Customer Reviews


402 Reviews
5 star:
 (187)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


185 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the price fool you - this is great music
I had pretty low expectations, given the price. For their genre, each track is good, but if you think Christmas music was invented sometime last century and is only in English, as one of the other reviewers does, you'll be disappointed. "Santa Baby" it's not. If you want your Christmas music less baby boomer saccharine sweet and more rooted in the past millennium of...
Published on November 23, 2012 by B. R. Fox

versus
47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good music, but missing composer ID3 tags
Big Christmas Box is good music at a great price.
But I was disappointed to find that the composer ID3 tags were missing, even for standard composers such as JS Bach or Tschaikovsky. Had the composer ID3 tags been included, I would have rated it higher. I would like to see Amazon insure composer ID3 tags are included for at least all classical music.
Published on November 17, 2012 by William C. Brantley


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

185 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the price fool you - this is great music, November 23, 2012
By 
B. R. Fox (Ridgecrest, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
I had pretty low expectations, given the price. For their genre, each track is good, but if you think Christmas music was invented sometime last century and is only in English, as one of the other reviewers does, you'll be disappointed. "Santa Baby" it's not. If you want your Christmas music less baby boomer saccharine sweet and more rooted in the past millennium of Christian tradition, then read on. Each sub-album is worth a short review of its own:

1) (#1-26) Canterbury Choristers/Bornand Music Box: The choir gives a fine performance of a number of classic carols. I wasn't a huge fan of the music box, my wife, even less so. I've deselected them in my player.

2) (#27-51, 95-114, 173-189) Deller, et al: Full disclosure - I wrote my undergrad thesis on the decline of the countertenor voice. I sang first tenor in a men's glee club. I think the revival of the countertenor voice (started in large part by Deller) and historically informed performances more broadly are great things. If you think a male alto is cringe-worthy, some of these tracks are not for you. Most of them are ensemble pieces, some of them do feature Deller. Many of the works performed are Medieval, Renaissance or early Baroque, which is not exactly "A Holly Jolly Christmas" toe tapper. Having said that and my preferences not being exactly the center of the bell curve, I liked the Deller Consort performances a good deal.

#3) (#52-62) Martha Schlamme: Solo contralto performance of classic French Christmas carols. Nice tone, decent recording quality.

#4) (#63-80) Erich Kunz, Mozartsangerknaben et al: Traditional German language Christmas music, mostly choral with soli. Good performance, good recording.

#5) (#81-94) Cathedral of St. John the Divine Cathedral Choir. Warm sounding, big choir performances of classic English language carols with organ backing. Perhaps the most accessible recording on the collection. Good performance, good recording.

#6) (#115-122) I Soloisti di Zagreb & Antonio Janigro: The Corelli Christmas Concerto (#115) is wonderful, with lovely Baroque balance. The three Bach Chorales, all performed instrumentally, are also very nice. The Haydn/Leopold Mozart (authorship is in doubt) Toy Symphony is a bit harder to listen to, and earned the wife's playlist veto. The Corelli Pastoral Symphony (122) returns of the balanced sound of the Christmas Concerto. This recording was from a 1960 recording, which was reviewed as follows in Gramophone magazine at the time:

"Antonio Janigro's Zagreb group play this "Eighteenth Century Concert" quite neatly and stylishly, though the real hero of the Italian pieces is undoubtedly Anton Heiller, the organist and harpsichord player who has often been heard in London's Royal Festival Hall. It so happened that these items were recorded in Vienna, Heiller's home town, and he was brought along to play continuo. His very musical and imaginative realization of the figured basses is a joy to the ear, and although he is a composer of note it is pleasant to confirm that he does not "compose" his realizations in a manner that makes his contribution obtrusive or over-emphasized; indeed one is so wrapped up in the music that Heiller's fine playing only makes itself felt after the event--a real tribute to his musicianship.
Collectors who want two "Christmas Concertos" on one disc will find performances that they can enjoy time and time again, and they will doubtless sympathise with the bemused printer who has misprinted "Corelli" for "Torelli" on the label for side 2. The spurious but still delightful Toy Symphony receives a lighthearted but well-rehearsed performance, and the Bach Chorale Preludes (though a little out of place in this context) are quite well arranged and played. The thirteen members of this group are well balanced both internally and via the microphone."

#7 (#123-129): Children's Choir of Radio Prague: These may grow on me, but Czech Christmas music accompanied by a high, reedy bagpipe isn't my favorite by any means.

#8) (#148-160): Hayes & Boardman: Solo tenor accompanied by piano, performing works from a variety of traditions. Decent recording, not my favorite.

#9) (#161-172): Coertse et al performance of J.S. Bach's Magnificat, BWV 243: Decent performance, so-so older recording. It's possible that most of the other recordings are equally poor, but being more familiar with Magnificat from other Magnificat recordings I own, it's easier to hear the comparatively muddier sound. That, and Bach just demands more precise sound than some of the bigger choirs recorded in rich echo chambers.

#10) (#190-213): Utah S.O. Performing Tchaikovsky's "The Nutcracker": True holiday classic, good performance, good recording.

#11) (#214-226): Heiller performing Bach Chorales on the organ. I'm no organ aficionado, but this is a good performance and a good recording.

#12) (#227-279): English Chamber Orchestra & Johannes Somary perform G.F. Handel's Messiah Oratorio: This performance is a nice middle ground between the huge choir recordings of Messiah, performing it as though it were Brahms without any baroque airiness, and the one-voice per part HIP recordings. The soloists all do a creditable job, and despite being a 1970's recording, the sound quality is also pretty good. If you wanted a physical CD of this recording alone, it would cost $13 Handel: Messiah.

#13) (#280): Charleton Heston reading the Christmas story, from Luke. Not music, but nevertheless, an unabashed conclusion that this is a Christmas album, not a generic Holiday album.

I have to agree that not having the ID3 Tags on the composer is an annoyance, but given the price, and the fact that I have to re-format most ID3 composer tags as it is (lest I have 10 permutations of Bach, J.S. rather than one) it's something I can easily overlook and still give 5 stars.

This is well worth the buy, perhaps the best bang for the buck I've seen on Amazon (excepting the free content, of course).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good music, but missing composer ID3 tags, November 17, 2012
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
Big Christmas Box is good music at a great price.
But I was disappointed to find that the composer ID3 tags were missing, even for standard composers such as JS Bach or Tschaikovsky. Had the composer ID3 tags been included, I would have rated it higher. I would like to see Amazon insure composer ID3 tags are included for at least all classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ho-Lee Cow! I may not need to buy Christmas music again for the rest of my life!, November 13, 2012
By 
ARH (The Shadow of the Tetons) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
Talk about an amazing deal! The Nutcracker, the complete Messiah, and a wide assortment of other Christmas music on this album is music to my ears. It's a fabulous selection of background music...it will help set the holiday mood, or it will once Thanksgiving is over. We celebrate holidays one at a time at our place.

Though the performers are not necessarily internationally known (as far as I know), the performances are all solid and extremely listenable. And, now I won't have to work up any Christmas playlists for the holidays. All I need to do is choose this album and hit shuffle.
<|:-o> (=my version of Santa)

Do you realize that this $0.99 deal works out to just less than $0.04 per song!? Wow! WAIT - my math was off, that's not 4 cents/song, it's just less than 0.4 cents per song!

Well, it did take a while to download, but that's a small price to pay for this mega-Christmas album.

Don't miss out on this deal.

Talk about a bargain! Wow! Even if you listen to only half of the songs it's totally worth the deal.

5+ stars for price alone, 4-5 stars for music. How can you beat this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete tracking information!, November 13, 2012
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
Music Box of Christmas Carols; Music Boxes from the Bornand Collection
Canterbury Choristers* <chorus>; Dr. Newell B. Wright* <conductor>
001 Carol of the Advent (traditional)
002 It Came Upon a Midnight Clear (Richard Willis)
003 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy)
004 Rise Up, Shepherds, and Follow (traditional)
005 Silent Night, Holy Night (Franz Gruber)
006 Joseph Dearest, Joseph Mine (traditional)
007 Ave Maria (Franz Schubert)
008 Angels We Have Heard on High (traditional)
009 O Sanctissima (traditional)
010 What Child is This? (traditional)
011 O Come O Come Emmanuel (traditional)
012 The First Noel (William Sandys)
013 Joy to the World (Isaac Watts)
014 Adeste Fideles (Frederick Oakeley)
015 Adeste Fideles (Frederick Oakeley)
016 Away in a Manger (traditional)
017 O Tannenbaum (traditional)
018 The Carol of the Angels (John Jacob Niles)
019 Chimes of the Trinity (traditional)
020 Good King Wenceslas (John Mason Neale)
021 Jingle Bells (James Pierpont)
022 I Wonder As I Wander (John Jacob Niles)
023 O Little Town of Bethlehem (Lewis Henry Redner)
024 The First Noel (William Sandys)
025 Auld Lang Syne (Robert Burns)
026 Deck the Hall (traditional Welsh)

