Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Bible numerics made straightforward!
Dr. Vallowe has suceeded in making numerics accessible to and meaningful for Bible students. This book not only presents God's use of key numbers in the Bible in layman's terms, but also provides a basis for further investigations. Although one may disagree with Dr. Vallowe's conclusions about the meaning of certain numbers, his methods derive solidly from the...
Published on February 7, 1999 by theocodes@juno.com or Dr. Luth...

versus
41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Work
It's very honest of the author to admit several times that he hadn't finished studying this topic before publishing his book, but this doesn't help my confidence in what he had to share!

I do believe that Biblical numbers serve a secondary purpose, and I think the author has some excellent points with regard to the single-digit numbers. But he has some very...
Published on May 25, 2005 by Amazon Customer "W&...


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Work, May 25, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
It's very honest of the author to admit several times that he hadn't finished studying this topic before publishing his book, but this doesn't help my confidence in what he had to share!

I do believe that Biblical numbers serve a secondary purpose, and I think the author has some excellent points with regard to the single-digit numbers. But he has some very vague and confusing things to say later on: "When TWENTY-THREE for DEATH is added to THIRTY for BLOOD of Christ, the sum is FIFTY THREE. When THIRTY-SIX for the ENEMY (the one overcome) is subtracted from FIFTY-THREE, the remainder is SEVENTEEN for VICTORY." Huh?! (Capitalization is the author's, and it gets very annoying throughout the text).

And sometimes, when he can't find what he wants in the Bible, he just counts the number of times a word or a name occurs, for example, "The number THIRTY-TWO is associated with a COVENANT. The THIRTY-SECOND time Noah's name is found is where God made a COVENANT with him." The modern-day arrangement of the Bible is not chronological ... and so the "nth" occurance of any specific word or name is really more coincidence than anything else.

Sometimes he counts the number of words in a verse using either the Greek/Hebrew or the English translation, whichever will serve his purpose and make his point. I'm very disappointed in what feels like a forced conclusion to his theory on numbers in the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Bible numerics made straightforward!, February 7, 1999
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
Dr. Vallowe has suceeded in making numerics accessible to and meaningful for Bible students. This book not only presents God's use of key numbers in the Bible in layman's terms, but also provides a basis for further investigations. Although one may disagree with Dr. Vallowe's conclusions about the meaning of certain numbers, his methods derive solidly from the Biblical context in which the numbers are used. Through this timely book, God releases a long-awaited blessing to His people so that in these last days His Word may be understood in greater fullness and detail. Move over, E. W. Bullinger; Ed Vallowe has written the seminal introduction to the subject of Biblical numerics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Preposterous, unfounded assertions, September 23, 2008
By 
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
I don't doubt Ed Vallowe's love for God or his fervor to serve him, but I think that his focus on numerology is at best misguided and at worst potentially damaging to less discerning Christians. The book's purpose is to "prove" that God wrote the Bible because all the numbers in the Bible somehow line up according to the numerical framework Vallowe describes. The problems with this are twofold:

1) You could never "prove" such a thing. At best, you could provide evidence for or against it. And...

B) It doesn't work.

While you'd get little argument from most scholars that some of the numbers in the Biblical text have symbolic meaning (12 tribes, 12 disciples, 40 days in the desert, 40 days and 40 nights of rain, etc.) but it's hardly obvious that every number up to 40 has some specific meaning, or that compounding them yields a compounded meaning, or that these meanings are consistent throughout scripture.

Furthermore, Vallowe's assertion that not just the numbers in the text, but the chapter and verse numbers themselves have this meaning, is just preposterous. For example, the number 13 is, in many places, symbolic of evil or a bad omen or whatever. Vallowe says it means "Depravity and Rebellion", but the famous "love Chapter" is in I Corinthians 13, and verse 13 of that chapter reads:

"And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love."

Sounds pretty depraved and rebellious, doesn't it? How Vallowe justifies that, not to mention the hundreds of other examples of inconsistencies you could imagine, is beyond me.

Worse yet, he says that his "system" only works in the King James Version of the Bible, not in other translations. Fair enough, but rather than deducing from that fact that perhaps his numerology theory is flawed, or at best, limited to the KJV, he instead concludes that any other translation of the Bible is somehow faulty!

Imagine the gaul you have to have to dismiss hundreds of years worth of Biblical scholarship because his half-baked theory doesn't mesh with their translations! And with all the older texts that have been found in the last 400 years, his insistence upon using an outdated translation based on outdated texts is both ignorant and selfish.

Unfortunately, Christians who don't understand how to actually study the Bible often see this kind of stuff and think they're finding some kind of hidden meanings, while really they're missing out on the real beauty of scripture: The words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book yet E M Bullinger's Number in Scriptures blow it away., June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
Excellent reading. Yet side by side with Bullinger's Number in Scripture Bullinger's is the one with the wealth of knowledge and insight that I would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God as the Author Revealed, August 6, 2002
By 
James Ellstrom (Bossier City, LA. (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
The recent passing of Dr. Vallowe was a sad day for many people who knew him. I was glad over the years to be able to sit and talk to this God fearing man. If you have ever doubted the true validity of who the author is of the Bible, you will not doubt that God is the Author and the only Author of the Bible. I have studied his mathematics for years, and it is breath taking. For example, look at page 43 the last two paragraphs. The number 1 is used 1898 times. Add these numbers together and you get 26. 26 means the Gospel of Christ. I have used Dr. Vallowe's numbering in the last chapter of my book entitled Who is Running America Today? and it scares me to see just how Gods hands are on America too. If you don't shout "Thank You God" after studing this book with the Bible, check your pulse, you might just be dead already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mathematical Proof of the Bible, January 6, 2015
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
A revelatory investigation into God's use of numbers by Evangelist Dr Ed Vallowe (now with the Lord), including:

1 to 40, 42, 45, 50, 60, 66, 70, 100, 119, 120, 144, 153, 200, 600, 666, 888, 1000.

