and anything else written by Dave Armstrong.

END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and a great read!, November 26, 2003
By 
adrian (Toronto, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
I have been a Catholic all my life, and unfortunately, I have not been taught the Bible as in depth as the "Bible Christians". Life experience has challenged me to seek and learn more about my faith, my beliefs, and my way of worship.
I have been on many occasions have been challege by "bible christians" on my beliefs. Initially, I could offer them little to no response to their accusations towards the Catholic Faith. I am by no means a theologian now, but after reading this book, I could now go into a moderate debate and discussion with others in defense of the Catholic faith. More importantly, it allowed me to discover and learn more of "why we do what we do".
The book is very fulfilling and definitely a must read!
Thanks Dave for an amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If the Bible is a mystery to you then get this..., January 27, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Biblical Defense of Catholicism (Paperback)
Be amazed as Dave demonstrates what Catholic catechisis and schooling has failed to teach you!! Catholicism is biblical and you have no excuse not to be as passionate as the Evangelicals down the street. At least now you can hold your own in conversation with Bible Protestants!
Makes me wonder if Vatican II foresaw the internet as a grand tool of evangelisation, which isn't suprising as the HS did guide it. In that case, Dave has heeded the call of the new evagelisaion. Better knowledge leads to charity, rather that ignorant fear, and leads to true ecumenism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winning Converts, not just Arguments..., November 11, 2001
With the Second Vatican Council's renewal in the Catholic Church has also come a renewed interest in Catholic apologetics and evangelism. As one who labors in these fields, I know from experience Dave Armstrong is one of the best kept secret of Catholic evangelism. Dave's honesty and sincerity has brought numerous people into the Catholic Church, and his work has been featured in The Catholic Answer, Envoy, and This Rock - the three staples of Catholic apologetics in North America. He is one of many former Protestant evangelists who have come into the Catholic Church over the past decade, yet he is different in that he never found himself hating the Catholic Church. "I always regarded Catholics as brothers in Christ," Dave recently stated in an interview, "My wife and I even played John Michael Talbot songs at our wedding, six years before my conversion."
What is now Dave's first book was originally lengthy explanations of Catholic distinctives intended to bolster his confidence in and understanding of the Catholic Church, so that he could explain himself to his Protestant friends. Those of us who have worked with Dave in the past have long suspected this manuscript exists, but until recently Dave never thought of publishing it. I am thankful for its publication, however, since it is not only enjoyable and easy to read, but it presents a fresh style of apologetics. For Dave, the goal is not simply to win an argument, but to win converts.
Thus Dave initially sets out to find common ground with the Church's separated brothers and sisters in Christ. These folks are not treated as opponents, but rather as fellow Christians seeking the full Gospel message preserved by the Catholic Church. In such way, Dave follows St. Paul's injunction: "I have become all things to all men, that by all means I may save some." To Dave, this is all a part of being as charitable as we can in presenting Catholic claims. And Charity is both supremely important and indispensable when engaged in Catholic evangelism. "I think people are far more influenced by Charity than by the arguments themselves," Dave instructs the potential evangelist, "People are ultimately convicted and converted by the Holy Spirit and grace. God may use our paltry efforts now and then, but they are always a small part of the large picture. Our greatest influence on a human level is the charity we show. All people respond to love, but they don't all respond to arguments and reasoning. Separate people from their ideas, and believe the best of them, as Paul tells us to do in 1 Corinthians 13. As St. Francis said: `preach the gospel at all times; if necessary, even using words."
To this insight, let me add my own "Amen!" I love that particular quotation from St. Francis of Assisi, which is why I also love Dave's book and the refreshing style he brings to Catholic apologetics and evangelism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DEFENSE !!!, January 21, 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I work overseas. U.S. NAVAL ACTIVITIES ROTA,SPAIN.
I thought the book was great and very informative
of our Catholic Faith. I appreciate Mr.Armstrong's & Mr. Hardon's great arguments of the Faith. Great book and
Highly recommended for anyone who wants a great
overview and what to cover during and for
defense of the Catholic Church.
Albert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Incisive. Profound., April 18, 2003
Armstrong, a tireless and insightful Catholic apologist -- one of the recent crop of very smart, Spirit-filled converts who are intent on sharing the wonder of a faith discovered -- gives us a detailed account of the scriptural affirmation of the Catholic faith.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It will enhance anyone's appreciation of the Bible as well as the Church, and of the relationship between the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catholic Bible Thumping, October 1, 2006
By 
Labarum (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Biblical Defense of Catholicism (Paperback)
There is a common misconception among Evangelical Protestants that Catholicism (and "high church" expressions of Christianity in general) is something less than Biblical. The fact that some of its followers may be poorly catechised and are incapable of a sound defense of their beliefs is considered evidence that no such defense is possible. Thus it must be a bit of a shock that an increasing number of Evangelical Protestants (often the "best and the brightest") are leaving for Rome. How is that possible? Don't they read the Bible?!? The answer, according to Dave Armstrong, is yes.

Armstrong, a former Evangelical Protestant, asserts in A Biblical Defense of Catholicism that a thorough reading of the Bible in its proper context does in fact support Catholic doctrine. Tackling points of dispute with Evangelicals, Armstrong builds up a defense using Scriptural passages with supporting evidence for his interpreations supplied by writings of the Church Fathers and Councils. A section of appendices covering additional related topics is also supplied.