Alfred Deller Christmas Carols, Disc 1
Alfred Deller* ; Maurice Bevan* ; April Cantelo* ; Desmond Dupré* ; Gerald English* ; Stanley Taylor* ; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>; Alfred Deller* <conductor>
027 Pat-a-pan (Bernard de la Monnoye)
028 Hymn: We Three Kings of Orient Are (John Henry Hopkins, Jr.)
029 I Saw Three Ships Come Sailing In (Traditional)
030 The Coventry Carol (Traditional)
031 It Came Upon The Midnight Clear (Richard Willis)
032 Good King Wenceslas (John Mason Neale)
033 Once in Royal David's City (Henry Gauntlett)
034 Rocking (Hajej, nynjej) (Traditional Czech)
035 The First Nowell (John Stainer)
036 Christmas carol: God Rest on You Merry, Gentlemen (Traditional)
037 Wither's Rocking Hymn (Ralph Vaughan Williams)
038 Silent Night (Franz Gruber)
039 Wassail Song (Traditional)
040 Dormi Jesu! (John Rutter)
041 Boar's Head Carol (Traditional)
042 Past Three A Clock (George Ratcliffe Woodward)
043 Lullay My Liking (Gustav Holst)
044 Adam Lay Ybounden (Traditional)
045 Christmas-play carol: Herrick's Carol (Traditional)
046 Angelus ad Virginem (Traditional)
047 Carol: The Holly and the Ivy (Traditional)
048 O Little One Sweet (Traditional)
049 Processional song: Song of the Nuns of Chester (Traditional)
050 Winter-Rose (Traditional)
051 Carol: In Dulci Jubilo (Traditional)

Chansons de Noel
Ensemble Vocal De Beauvais* <chorus>; Martha Schlamme* <soprano>; Ruggero Gerlin ; Edward Vito
052 Un flambeau, Jeannette, Isabelle (Émile Blémont)
053 Voyage (traditional French)
054 Noel nouvelet (traditional French)
055 Noel (Louis-Claude Daquin)
056 Boutons nos habit les plus beaux (traditional French)
057 Le March des Rois (traditional French)
058 Carillon (Jean-François Dandrieu)
059 Noel provencal (traditional French)
060 Noel de Strasbourg (traditional French)
061 Fanne courage, le dibale a mort (Claude Balbastre)
062 Noel poitevin (traditional French)

German Christmas Songs
Erich Kunz* ; Mozartsangerknaben* <chorus>; Vienna Volksoper Orchestra* <orchestra>;
Erich Swarzbauer* <conductor>
063 O du Froliche (traditional)
064 In dulci jubilo (Michael Praetorius)
065 Weinactsglocken ("Susser die Glocken nie klingen") (Jürgen Knuth)
066 Christkindl Wiegenlied ("Es wird scho glei dumpa") (cxxxxxxx)
067 Die blume Jesses ("Est ist ein Reis enstprungen") (Michael Praetorius)
068 Dirtenied an der krippe ("Still, still, weil's Kindlein schlafen will") (traditional)
069 Das Christkind ("Alle Jahre wieder") (Friedrich Silcher)
070 Ein altes Marienlied ("Maria durch ein Dornwald ging") (traditional)
071 Das himmlische Alleluja ("Es hat sich halt eröffnet") (traditional)
072 Die Kinder bei der Krippe ("Ihr Kinderlein kommet") (Johann Abraham Peter Schulz)
073 Christkindleins Wiegenlied ("O Jesulein zart") (Samuel Scheidt)
074 Die frohe Kunde ("Vom Himmel Hoch") (Johann Sebastian Bach)
075 Kindelwiegen ("Josef, lieber Josef mein") (traditional)
076 Susani (traditional)
077 "O Tannenbaum" (Ernst Anschütz)
078 Maria auf dem Berge ("Auf dem Berge, da geht der Wind") (traditional)
079 Geistliches Echolied ("Als ich bei meine Schefen wacht") (xxxxxxxxxx)
080 Die heilige Nacht (Stille Nacht) (Franz Gruber)