As words have meaning in God's mind, and numbers are words, it is natural they too have meaning beyond simple quantities. Meaning may be linked to the context of the number, a count of words, chapter or verse number, or the gematria value of the word (in Hebrew or Greek).

The facts presented cannot be the result of simple coincidence or contrivances and should be good enough proof the Bible is supernatural.

Some numbers have more complex derivations (e.g. additions, indexing or multiplication factors) and it is here interpretation may be more open.

While every number is interesting perhaps as an example 153 the most (the number of fishes the disciples caught after Jesus' resurrection). This number is the sum of an arithmetic progression from 1 to 17, with a difference value of 1 (153=(17/2)(1+17)), 17 itself being the number for complete victory in Christ.

There is also a convincing application in Revelation to prove the Pre-Millenial position: Six 'thousands' ('thousand' symbolising divine completion) are found sequentially in Revelation 20.2-7. Each verse/'thousand' corresponds sequentially to the meaning of each number from one (unity) to six (satan).

Although the author says he only scratched the surface a lot is revealed for which Christians are indebted.

A caveat-application of numerics to the Bible should not be confused with numerology, an occult practice associating numbers with events for divinatory purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
Biblical Mathematics is a great asset to the deeper student of God's word, the King James Version Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Numbers have meaning, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
Bible numerics is a sadly neglected subject in Christian circles. Properly understood it makes Scripture glow. Numbers underline, reinforce and yellow highlight the Word. While believers
are encouraged to accept the truth of the Word by faith, the numeric patterns prove without
a doubt God is the author of Scripture from Genesis to Revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you smarter than a 3rd grader?, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
There are a lot of numbers used in the Bible for specific purposes. Why 12 tribes of Israel, why 10 commandments, why 12 disciples/Apostles, why 40 years in the wilderness. This book gives you the answers. It is a great reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I MADE AN F IN MATH, BUT THIS IS DIFFERENT, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biblical Mathematics: (Paperback)
I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE TO BEGIN ON THIS BOOK. IT IS SO HELPFUL WHEN YOU ARE READING THE SCRIPTURES IN THE WORD OF OUR FATHER. I HAD NO CLUE ABOUT HOW IMPORTANT NUMBERS WERE USED IN OUR FATHER'S BIBLE. I DO NOW. I DON'T MAKE A RELIGION OUT OF IT, BUT OH MY GOSH, YOU TRULY GET A DEEPER UNDERSTANDING WHEN YOU KNOW WHAT THE NUMBERS MEAN. MY GENERATION WOULD SAY "ITS REALLY COOL!" IF YOU WANT A DEEPER UNDERSTANDING OF A VERSE IN THE BIBLE THAT HAS A NUMBER IN IN, WOW! YOU WOULD BE SHOCKED AND PLEASANTLY SURPRISED HOW MUCH MORE IT MAKES SENSE , UNDERSTANDING BIBLICAL NUMERICS. IVE HAD ALOT OF FUN WITH IT. I STUDY VERSE BY VERSE AND CHAPTER BY CHAPTER. YOU KIND OF HAVE TO IN ORDER TO GET THE POINT AND THE NUMBERS FIT RIGHT IN TO WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE BOOK OF THE BIBLE YOU ARE READING. ALL I CAN SAY IS YOU REALLY MUST TRY IT SOMEDAY. I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT I WAS MISSING, I REALLY DIDN'T. I NOTICED ONE DAY WHEN I WAS READING OUR FATHER'S WORD A CERTAIN NUMBER THAT KEPT POPPING UP. STILL DIDN'T KNOW SOME ONE WROTE A BOOK ON THE NUMBERS. ANYWAY, STARTED LOOKING FOR THAT ONE NUMBER, AND WAS AMAZED HOW IT WORKED IN PERFECTLY TO THE THOUGHT THAT WAS WRITTEN. FORGOT ABOUT IT , THEN ONE DAY SAW A BOOK ON BIBLICAL MATHEMATICS AND I WONDERED IF THEY SAW THE SAME THING I DID, SURE ENOUGH THEY DID AND THEN SOME. IM GLAD TO SAY, I USE THE NUMBERS FREQUENTLY NOW AS I READ FOR A DEEPER LEVEL OF UNDERSTANDING. IM NOT THE BRIGHTEST BULB IN THE DRAWER BUT THE WAY THEY EXPLAIN IT, THE DIMMEST BULB CAN CATCH IT. THERE'S HOPE FOR THOSE AS MYSELF THAT IT TAKES LONGER TO CATCH ON. ANYWAY , TRY IT OUT, YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED,BUT HAPPY , BECAUSE YOU WILL HAVE DISCOVERED A MESSAGE WITHIN A MESSAGE. ITS WORTH IT. THANKS AGAIN. EILEEN MARIE HINES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Biblical Mathematics:
Biblical Mathematics: by Ed F. Vallowe (Paperback - July 1, 1997)
$10.99 $8.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.