Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Beach is Most fun sports game for Wii so Far
I just bought this game. This game is simply astounding, way to go to the company that made this. Beach Volleyball and Cricket are my favorites so far. Amazing Volleyball dynamics, you feel right in the game. Mostly I have played this game as a single player but when my friends have come over they love it as well. I think the part that is better than Wii Sports more...
Published on June 25, 2008 by Larry David

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, nice options, but lazy gameplay
This game shows it's commitment w/overall intuitive controls considering the restriction of the wii ability & the best ideas: as little players as possible so feels more 1st person & when there's only 2, you control them both. it has different levels of play (have to be unlocked through play), you can decide how many points/goals to win a game, the length of time of a...
Published on August 19, 2008 by Layna S


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Beach is Most fun sports game for Wii so Far, June 25, 2008
By 
Larry David (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I just bought this game. This game is simply astounding, way to go to the company that made this. Beach Volleyball and Cricket are my favorites so far. Amazing Volleyball dynamics, you feel right in the game. Mostly I have played this game as a single player but when my friends have come over they love it as well. I think the part that is better than Wii Sports more challenging, It's an excellent Party Game! It's more interactive than Wii sports. I strongly recommend this game, and at $30 cheaper than most Wii games and certainly more fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, nice options, but lazy gameplay, August 19, 2008
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game shows it's commitment w/overall intuitive controls considering the restriction of the wii ability & the best ideas: as little players as possible so feels more 1st person & when there's only 2, you control them both. it has different levels of play (have to be unlocked through play), you can decide how many points/goals to win a game, the length of time of a game for all the games & other options. There is a skill point system overall tally for each of the 6 sports to earn you to higher difficulties & stickers like awards like birdie blitz & soaring eagle for disc golf, palms of steel for volleyball, long ranger for soccer, enforcer for bocce (hitting the jack). You can decide left/right handed, good amount of customization of your characters. Each time they win, they never speak, so they do an old school 90s dance, one even looks like from Rerun (show What's Happening). The only sounds are boring background looped music beat & cheering crowd which helps a lot though wish there was more. There are also sounds from the remote, say every time you hit the volleyball.
Volleyball - you control both players on your team, good control, good timing, one of the best volleyball on wii considering the constraint of control, how hard you swing actually makes a difference.
Disc golf - good controls, good aim, 3 different ways to throw, painfully dull courses Super monkey ball's disc golf has better course.
Bocce - good control/aim, how hard you swing makes no difference, much faster & more interesting then slow moving shuffleboard on game party.
Cricket - like baseball on wii sports, good controls, I had no problems, how hard you swing makes a difference, I found it pretty good, one of the best & not too slow watching the players move on their own after you throw/bowl or at bat.
Football - hard to learn control scheme since not as intuitive, little buggy as well, though great idea only 2 players per game & cute
Soccer - four players on each team, you don't control the goalie, just a lot of passing & deciding when to shoot for goal, boring.
None of these will get your heart rate going like wii sports except on a arcade game level.
I think this title went in the right direction, but needed more polishing & new wii motion plus should really help things next year for the new titles. Adding the wii board as an option for sport games should also be an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the disc golf lovers, July 3, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
So I bought this game only because of the disc golf. I dislike the other games anyway so in fairness this review is about the use of the disc golf game not the other games in this package.

The controls could not be more straight forward, you throw as you would think and you just hold down the A button, judging the distance and power take some getting used to, but so goes real life. The harder you throw in reality the harder the simulation throws, even tilting the controler at an angle makes a little tiny difference on right and left gliding dics.

The only problems I have found is there is only one course with 18 holes. I can't wait for a multi-course disc game to come out.

Now my pervious review stated that you could not flick throw, I was wrong. This weekend I got drunk and pressed a button and I was flick throwing and hammer throwing. So leave your character in the hand you play with and press the (1) button. Once for flick and twice for hammer. It works pretty well. For right handed players (which I am) a back hand will fade right and a flick will fade left, a hammer goes straight.

I give this game 4 stars because nothing is perfect and it's a lot of fun. Have your TV up high and stand up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay if you just want to sit on the couch, July 22, 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
We rented this game before buying, and I'm really glad that we did. Our family really loves playing live volleyball and other beach games. We were pretty disappointed.

First we went to create our character. The graphics for creating the character made it difficult to understand what menu items went to what.

After taking forever to create our character (which, no matter what you did to it looked like a fat, football player), we headed to the volleyball game. The instructions were adequate. We started the game, and it was okay, but not very physical. It was probably the best of all the games we tried. The music that played throughout had a beach feel, but became verrry annoying. We ended up turning the volume way down.

