Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bichon Frise (Barron's Complete Pet Owner's Manuals (Paperback))
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 4, 1998
This is definitely the most definitive of all the books aimed at the new or potential Bichon owner. It tells a great deal about the plus side of owning a truly delightful breed but is also candid about the amount of work involved in its upkeep. Author is one of the Bichon's foremost authorities so he writes from hands on experience.
0Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2001
I AM A BREEDER OF BICHON FRISE'S AND THERE IS ALL TRUTHS IN THIS BOOK.IT HAS A LOT OF ADVICE FOR NEW OWNERS AND EVEN PEOPLE THAT HAVE OWNED A BICHON FOR AWHILE .VERY COMPLETE BOOK.FROM PUPPY TRAING TO BATHING,GROOMING TRAINING,ETC.IT HAS IT ALL!! HIGHLY RECOMEND IT TO ALL BICHON FRISE OWNERS OR PEOPLE WHO ARE THINKING OF GETTING A BICHON FRISE.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2002
If you're looking to get a dog and you don't have any dog books, this could be a good general one on the selection, care, and training of a dog, specifically a bichon. I have a bichon, and would definitely like to see more details on items covered, such as what to do about hot spots, why bichons run in circles, etc. The author tends to repeat himself, too. I would suggest other books that compare breeds if not sure on a breed, or get another book on training or puppies. This book is a good intro, but can't stand on its own.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2001
The book was written by a renowned Bichon breeder, which is very impressive. Everything she wrote is true but I wish she went in detail some more as to how to train a puppy...what kind of training to use...i.e., positive reinforcement...etc. I was also hoping she would tackle on problems behavioral problems that one might experience with a bichon. Overall it's a good book if you want a bird's eyeview on this kind of breed. I'm still looking for books that are more in depth with regards to the topic, Bichon Frise.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2005
I have been an AKC breeder of Bichon Frise for five years. We have had a total of 30 healthy puppies. Everyone of our new owners has been given this book. I feel that it has a lot of excellent information about the breed, their care, history and personality. When a family has children, I give them assignments from this book before they take their new puppy home.

It is full of pictures which is great as well.

I order it from Amazon, because their price is lower than the book stores!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2005
This is a compact, well done little book. It always refers to the needs of the bichon, unlike many other publications which give information that could apply to any breed. Barron's has a good reputation for accurateness and completeness and maintains it in this publication.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2015
I only glanced at this book because I bought it for a Bichon owner. I wouldn't have bought it if it didn't seem to offer a cross-section of facts any Bichon owner would like to read. The pictures are exceptionally appealing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
Has good information but not what I was looking for and read
all the reviews etc
Wish it had more details on training a dog to do tricks and on grooming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2011
The book, although small, had very good info on Bichons. It would be a good book for someone thinking about Bichons or someone who has one for a handy reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
The book was fine and informative, just not the info I was wanting at that time. Should have checked out more of the other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse