Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 26, 2015
The blu-ray itself is good. I would rate it a 4/5 on video and 4/5 on audio. The movie is very good and most have probably seen it by now. I believe it is one of Adam Sandler's best movies because of him working with the twins in this one. He has his normal crew like he has for all Happy Madison produced movies, but the story is a little different than usual for him. He assumes the father role for a kid who claims to be the child of his roommate (a very young Jon Stewart) who is engaged to be married to a different woman. He tries to pretend to be his father to try and protect his friend's relationship. Having the kid element in the movie is so funny and Sandler is great at working with them (the Sprout twins). I would give the movie a 4/5, I couldn't really give an Adam Sandler movie higher than that but it is one of his best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
it's not easy rasing a child especially if your a deadbeat to begin with. movie made right before 9/11 made me really want to go to new york. good enough for the digital shelf and the dvd came in new conditon. adam sandlers gold line of movies. funny and heart gripping at every other turn with a good ending. personally how stupid do you have to be to adopt your friends kid, that is a good question.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2014
as you all know I love Dylan and Cole Sprouse to death. I love this movie with them in it and this is my all time favorite Adam Sandler movie in the world. this movie is so funny. I love this movie. it's a wonderful movie but it is not for kids, teenager yes and adults but not kids. it's rated pg-13 so I wouldn't let my kids watch it but I would let my teenager watch it if I had kids which I don't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
IF i bought it and its rated 4 or 5 STARS then YOU should WATCH it or READ it. and if your don't end up liking it then you have no sense of good movies so i really don't know how found any of these amazing products
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 1999
My initial impression based on the trailer was that this would be another crass Sandler flick (Sandler is cool, don't get me wrong), but might have potential. I was surprised - It was very good! Adam Sandler adopts a 5-year-old boy to prove to his girlfriend he's ready for the next stage of his life. She dumps him anyway, and Sandler realizes that he doesn't know what he's doing, and so tries to give the kid back. While he's got him, though, they do all sorts of crazy things and have a lot of fun. Rob Schneider provides excellent comic relief, as does Steve Buscemi, who has a cameo in this film. In short, a normally irresponsible man grows up by having to deal with the joys of parenthood. A thumbs-up for heart, and two thumbs up for humor and entertainment! Special features include an HBO First Look which is worthwhile viewing.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2015
Big Daddy sees the beloved Adam Sandler play as Sonny Kaufax, a 32 year old unmotivated, unreliable slacker who's spent most of his adult years trying to avoid adult responsibilities the world brings. Sonny's severe case of Peter Pan syndrome causes his girlfriend, Vanessa to break up with him and leave him.

Upon losing the one person that always had faith in him, Sonny decides to try to prove a way he's ready to mature--and that's where fate steps in. One morning, Sonny wakes up to find a 5 year old, Julian at his apartment. A note comes with him from his mother explaining that she no longer wants to care for Julian and is handing the responsibilities down to Kevin, Sonny's roommate and allegedly the biological father of Julian. Kevin however denies being the father and is unable to care for Julian at the moment due to a business trip he's attending in China.

Sonny, not left with much of a choice, decides to adopt Julian---mainly as a means to try and impress and win back the heart of Vanessa. However, he's disappointed to discover that not only is she NOT impressed with him adopting a kid, but that she's already gotten with someone else who seems to be much more mature than Sonny and has his life figured out with a 5 Year Plan. Impressive.....right? Suddenly Sonny feels like he's been thrown in an unfortunate situation but before he knows it, he becomes attached to the little guy and forms a near unbreakable bond with him
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
I don't understand the hatred critics have for this movie. It's not Citizen Kane. It's a family-friendly, cute, heart-warming movie. That's it. It moves along quickly, with no lulls. The laughs are genuine. The actors all give sweet performances. Ignore the pretentious critics and give this movie a chance. It's very satisfying, which is what a film should be.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 12, 2006
The review from "The New Yorker" on this page is probably one of the most pompous and hollow reviews I've ever read. "Big Daddy" is a great movie. I'm a long-time Adam Sandler fan but, put it this way, after seeing this movie, so is my mother. She's usually not into this kind of comedy, but this has become one of her all-time favorite movies. So, saying that "Anyone looking to solve the mystery of Adam Sandler's mass appeal is not going to do it here" seems to be a ridiculous statement.

The movie is funny from "all angles". The story is good, the cast is as solid as I've ever seen in a comedy, etc, etc... Whether or not you're usually into Sandler's brand of comedy, you will most likely appreciate this film. I feel that this is Adam Sandler at his best - and it is certainly one of his most successful projects.

Highly recommended.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2006
Yes, I am an Adam Sandler fan, but I'm not obsessed about him as some of his other fans are. I appreciate his humor, don't ask me why but I find him funny. Most critics batter him for childish antics, bathroom humor, violent slapstick, and immaturity. True, he can childish and immature in his humor, but he is just lovable enough to get away with it. Anyway, the people I know like to laugh at the one-liners and antics of BILLY MADISON, HAPPY GILMORE, and THE WATERBOY. but not a lot people talk about BIG DADDY as much, and that's too bad.

Meet Sonny (Sandler), a 32-year-old law school grad on the fast track to nowhere: Rather than take a high-paying job in a high-powered New York City firm, Sonny works one night a week in a tollbooth and hangs out with the deli delivery guy (Rob Schneider). Now meet Julian (Cole and Dylan Sprouse), a cute five-year-old who appears on Sonny's doorstep with a note from his mom claiming he's the illegitimate son of Sonny's best law-school buddy Kevin (Jon Stewart), who's just left for China. No problem, thinks Sonny: A son will get his life on track and help him win back his wayward girlfriend (Kristy Swanson). But when a compromising situation arises and Sonny's girlfriend dumps him, Sonny gets desperate and has social services look for a family that can take Julian. Instead of letting Julian end up in an orphanage he volenteers to look after him, giving the kid options instead of orders, letting him dress however he likes, bathe when he wants and eat what he likes, but soon he realizes that he needs to set boundries for the kid in order for him to excell school. Sonny starts to bond with the kid. But after ignoring calls from social services, Sonny is taken to court for Fraudulently hold Julian under his biological father's name.

I think this is one of Sandler's best, not only because he's downplaying his humor impulse to stutter like Bobby Boucher, get violent like Happy Gilmore, or act childish like Billy Madison. But because he seems to have matured a bit as an actor and as a person. His humor is dry, but funny. Rob Schnider is hilarious as Nazo the delivery guy, and Steve Buscemi is uproarious as the homeless guy. Adam has really come a far way since BILLY MADISON, he's a hell of a lot more calmer, and a little bit more likable to the non-Sandler-fan community. Yes there is some bodily humor here, but it's marginal and it doesn't come from Adam, which is good because it wouldn't wear well on a man in his mid-30s as it would on a little kid. All in all, if you're not a Sandler-fan, you're better off not watching his earlier stuff first, because he can get carried away with the childish humor, so start off slow and watch BIG DADDY, THE WEDDING SINGER, or 50 FIRST DATES.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2011
The Big Daddy DVD arrived on time and in excellent condition. I would definitely do business with this seller again. I gave this a rating of 4 because I wish that there was a way to combine shipping on Amazon when buying multiple items from one seller versus paying shipping on a per item basis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.