Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 28, 2001
"Enanitos Verdes" means Green Dwarfs . Well, this excellent band from Argentina certainly is no dwarf in musical terms . The only reason why I can't give this album a full 5 stars is because the album ( issued in 1995 ) lacks some of the depth that they showed in later works .
Having said that , it's only fair to say that "Big Bang" is a great collection of songs , well crafted and executed by a band that knows how to cross the line between power pop and rock'n'roll .
This band has a great plus : the way they play and sing converts
songs that otherwise would sound like obvious musical and lyric clichés into well-developed musical pieces . That's what happens with "Mi primer dia sin ti" , "Cuando habla el corazón" , "Mejor no hablemos de amor" and even "Lamento boliviano" which was a great commercial hit in Latin America at the time of its release.
Also , the Enanitos can really rock and they prove it in "Celdas" and "Bailarina" , for instance .
"HIV" is a fast-paced , but not for that less emotional composition about AIDS . Giving the seriousness of the issue , one would probably expect a slower song , but the Enanitos fully deliver the message in a different way .
My favorites are , aside from the already mentioned "Mejor no hablemos de amor" , the bitter/hopeful/philosophical "Yo pagaria" , the lovely fast-paced ballad "Pasaré por ti" and the album's final song , "Estoy dispuesto" , which closes this work beautifully .
It's a shame that this spanish-speaking band will never be popular in the US and other markets due to the language barrier. Along with Soda Stereo , Charly Garcia , Fito Paéz , Spinetta and other great musicins and bands , Argentina has to be proud of being the homeland of the Enanitos Verdes . They are in the musical Big Leagues , period .
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
Este es un gran disco de rock, un clásico latinoamericano. Lástima que la versión que me mandaron es la de una edición llamada "Original Master 2 en 1", la cual venia con Guerra Gaucha, su siguiente producción, pero en esta ocasion vendieron los discos por separado. Aunque las canciones son las mismas, esta edición sencilla viene sin cancionero. Ojo con eso.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2000
Los Enanitos Verdes se han convertido en uno de mis grupos favoritos del rock en espanol. Estos Argentinos han ayudado el rock en espanol a crecer y a ser mas conocido por todo el mundo al igual que Mana. El estilo de los Enanos es bastante refrescante y bueno para todos los que sepan disfrutar la buena musica. "Mejor no hablemos de amor" esta entre mis preferidas al igual que "Lamento Boliviano" Se los recomiendo.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Este es solamente uno de sus mejores albums y una vez mas como siempre Marciano y el resto de la Banda nos deleitan con el mas fino Rock en Español que pueda existir. Y que el Rock viva por los siglos de los siglos. Amen!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2002
Los Enanitos son gigantes de la musica Pop en Espanol. Admito que este disco fue mi primer disco en Espanol, y lo escuche muchas veces mas que los demas discos en mi coleccion de musica espanola. Por eso, debo decir que tengo cierto prejuicio en su favor. Dicho esto, aun creo que este disco es realmente superior. Planetario es buen disco tambien, y Traicion Acustica casi puede igualar a Big Bang. Nectar no esta mal, pero Big Bang, Traicion Acustica y Planetario son absolutamente inolvidables. Recomiendo el album Nectar, pero empiece con Big Bang, luego Tracion Acustica y para terminar, Nectar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2000
Although they had previously scored some hits, this is the album that made Los Enanitos Verdes a household name outside of their native Argentina. A decent pop/rock record that includes the minor hits "Mejor No Hablemos de Amor" ("Let's Not Talk About Love"), "Mi Primer Dia Sin Ti" ("My First Day Without You") and the perennial Rock en Español favorite "Lamento Boliviano". Recommended for fans of The Outfield, Men At Work, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2007
De los Enanitos Verdes, me gusta casi de todo. A veces prefiero lo viejo y a veces prefiero lo nuevo. No cabe duda de que su música ha ido evolucionando a lo largo de los años. Este CD, Big Bang, es buenísimo y parece bien equilibrado. A mi parecer, viene de la Edad de Oro de su carrera. Quiero resaltar cuatro temas: Mejor no hablemos de amor, Mi primer día sin ti (una balada muy linda), Celdas y Bailarina. Qué puedo decir? VIVA EL ROCK! Los Enanitos son súper grosos!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2007
Este es un disco extraordinario. Me lo acabo de comprar en Mexico, luego de haberlo tenido mucho tiempo en cassette, y es absolutamente recomendable. Es un disco bastante balanceado y con una produccion excelente. Yo pagaria, piel de nopal, mi primer dia sin ti, cuando habla el corazon y estoy dispuesto son unas obras de arte. No tienen idea cuanto estoy disfrutando mientras escribo este comentario y escucho el disco. Comprenlo ya!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2004
I love los enanitos, but this cd just didn't shine as much for me. The hit song and one other stands out, but the rest are pretty forgettable. It seems that this album may have been too hasitly put together unlike their others. Of course I still liked the cd, but it lacks the same feeling that the others have so it kind of sits in the back of my cd collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2002
Debo decir, antes de todo, que este disco fue mi primer album en Espanol, y por eso tengo cierto prejuicio en su favor. Los Enanitos son gigantes de le musica Pop en Espanol. Tengo cuatro discos de este grupo, incluidos unos en concierto. Todos son buenos, y la variacion entre los discos es increible. Planetarion tiene un sonido distinto a Big Bang, y Traicion Acustica es casi mejor que este disco.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.