Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contract Bridge Biddling
No matter what your current level of experience and expertise this easy-on-the-brain book will take you by the hand and lead you through today's acceptable bidding sequences. I learned the game more years ago than I'm willing to admit but times - and standards - change. Unless you want to have your partner constantly offering editorials at the table you'd better keep...
Published on November 10, 2009 by R. K. Buttacavoli

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for beginning bridge players.
I bought the book hoping for more complete set of bidding conventions. This book contains the basics and does them very well. I learned things I hadn't known before even though the book is geared towards beginning players. It's well laid out. It has useful and well thought out exercises in a convenient format. It covers both bidding and play of the cards.

Good...
Published 24 months ago by J. R. Shullaw


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contract Bridge Biddling, November 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
No matter what your current level of experience and expertise this easy-on-the-brain book will take you by the hand and lead you through today's acceptable bidding sequences. I learned the game more years ago than I'm willing to admit but times - and standards - change. Unless you want to have your partner constantly offering editorials at the table you'd better keep abreast of the commonly accepted methods. This book makes that possible in a clear, no-pain format. You can pick it up and put it down at your leisure. The logical arrangement makes it a snap to locate any particular areas of concern. An index might have been helpful but the detailed Table of Contents serves the reader quite well. There is also an Appendix explaining bridge scoring for both duplicate and rubber games and a useful glossary of terms near and dear to all bridge players. Red headliners and bold print draw your eye immediately to important points and the pages have room to make personal notes should you want to. Published by the American Contract Bridge League, this book is an excellent addition to your bridge library. If I could only afford one book, this would be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Series Is Good and Easy to Read, January 7, 2009
By 
Fred Mitchell (Princeton, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
The major drawback to the books in this series is that they are missing what a good reference should have - an index!

Lots of excellent information, quizzes to test understanding, well organized. When you want to refer back to it, you have to hunt through the table of contents and then do some paging.

That said, I own two and will probably add the "Play in the 21st Century".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vital stuff missing, December 12, 2007
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
ACBL is revising its long run four volume "Bridge Series" and the first volume about bidding features some questionable changes and is missing some very useful information.

It is doubtful that novicesshould be told that only 25 points are needed for a 3NT or 4 of a major suit game contract. Beginners need extra points to make up for their lack of card playing skills.

Also, they need 16-18 HCP to open 1NT but should be told that 15-17 may be enough later.

More serious is the lack of strict standards for opening one of a suit. All 13 point hands don't qualify. E.g. Ax-Kxx-QJxx-QJxx should not be opened nor should QJ-QJ-QJ-Axxxxxx. Neither hand has enough quick tricks, which come from combinations of A,K and Q in the same suit. Also, unguarded honor cards should not be counted as full point value, but the author fails to mention any of these concepts stressed by Ch.Goren.

The book lacks any index or indications in the glossary about where to find various consepts and ideas, but which was part of the earlier book.
The pink summary pages was an asset in the previous book but now missing.

The discussion of strong and weak two bids is too superficial.

Aside from the above criticism the book is very attractive and good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for beginning bridge players., February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
I bought the book hoping for more complete set of bidding conventions. This book contains the basics and does them very well. I learned things I hadn't known before even though the book is geared towards beginning players. It's well laid out. It has useful and well thought out exercises in a convenient format. It covers both bidding and play of the cards.

Good book, just not what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catching Up, August 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
Returning to bridge after 25 years, this volume is a great way to catch up on the newer bidding guidelines. Probably just as good to review bidding if you have been playing for a long time or for a beginner. Clear, concise and full of exercises to try out what you have learned. I highly recommend this book for all bridge players. And Amazon delivers it so quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro to Bridge Bidding, July 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
This is a great introduction to bidding in bridge. I had read other books, like Bridge for Dummies, which was okay, but this book simplifies it, yet gives the groundwork for more sophisticated play. The book can also be used as a reference in the future. Each chapter is followed by great exercises, and the book is spiraled so you can completely open to the exercise, and turn the book back and forth to see the explanations for each question. This is definitely the book that every budding bridge player should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic bidding to use, February 3, 2009
By 
Golf & Bridge (Mashpee, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
The latest version of Book 1 in the Audrey Grant series is the best guidance on how to bid using current basic Standard American principles. Too many players and partners get too complicated in their bidding styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bidding In The 21st Century: The Club Series ACBL Bridge, June 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
Very helpful,I like the review practices that set what instructions were given at the back of the chapters. Plan to purchase more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner to Intermediate, January 31, 2009
By 
Jonieta Stone (Scottsdale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
I own this series and have found them extremely helpful. While some reviewers are critical the books don't cover ever aspect of the subject... I found them just right for helping me when I was beginning to play bridge, and as I advanced in my play. Learning to play bridge is a process, it takes time and as I reread these books I understand more and more.

These are MUST HAVE for beginners and intermediate players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bidding in the 21st Century, October 15, 2007
This review is from: Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) (Spiral-bound)
Audrey Grant is absolutely one of the finest writers of Bridge instruction. I have used her books for 6 years and this new revision is again improved from previous editions. The book is for beginners but I can assure you that players of many years can and will benefit from the concepts put forth in her new book.
Dave Drewes ACBL certified teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series)
Bidding in the 21st Century (ACBL Bridge Series) by Audrey Grant (Spiral-bound - January 26, 2007)
$19.95 $17.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.