Armstrong's exposition is very straightforward - often bluntly so - but his frankness never reaches the point of becoming pure triumphalism. The writing can be dry at times and might best be used as a reference work when investigating the Catholic defense of various positions. It presents Catholic apologetics written in a somewhat Evangelical style and Armstrong counters Evangelical Protestant "prooftexting" with some of his own. While some might object that a "bible thumping" approach does not do justice to the richness of Catholic theology, in apologetics one often has to meet people where they are and not argue about methodology.

As for the veracity of his arguments, much of this probably depends one's outlook. More general points on the development of doctrine, the Eucharistic liturgy, and the Communion of Saints have an undisputed pedigree in Church history and the arguments in their favor from Scripture are long established. It is certain applications of these arguments in what may be called the "distinctives of Rome" where the links are not so strong. For example, while the Scriptural and historical arguments for the leadership and role of St. Peter among the Apostles is quite powerful, the application of these passages to the infalibility of the Bishop of Rome seems tenuous at best.

Still, Armstrong does at least provide sound arguements that Catholic belief and practice is not of necessity inconsistent with Scripture. Faced with the growing shallowness of much of the Evangelicalism one faces on Sunday, many are looking to Rome and the East for possible answers to the dilemma. A Biblical Defense of Catholicism presents arguments for Catholic doctine in terms an Evangelical can appreciate and may serve to bridge the theological gap for those seeking a richer and more historically rooted faith. Even for those who reject Rome's claims, it presents strong arguments that one can wrestle with and achieve a greater appreciation for the Roman position and the points of departure between Catholic and Protestant Christians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precise, factual and charitable., July 25, 2002
By 
anonymouslyreviewed "sam" (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Having scanned the now mounting Catholic Apologetic library, this book rates high, perhaps second only to Surprised By Truth. Each Chapter begins with an exposition of the issue at hand directly from the Catholic Teachings most appropriate thereof. Then the scriptural support for that position is cited. There is not an argumentative tone. One senses that Dave is in the midst of an intellectual discussion with a Protestant, and he is providing us with his notes. The precise and factual character enhance the charitable approach. In contrast to "Catholicism and Fundamentalism," the assumption is that the Protestant is sincerely engaged and an intellectual equal.
Dave's website is my first stop for any apologetic question. Wish he could wrangle a better address name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally... Dave Armstrong In Print!!, January 7, 2002
By 
Gary Michuta (Livonia, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Actually, my title is a bit misleading since Dave has contributed a number of articles to my magazine "Hands On Apologetics" over the years. However, Dave's Magnum Opus has finally arrived and if you are interested in learning more about Catholicism, I highly recommend this book.
Dave Armstrong is no ordinary apologist. His expertise is in the details and that is what makes "A Biblical Defense of Catholicism" so valuable. Dave provides information and arguments from angles that you normally do not find in other Apologetic text books.
Dave Armstrong is indeed a "best-kept-secret" within Catholic Apologetics. However, I believe that this book (and the one to follow) will quickly remedy that situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faith and Reason, November 19, 2001
Dave Armstrong, Catholic apologist and convert from evangelical Protestantism, has done his Church and the whole world a great service. In his book, he shows the biblical and rational evidence for the distinctive doctrines of the Catholic church. As he explains in the Introduction, the genesis of the book was the attempt to explain the reasons for his conversion to his Protestant friends. Thus, the primary intended audience of this book (but by no means the only audience who would benefit from giving this book a fair reading) would seem to be Protestant Christians. Protestants, of course, believe that the Bible cannot be reconciled to the teachings of the Catholic Church. Accepting this challenge, Dave Armstrong proceeds to display the abundant biblical evidence that undergirds the Catholic Faith. Indeed, the biblical evidence is surprisingly abundant--or at least it would probably be a surprise to an average Protestant. While carrying out this comparison of Catholicism and Protestantism, the author endeavors at all times to maintain a respectful and irenical tone, setting a positive example for Catholics and Protestants brave enough to engage in honest and forthright ecumenical dialogue.
The book is well-written and well-researched, though of course a few minor errors were overlooked. For example, p.14 fails to mention that St. Justin Martyr made use of the Book of Revelation (as is shown in his Dialogue With Trypho). On p.193 the author did not identify Acts 18:18 as a reference to St. Paul undergoing a Jewish nazirite vow. But these defects do not in any way undercut any of the arguments that the author seeks to make.
I must caution the reader, however. When I first discovered Dave Armstrong's apologetics on the Internet over two years ago, I was a Protestant strongly opposed to most distinctive Catholic doctrines. But in a remarkably short time his apologetics began to change my mind, and in less than a year I had decided to take the same route that Dave had already taken. Among many factors, I credit Dave's apologetics as one of the most important in bringing about my own conversion to Catholicism. If the prospect of becoming a Catholic seems unpleasant to you, you might wish to avoid this book. If, however, you appreciate a solid intellectual challenge, or are simply curious about the reasons for Catholic beliefs and practices, you oughtn't pass it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Biblical Defense of Catholicism
A Biblical Defense of Catholicism by Dave Armstrong (Paperback - June 1, 2003)
$24.95 $19.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.