We tried cricket. Aside from not understanding the rules because, lets face it, I'm American, I had a big problem with the game responding to my commands. I would swing, and the game would not recognize my swing. I would throw (excuse me, bowl) the ball and the game would not respond very well. Compared with Wii Sports golf and baseball, cricket was very slow and clunky.

We had the same type of experience with the frisbee golf.

We tried soccer. I think soccer would be a fun arcade-type game. It has a lot of different moves that seemed fun with the remote, but it was not much of a physical game.

We were so frustrated with the other games that we didn't even try them.

Overall I would say that the games weren't realistic, but I could understand how an experienced gamer might like some of the games for arcade-type play. We wanted physical activity. I think we'll buy a different game for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Beach Sports for Wii, July 30, 2008
By 
M. Garner (Sterling Heights, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
The Wii Big Beach Sports game has given us many hours of entertainment. We love football and soccer the most. We still haven't quite figured out the rules for Cricket! The Disc Golf is a little to easy. Overall I'm sure most family's will find this game enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A set of Sports Games that is just about right..., July 14, 2008
By 
Will Hoyt "WillOhio" (East Liverpool, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This set of games is perfectly priced and all are easy to play and yet provide a certain amount of depth that can provide a competitive challenge for those so desiring some competition with their friends or family members.

The game starts off with providing the (now) standard function of creating and customizing a character for yourself(though this is not necessary as there are a selection of stock characters to use).

Then it is right to the Game selection menu. With a very eclectic offering of sports games all played at the Beach. Bocce, Cricket, Volleyball, DiscGolf, Soccer and American Football.

Each of these games has had some of the rules simplified or streamlined for easy and quick play. Football has taken some ideas from the backyard varient. In that it is 2 on 2, and you and your teammate alternate as Quarterback. There are no Extra Points, but an Interception counts as points for the team whom caused it. Volleyball also scores points against the team whom does not return the ball, whether it was their serve or not.

Each game usually has a variety of easy to set up functions at the beginning as well as picking from Single play to multi-play. For example, you can set the Quarter and field lengths for Football. You can select between Traditional(furthest from jack goes) and Simple(set turn order) for Bocce.

Score or timed games (Soccer). # of holes for DiscGolf & # of sets for Volleyball.

The Wii controller setup is very straight forward and for the most part intuitive. For example, you flick the controller up to jump in the air in Volleyball, and thrust it down to spike the ball...just as you would for real. And Bocce uses the same forward motion as Bowling. Discgolf is exactly like throwing a frisbee. Cricket used the motions you would use in Baseball.

We rank this game quite highly in our family and friends game group, ranging in ages from 6 to 50+. There is a little something for everyone. And everyone will have a good time playing the games.

Kudos to the designers for offering games you would rarely see in a video game (speaking of Bocce, Disc Golf and Cricket). All of which are excellent versions of each.
Though I am a little confused about the inability to play as Teams in Bocce (its every man for himself in multiplayer). And the sameness of the holes in Discgolf was a little bit of a letdown.

Undocumented buttons and controls serve as a surprise in some of the games (like the ability to hit the ball back in one hit in Volleyball... and no instructions on what button combination will intercept the football...

Still, this should be a must buy for anyone looking for a unique collection of accessible and fun games for your parties and family gatherings.

Wait till you get into some multi-player Volleyball matches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lotsa Fun, July 30, 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is a lot of fun. The reason I don't give it 5 stars is that some of the moves are limited/strange and don't seem to correspond with what is happening on the screen. Also, it was difficult to choose players and make teams. Once all that is figured out, it's a lot of fun. The games are easy to learn for the most part so younger players can pick up the moves quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good party or 'motion' game., August 25, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Creating players is not very intuitive (Mii's are not used for whatever reason), but the games themselves are not bad.

The games don't offer the most control over how you throw or swing...but playing bocce ball with a group is a lot of fun. Disc Golf is the same

The rest of the games are just ok though, as the interface is not exactly accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for all/most the family, March 31, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
A great game; FOR ITS TARGET AUDIENCE. If you are 8-10 years old you will probably love it... if not it might be a bit easy and repatative.

If you can grab four friends to play a game of cricket or 9-18 holes of disc golf; then people of any age will love it.

Fun for ALL the familly...well maybe not the Emo teenager locked in thier room..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun! Fun! Fun!, July 1, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is great! Overall I am extremely impressed with the Nintendo Wii and the interactivity of the games. I get a great workout with this game and have found wall ball to be my favorite game. The con that I have found at this point is that you have more options at game play when there are 2 players instead of just one. With 1 player you have to go up to the other kids in the playground and ask them to play with you, which I really didn't enjoy. But that notwithstanding, this game is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii
Big Beach Sports - Nintendo Wii by THQ (Nintendo Wii)
$15.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.