Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough introduction to the current Big Data landscape
Thorough introduction to the current Big Data landscape. After discussions of data science, associated tooling used in this space, and issues likely to be encountered with data, which comprise about half the text, the editors shift the discussion to the application of data science findings and the business of data. The only dissenter in terms of the effectiveness of what...
Published on July 1, 2012 by Erik Gfesser

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cursory and Anecdotal
As someone who is enthusiastic about technology, but not necessarily an insider, I've been wondering what Big Data is all about for a while. A few short e-books from O'Reilly media have managed to clear give me a pretty clear picture. This short e-book has certainly helped too, but it's not the best introduction to the subject that I've come across. It is comprised of...
Published 10 months ago by Dr. Bojan Tunguz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough introduction to the current Big Data landscape, July 1, 2012
By 
Erik Gfesser (Lombard, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
Thorough introduction to the current Big Data landscape. After discussions of data science, associated tooling used in this space, and issues likely to be encountered with data, which comprise about half the text, the editors shift the discussion to the application of data science findings and the business of data. The only dissenter in terms of the effectiveness of what the authors share here actually touches upon a benefit rather than a drawback when they write that this book was apparently not written by data scientists: because the authors write with management in mind, the discussion does not get lost in the many technical details that comprise Big Data, but instead provides a compact, highly readable summary of a range of related subject matter.

The authors tackle Big Data terminology well, beginning with the term "Big Data" itself. "We've all heard a lot about 'big data' but 'big' is really a red herring. Oil companies, telecommunication companies, and other data-centric industries have had huge datasets for a long time. And as storage capacity continues to expand, today's 'big' is certainly tomorrow's 'medium' and next week's 'small'. The most meaningful definition I've heard: 'big data' is when the size of the data itself becomes part of the problem. We're discussing data problems ranging from gigabytes to petabytes of data. At some point, traditional techniques for working with data run out of steam." The aspect that makes what is now being attempted different is that information platforms designed to explore and understand data, beyond traditional business intelligence, are being built.

As a consultant, I especially appreciate the links that the editors provide throughout for tooling and other technical subjects that would otherwise significantly increase the length of this white paper sized book. The interviews with individuals from companies in this space, such as Infochimps and Gnip, is also appreciated. And although it ends rather abruptly, the last chapter on the business of data, which compliments the first chapter, is especially well done, including a discussion of the emerging Big Data stack comprised of both open source and commercial products that furthers the presention of the SMAQ stack (Storage, MapReduce, and Query) discussed earlier in the book. Recommended to anyone within or looking to enter the Big Data space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cursory and Anecdotal, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
As someone who is enthusiastic about technology, but not necessarily an insider, I've been wondering what Big Data is all about for a while. A few short e-books from O'Reilly media have managed to clear give me a pretty clear picture. This short e-book has certainly helped too, but it's not the best introduction to the subject that I've come across. It is comprised of several essays, expositions and interviews, each of which is meant to give you a taste of what is meant by Big Data. Mike Loukides' "What is Data Science?" is probably the best pert of the ebook, especially if you are a total noob. However, it is available as a separate Kindle ebook in its own right, and I would recommend that you just read it that way. The interviews are somewhat interesting, but most of them suffer from the tendency of the interlocutors to overhype their own perspective. In the end, I've come away from this book believing that Big Data is indeed a qualitatively new way of approaching data, information, and businesses that are constructed around it. However, it's still a hodgepodge of different skills and practices that cannot quite be pinned down. In a way, this flexibility can be a strength when working in a rapidly changing and competitive technological and business environments, but it makes hard for the outsiders to understand what this field is exactly about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overview, August 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
Nice overview of what is happening in various areas with "big data". Does not get too deep into any subject but does try to offer definitions and discusses tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Free, Chapters on Different Subjects, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
This has two or three chapters that do a good job of explaining what Big Data is, and what the tools are to work with it. That was exactly what I was looking for. It does a good job of explaining in general terms what Hadoop is, and what programs like PIG and HIVE have to do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good informative book for beginners, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good informative book for beginners. This book and 2012 edition are too good to know about Big Data and its concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad overview of current trends in Big Data, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
As a quick look at the current marketplace, this is a good starting point but no real meat in terms of implementations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, January 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good overview of the what is going on with Big Data in different industries. Not technical but has lots of useful information about how people are applying technology to analyze Big Data and get value out of their data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Info, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
I am a college student and had to complete a 30 page report on big data. This was my most commonly used source. Great info, easy to follow and understand. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a basic start to understanding Big Data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, October 24, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (VANCOUVER ,BC, CANADA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
For it people who's curious about big data. I'm still finish ing this,but found its helpful. 5star also because Southarm Community free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big picture, August 26, 2013
By 
Roy (Morelia, Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Data Now: Current Perspectives from O'Reilly Radar (Kindle Edition)
The book gives a very open perspective including tools and comments from the people that is inside the topic (at least at the moment of the publication) wich I consider as an excellent starting point to dive into this amazing ocean of data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.