Christmas Eve at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine
Cathedral of St. John the Divine Cathedral Choir* <chorus>; Richard Westerburg* <conductor>;
Cathedral Boys Choir* <chorus>; David Pizzaro* <conductor>
081 O Come, All Ye Faithful (John Francis Wade)
082 The Shepherd's Carol (William Billings)
083 Organ with state trumpets (Improv)
084 While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks (traditional)
085 Entrance Hymn: "Trisagion" (Victoria)
086 The Beatitudes (Byzantine chant)
087 Hark, the Herald Angels Sing (Felix Mendelssohn)
088 Ninefold Alleluia, Announcement of the Holy Gospel, Organ Respond (traditional)
089 Sanctus and Benedictus (traditional)
090 Communion Anthem: "To Thy Heavenly Banquet" (traditional)
091 "Hodie Christus Natus Est" (Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck)
092 "O Magnum Mysterium" (Tomas Luis de Victoria)
093 Organ improvisation (Improvisation)
094 The First Nowell (traditional)

Christmas Carols, Disc 2
Mary Thomas* ; Alfred Deller* ; Eileen Poulter* ;
Wilfred Brown* ; Gerald English* ; Maurice Bevan* ;
Desmond Dupré* ; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>; Alfred Deller* <conductor>
095 Deck the Halls (Traditional)
096 Hark! the Herald Angels Sing (Felix Mendelssohn)
097 Lute-book Lullaby (Traditional)
098 Ye Shepherds (Traditional)
099 Joy to the World (Lowell Mason)
100 Down in Yon Forest (Traditional)
101 Carol tune: People Look East (Traditional)
102 Blessed Be That Maid Mary (Traditional)
103 Sir Christmas (Traditional)
104 Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming (Traditional)
105 O Come, All Ye Faithful (John Francis Wade)
106 The Twelve Days of Christmas (Traditional)
107 Here We Come A-Wassailing (Traditional)
108 All My Heart This Night Rejoices (Johann Georg Ebeling)
109 Joseph Dearest (Song of the Crib) (Traditional)
110 I Saw Three Ships Come Sailing In (Traditional)
111 How Far Is It To Bethlehem? (Geoffrey Shaw)
112 The Birds (Traditional)
113 Elizabethan popular tune: The Old Year Now (Greensleeves) (Traditional)
114 A Merry Christmas (Traditional)

18th Century Christmas
I Soloisti di Zagreb* <orchestra>; Antonio Janigro* <conductor>
115 Concerto Grosso, Op.6, No. 8, "Christmas" (Arcangelo Corelli)
116 Three Chorales: Fro, Heaven Above to Earth I Come (JS Bach)
117 Three Chorales: Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring (JS Bach)
118 Three Chorales: Praise God, the Lord, ye Sons of Men (JS Bach)
119 Toy Symphony : I: Allegro (Franz Joseph Haydn)
120 Toy Symphony: II: Menuetto - Trio - Menuetto (Franz Joseph Haydn)
121 Toy Symphony : III: Finale (Franz Joseph Haydn)
122 Pastoral Concerto for the Nativity, Op 8, No. 6 (Giuseppe Torelli)

Children's Choir of Radio Prague* <chorus>; Ensemble Pro Arte Antique of Prague* <orchestra>; Dr. Bohumil Kulinski* <conductor>
123 Jak jai krasne (How Beautiful You Are)/Pujdem spolu do Betlema (Together We'll Go To Bethlehem)/Nastal nam den vesely (A happy day began for us)/Rada bych vedela (I would like to know)/Nad Betleman hvezdicka (A star above Bethlehem)/Pastryi (The Shepherds)/Snih bily pada (While snow is falling) (Czech traditional)
124 Vesele vanocni hody (Merry Christmas holidays)/Co to znamena (What does it mean)/Ukolebavka Jezultku (Sleep, slumber)/Hajej nynej/Slyste, slyste pastuskove (Hear ye, little shepherds) (Czech traditional)
125 Nesem vam noviny (We bring thee tidings)/Vstavej Janku (Get up, Johnny)/Vanocni zvony (Christmas bells)/Pospeame (Let's hurry)/Vshuru bratri mili (Arise, dear brethren)/Eidli, fidli (let's play the fiddle)/Hraji dudy (The bagpipes are playing)/zadudej dudacku (Play, bagpiper)/Narodil se Kristus Pan (Christ the Lord has risen) (Czech traditional)
126 Warod nocnej cixzy (In the still of the night)/Aniol pasterzom mowil' (The shepherds heard the angels)/Hej, hej, lilija (Blossoming of the lily) (Czech traditional)
127 Prybiezeli do Belejem (Shepherds came to Bethlehem)/Nismasz, ci niemasz (Thou has naught)/Triumfy krola niebieskiego (Triumphs, heralding the Kings of Heaven) (Czech traditional)
128 Bog sie rodzi (God is born)/Gdy sie Chrystus rodzi (When Christ is born)/Dlaczegoz dzisiaj wsrod nocy dnieje (Why of all days, tonight it dawns) (Czech traditional)
129 Lulajze Jezuniu (Sleep, Infant Jesus)/W Betlejem miescie (In the town of Bethlehem)/Hey, bracia! (Shepherds, are you sleeping?) (Czech traditional)

Christmas for the Nativity, Disc 3
130 Gymel (Guillelmus Monachus)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
131 Nowell, nowell: Tidings true
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
132 Sanctus (Anonymous)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
133 Blessed be Thou, Heavenly Queen (King V Henry)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
134 Qui natus est (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
135 Burden and Carol (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
136 Nova! nova! (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
137 Angelus ad virginem (instr.) (Anonymous)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
138 Hail, Mary full of grace (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
139 In die nativitas (Richard Smert)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
140 There is no rose of such virtue (Traditional)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
141 Kyrie (John Dunstable)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
142 Quid petis o fili (Richard Pygott)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
143 Carol: I saw (Anonymous)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
144 Nowell, nowell: Out of your sleep (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
145 Fauxbourdon (instr.) (Guillelmus Monachus)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
146 Quam pulchra es (John Dunstable)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>

Christmas Carols
Roland Hayes* <tenor>; Reginald Boardman* <artist>
147 Sleep My Little One
148 D'ou Viens-tu, Bergere
149 Waken O Shepherds
150 Twas in the Moon of Winter-time
151 Weigenlied
152 bKing Herod and the Cock
153 O Elijah, Prophet Great
154 Die Heilge Joseph Singt
155 The Glory Manger
156 Three Wise Men to Jerusalem Came
157 Go Tell It On the Mountain
158 The First Noel
159 O Come All Ye Faithful
160 Stille Nacht, Helige Nacht

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH: MAGNIFICAT IN D, BWV 243
Mimi Coertse, soprano; Margaret Sjöstedt, soprano; Hilde Rössl-Majdan, contralto; Anton Dermota, tenor; Frederick Guthrie, bass; VIENNA STATE OPERA ORCHESTRA AND CHOIR; Felix Prohaska, conductor
161. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Chorus
162. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Aria
163. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Aria
164. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Chorus
165. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Aria
166. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Duet
167. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Chorus
168. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Aria
169. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Aria
170. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Chorus
171. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Chorus
172. Magnificat In D, BWV 243: Chorus

Christmas Music for the Nativity, Disc 4
173 Motet (à 4): De Nativitate Domine (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
174 Lauda: Ave Maria (Giacomo Fogliano)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
175 Monody: Decet huius cunctis horis (Jan of Jenstejn)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
176 In Nativitate Domine (à 4) (Pedro de Escobar)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
177 O Regina, Lux Divina (à 3) (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
178 Motet (à 4): Hodie Christus natus est (Giovanni Palestrina)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
179 Motet (à 3): Nesciens mater (Byttering)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
180 Et in terra pax (instr.) (Johannes Ciconia)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
181 Crist and Sainte Marië (Saint Godric)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
182 Sancta Maria (John Dunstable)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
183 Isorythmic motet: O Maria virgo (instr.) (Anonymous)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
184 Gloria (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
185 Introït (à 4): Puer natus (Heinrich Isaac)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
186 Foeno iacere (instr.) (Thomas Stoltzer)
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>
187 Maria Zart, von edler Art (Ludwig Senfl)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
188 Motet (à 3): Beata Progenies (Leonel Power)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>
189 Alleluya Psallat (Anonymous)
Robert Tear* <Tenor>; Honor Sheppard* <Soprano>; Mark Deller* <tenor>;
Alfred Deller* <tenor>; Maurice Bevan*
Vienna Musica Antiqua* <ensemble orchestra>; René Clemencic* <conductor>; Deller Consort* <ensemble orchestra>

Nutcracker (Ballet), Op.71
Utah Symphony Orchestra* <orchestra>; University of Utah Chorus* <chorus>; Maurice Abravanel* <conductor>
190 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Overture
191 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 1, No. 1: The Christmas Tree
192 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 1, No. 2: March
193 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 1, No. 3: Little Galop. Entrance of the Guests
194 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 1, No. 4: Drosselmeyer's entrance. Dance Scene. Distribution of Presents
195 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 1, No. 5: Scene. Grandfather's Dance
196 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 1, No. 6: Guests depart. Children retire to bed. Magi's spell begins
197 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 1, No. 7: Battle between Nutcracker and Mouse King
198 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 2, No. 8: Fir Tree Forest in Winter
199 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 1. Scene 2, No. 9: Waltz of the Snowflakes
200 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 10: The Castle. Kingdom of Sweets
201 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 11: Clara and the Nutcracker appear
202 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 12: Divertissement. Chocolate (Spanish Dance)
203 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 12: Divertissement. Coffee (Arabian Dance)
204 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 12: Divertissement. Tea (Chinese Dance)
205 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 12: Divertissement. Trepak (Russian Dance)
206 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 12: Divertissement. Dance of the Mirlitons (Reed Pipes)
207 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 12: Divertissement. Mother Gigogne and the Tumblers
208 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 13: Waltz of the Flowers
209 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 14: Pas de deux
210 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 14a: Variation I, Tarantella
211 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 14b: Variation II, Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
212 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 14c: Coda
213 Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71: Act 2, No. 15: Final Waltz and Apotheosis

Johann Sebastian Bach
Orgelbuchlein - Christmas, BWV 603-612
Anton Heiller*
214 Puer natus in Bethlehem, BWV 603
215 Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 604
216 Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich, BWV 605
217 Vom Himmel hoch, da komm' ich her, BWV 606
218 Vom Himmel kam der Engel Schar, BWV 607
219 In dulci jubilo, BWV 608
220 Lobt Gott, ihr Christen, allzugleich, BWV 609
221 Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 610
222 Christum wir sollen loben schon, BWV 611
223 Wir Christenleut', BWV 612
224 Helft mir Gottes Gute preisen, BWV 613
225 Das alte Jahr vergangen ist, BWV 614
226 In dir ist Freude, BWV 615

George Frideric Handel: Messiah
Margaret Price*<soprano>; Yvonne Minton* <contralto>; Alexander Young* <tenor>; Justino Diaz* ; Amor Artis Chorale* <chorus>; Colin Tilney ; English Chamber Orchestra* <orchestra>; Johannes Somary* <conductor>
227 Messiah Part I: Sinfonia: Grave - Allegro moderato 03:07
228 Messiah Part I: Accompanied Recitative: Comfort Ye, Comfort Ye my People 03:48
229 Messiah Part I: Air: Every Valley Shall be Exalted (Tenor) 03:56
230 Messiah Part I: Chorus: And the Glory of the Lord Shall be Revealed 02:37
231 Messiah Part I: Accompanied Recitative: Thus Saith the Lord of Hosts (Bass) 01:29
232 Messiah Part I: Air: But who may Abide the Day of his Coming (Alto) 04:37
233 Messiah Part I: Chorus: And He Shall Purify the Sons of Levi 02:52
234 Messiah Part I: Recitative: Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive (Alto) 00:30
235 Messiah Part I: Air: O Thou that Tellest Good Tidings to Zion (Alto and Chorus) 06:14
236 Messiah Part I: Accompanied Recitative: For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth (Bass) 01:38
237 Messiah Part I: Air: The People that Walked in Darkness (Bass) 04:25
238 Messiah Part I: Chorus: For unto us a Child is Born 04:12
239 Messiah Part I: Pifa: Pastoral Symphony 03:41
240 Messiah Part I: Accompanied Recitative: There were Shepherds Abiding in the Field (Soprano) 00:47
241 Messiah Part I: Recitative: And the Angel said unto them (Soprano) 00:37
242 Messiah Part I: Recitative: And suddenly there was the angel (Soprano) 00:20
243 Messiah Part I: Chorus: Glory to God in the highest 01:40
244 Messiah Part I: Air: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Alto) 05:03
245 Messiah Part I: Recitative: Then Shall the Eyes of the Blind be Opened (Alto) 00:33
246 Messiah Part I: Air: He Shall Feed his Flock (Alto, Soprano) 05:45
247 Messiah Part I: Chorus: His Yoke is Easy 02:46
248 Messiah Part II: Chorus: Behold the Lamb of God 03:00
249 Messiah Part II: Air: He was Despised and Rejected of Men (Alto) 10:54
250 Messiah Part II: Chorus: Surely He Hath Borne our Griefs 03:14
251 Messiah Part II: Chorus: And with his Stripes we are Healed 01:3
252 Messiah Part II: Chorus: All we like Sheep have Gone Astray 03:30
253 Messiah Part II: Accompagnato: All they that see him (Tenor) 00:45
254 Messiah Part II: Chorus: He Trusted In God 02:02
255 Messiah Part II: Accompanied Recitative: Thy Rebuke Hath Broken his Heart (Tenor) 01:53
256 Messiah Part II: Arioso: Behold, and see (Tenor) 01:45
257 Messiah Part II: Accompanied Recitative: He was Cut off out of the Land of the Living 00:23
258 Messiah Part II: Air: But Thou Didst not Leave his Soul in Hell (Tenor) 02:38
259 Messiah Part II: Chorus: Lift up your Heads 03:13
260 Messiah Part II: Recitative: Unto which of the Angels said he at Any Time (Tenor) 00:19
261 Messiah Part II: Chorus: Let all the Angels of God Worship him 01:17
262 Messiah Part II: Air: Thou art Gone up on High (Alto) 03:19
263 Messiah Part II: Chorus: The Lord Gave the Word 01:07
264 Messiah Part II: Air: How Beautiful are the Feet of them (Soprano) 03:00
265 Messiah Part II: Chorus: Their Sound is Gone out into all Lands 01:14
266 Messiah Part II: Air: Why do the Nations so Furiously Rage Together (Bass) 02:58
267 Messiah Part II: Chorus: Let us Break their Bonds Asunder 01:51
268 Messiah Part II: Recitative: He that Dwelleth in Heaven (Tenor) 00:16
269 Messiah Part II: Air: Thou Shalt Break them with a Rod of Iron (Tenor) 02:15
270 Messiah Part II: Chorus: Hallelujah 03:36
271 Messiah Part III: Air: I Know that my Redeemer Liveth (Soprano) 07:17
272 Messiah Part III: Chorus: Since by Man came Death 01:58
273 Messiah Part III: Recitative - secco: Behold, I Tell you a Mystery (Bass) 00:42
274 Messiah Part III: Air: The Trumpet Shall Sound (Bass) 08:44
275 Messiah Part III: Recitative - secco: Then Shall be Brought to Pass (Alto) 00:19
276 Messiah Part III: Duet: O Death, Where is Thy Sting? (Alto, Tenor) 01:10
277 Messiah Part III: Chorus: But Thanks be to God 02:24
278 Messiah Part III: Air: If God is for us (Soprano) 05:29
279 Messiah Part III: Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb / Amen 06:41

280 The Birth of Jesus Christ
As read by Charlton Heston
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely collection!, November 13, 2012
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
The Bach Guild is at it again... This is a wonderful collection of holiday music includes beloved favorites, lesser known gems, and completely unfamiliar, but lovely, works for the holiday season. I particularly enjoyed the Czech selections -- I have no clue what is being sung, but the sentiment and feeling is conveyed so beautifully, in exquisite sound.The last track is worth the price of the album alone, where else will you find Charlton Heston reading "The Birth of Christ." There's truly something here for everyone, and I plan to get a lot of play out of this during the upcoming holiday season. Thanks Bach Guild!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, November 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
Anyone seeking Christmas-related music performed by "Frank Sinatra and Norah Jones and Michael Buble and Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald and Dean Martin and the Jackson 5 and Nat King Cole and the Beach Boys and Elvis", as another purchaser apparently was, will be sorely disappointed by this collection. The Christmas traditions over the centuries have included those performers, certainly, and for many listeners those stars are inseparable from their personal version of Christmas. So be it. I hope that they find what they seek. For me, even though I own recordings by most of those performers (and many by Louis and Ella), mine would be a blue, blue, blue Christmas if it were defined by them.
I am listening to this magnificent collection while typing this review, and I am amazed at what Vanguard has included. It has included Alfred Deller and the Deller Consort's complete Christmas recordingsAlfred Deller: The Complete Vanguard Classics Recordings: Music For The Christmas Season, the "Canterbury Choristers" of Utah's albumA Music Box Of Christmas Carols, Anton Heiller's performance of Bach's Christmas organ chorales (BWV 603 to 615), the Nutcracker, much of Handel's Messiah, and quite a bit more. As these are easily rearranged MP3's, one can choose what one will and ignore or delete the rest. I have included links to other issues of some of this material so that the reader can appreciate the value of the collection and so that the reader can see reviews of those collections by people who know more about these recordings than I do.
I do wish that more people could be open to the beauty of Alfred Deller's countertenor and his arrangements of at least some of the songs. Even if you can't abide his singing of your most familiar and favorite carols, at least give him a chance with some of the lesser-known songs ("O Little One Sweet" or "Lullay My Liking"), and try some of the Deller Consort recordings ("Lo! How a Rose E'er Blooming" for example). You might find your musical enjoyment broadening.
Amazon again fails in not including composer information, as Amazon often does on these MP3 compilations. Fortunately, the Bach Guild's 11/13/12 review supplies that information.
In summary, while certainly not to everyone's taste, this collection is wonderful, wide, and most welcome. It is a tremendous value, not just for its quantity but also for its quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I deleted 3 of the 13 hours, and it's still 5 star!, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
Yes, there are some songs on this collection you probably won't like- the Deller and Bornand Music Box tracks get a fair number of complaints in the other reviews. But if you like classical Christmas choral music at all, you will find plenty to love in this collection. I ended up deleting about half of the tracks, but still ended up with nearly 10 hours of fantastic Christmas music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Louisiana Purchase, but still a great bargain, November 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
The download will take two hours, if you have a DSL connection of the slowish sort as I do, and you will spend at least that much time merrily correcting typos, ironing out inconsistencies, and adding composers' names where possible -- but never mind; this has got to be one of the greatest bargains of all time.

Well, okay, the Louisiana Purchase and Alaska were better, but if you're not in a position to scoop up vast tracts of land from incompetent or distracted foreign despots, this is the next best thing. Thank you, Amazon, thank you, Bach Guild, and a slightly embarrassed thank you to the hundreds of musicians responsible for these 280 performances, all of whom are effectively working for free. Please don't lay a curse on those of us who, granted, are taking advantage of you but at least appreciate your talent and sacrifice -- drop it on the hydrocephalic mommy who complained that many of the tracks aren't in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality classical, baroque, renaissance Christmas performances, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
I bought this for the Deller Consort and the various affiliations of Alfred Deller. These tracks make up 83 of 280 mp3s in this generous collection. I'd discovered just a handful of the Deller Consort's renaissance vocal works on a long out of print Vanguard box set, "Folk Songs and Minstrelsy". While this collection includes no songs about alehouses, the traditional Christmas subject matter fits their style perfectly. It is renaissance material such as this which distinguishes this compilation from the many that are centered around retreads of Nutcracker tinkling.

This collection may not be for those whose point of reference is "Jingle Bell Rock" or the latest holiday product by Nashville's drug store hatboy of the moment. But for those who appreciate classical, vocal music, or musical history, or those who are simply adventurous, this gigantic set trumps previous years' 99-100-etc. offerings from other labels. The review by B. R. Fox goes into more detail but suffice it to say that this album and the Pink Martini Christmas album will be getting a lot of play around the house this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas classical music awesomeness!!, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Christmas Box (MP3 Music)
If you have any interest in this kind of music (Christmas related classical music) then I would get this collection right now while you still can!! I have been listening to it on shuffle for around an hour or so now and have still not played everything. As to the music itself, it is all great. Quality is wonderful as well. I read some complaints, but honestly I don't know what they were complaining about. Sure, I realise much of these recordings are older, but I prefer that many times when I am listening to older music. It increases the experience. Someone complained there was too much opera music. There is no opera music, that I ran into yet anyway.

Bottom line: If you only like a couple of tracks out of this collection, it is worth the 99 cents!! But to get all the rest too is unbelievable. Thank you Bach Guild. I have several of your collections now (like: Big Baroque Box)and love all of them.

Final advice: BUY THIS COLLECTION!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Big Christmas Box
Big Christmas Box by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album$0.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.