Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 21, 2007
Experience tells me there's two kinds of "Extended editions": the first are the ones in which the director was forced to do something against his will to fit the movie to a certain length (see Terminator 2, Aliens, Blade Runner, etc.), and the second are the ones in which the outakes weren't all that damaged so the studio took a strictly merchandising decision.
BIG EXTENDED EDITION is obviously the latter but don't let that discourage you, this is one of the funniest films of the 80s and there's is no question it was the one film that took Tom Hanks from OK TV star to bona fide movie star.
My favorite scene: the eating of the "little corn". I loved learning from the extras that it was totally the product of improvising at the last second !
This is an excelent DVD, it's just that my next viewing of it will be by choosing the original cut.
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2005
... and there's no body swapping in it!

This film has aged really well; the comedy and dialogue is really sharp, the acting is believable and there's never a dull moment. Instead of going over the story, I want to quote what screenwriting legend, Robert McKee wrote about the film which rings true; "At the crisis, Josh [Tom Hanks] faces irreconcilable goods; an adult life with a fulfilling career and the woman he loves verus a return to adolescence. He makes the mature choice to have his childhood expressing with fine irony that he at last became 'big'. For he and we sense that the key to maturity is to have had a complete childhood. But becuase life has short-changed so many of us in youth, we live, to one degree or another, in a false sense of maturity. BIG is a very wise film."

Sure the toys have changed and yes, Billy Idol is tied to the soundtrack but the message still remains the same. This should be required viewing for all families.
22 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2009
If you have Big (Extended Edition), then you will see that this new Blu-ray edition has no new extra features from that version. What it does have is higher picture quality and sound. There are details I hadn't noticed before. Is it worth this purchase? That all depends on how much of a home theater buff you are. If you want blu-ray quality video and audio, then you will most likely want to upgrade this classic 1988 flick; otherwise, you might be content to hold onto your DVD version until something significantly better comes out.

When it was first released in 1988, "Big" instantly became one of my favorite films. 20 years later, I can still say the same thing. This film not only "holds up" well, it is still a timeless classic. It is the story of 12 year old Josh Baskin, who wishes he were "big" after being humiliated at a carnival for not being tall enough to ride an attraction in front of the classmate that he has a crush on. His wish is granted by the arcade machine, Zoltar, and the next morning, he wakes up as a 30 year old (Tom Hanks). He's kicked out of the house by his mother, who thinks he is a pervert who has broken in. To make matters worse, he can't reverse the wish for at least another 30 days. On the advice of his best buddy, Billy (Jared Rushton), he gets a job in New York City to pass the time and earn some money to live on. Josh quickly moves up the ladder at MacMillan Toy Company, and also attracts the attention of Susan Lawrence (Elizabeth Perkins), who has made a habit of sleeping with the new up-and-coming executives. The longer he inhabits his 30-year old body, the more he grows away from his childhood buddy, Billy. However, the day of reckoning eventually comes when he must make a choice.

Hanks & Perkins give outstanding performances; instead of "playing" a 12 year old, Hanks actually becomes one. His innocence is totally believable. Perkins plays the part of the ambitious Susan to perfection, and she is the perfect love interest for Hanks. Talk about chemistry!

Just like its DVD counterpart, the Blu-Ray version gives you 2 versions of the movie; one is the theatrical version, and the other is an Extended Cut (note: NOT a director's cut...just an extra 20 minutes or so added back in). Skip the extended version; it adds nothing, and if anything slows the pacing down and adds sub plots that are meaningless (example: Billy's shrewish mother, played by Frances Fisher). The picture is wonderful; good detail and color. Sound is a DTS-HD Lossless Master Audio 5.1 Surround track (48kHz/24-bit) that sounds pleasing, but other than the Billy Idol "Hot in the City" Limo scene, doesn't really get much of a chance to shine. Video is presented in a remastered 1080p/AVC MPEG-4 transfer (1.85:1) and looks very good but won't blow your socks off. Extras are all presented in 480i/MPEG-2.

There is an interesting "commentary" track by the writers/creators of "Big," Gary Ross & Anne Spielberg. Although extremely interesting, this would have been better as an audio-only supplement. A nice commentary that corresponds with the picture by director Marshall or Hanks would have been better. The track consists of current interviews with Ross & Spielberg (yes, Steven's sister) who introduce vintage audio tapes that they made while they brainstormed the idea of what would become "Big." The tapes do not correspond to what you see on your screen. Yes, it is interesting, but after awhile, it gets somewhat annoying having to listen to Gary continually talk over Anne and not letting her ideas be heard. It does appear that much of the movie that we know and love came from Anne, who quietly (and thankfully) persisted with her vision.

Deleted scenes with commentary by director Penny Marshall (but if you watch the extended cut, none of these will be new for you). For one of her first movies, she does an excellent job. As did Anne, she had a vision of what the film and especially Hanks' performance should be and she stuck with it, despite the risks (example: at least 3 other age-change movies were ready for release before "Big" would be finished). There are a number of featurettes: "Big Beginnings", "Chemistry of a Classic", AMC Backstory, "The Work of Play," and "Carnival Party Newswrap" (a vintage film showing the wrap party for "Big."). There is a fair amount of overlap in all the extras, as Marshall, Ross, and Spielberg are the main contributors. Still, plenty of interesting tidbits; we came this close to seeing Robert DeNiro in the lead role. It is also interesting to hear the young stars of the film, David Moscow (young Josh) and Jared Rushton, discuss the filming. Perkins also gives some fun insights as well. Theatrical trailer and TV Spots round out this edition.

If Blu-ray is to succeed, then some of the other studios besides Disney need to really step up to the plate and offer something that takes advantage of the format, rather than just shuffling over material from previously released DVD's. Disney puts most of their extras in high-def as well, whereas Fox and other studios seem content to only upgrade the movie itself.

While it`s good to see "Big" on Blu-ray, I wouldn't recommend that people rush right out to buy this one.
11 comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2004
This film still contains Tom Hanks best performance in my opinion. Big is an expertly told modern fairy tale that captures perfectly the innocence and the enthusiasm of youth. This movie gets flawless performances from all the actors and actresses involved. It reminds us all of when we were young and Big is a testament to why we should always stay young at heart.

Big is among my favorite films of all-time and I honestly can't see any reason why someone would dislike this movie. In fact I believe it is the best movie to be made in the 80's and it's huge heart will allow Big too stand the test of time.
55 comments|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2008
When it was first released in 1988, "Big" instantly became one of my favorite films. 20 years later, I can still say the same thing. This film not only "holds up" well, it is still a timeless classic. It is the story of 12 year old Josh Baskin, who wishes he were "big" after being humiliated at a carnival for not being tall enough to ride an attraction in front of the classmate that he has a crush on. His wish is granted by the arcade machine, Zoltar, and the next morning, he wakes up as a 30 year old (Tom Hanks). He's kicked out of the house by his mother, who thinks he is a pervert who has broken in. To make matters worse, he can't reverse the wish for at least another 30 days. On the advice of his best buddy, Billy (Jared Rushton), he gets a job in New York City to pass the time and earn some money to live on. Josh quickly moves up the ladder at MacMillan Toy Company, and also attracts the attention of Susan Lawrence (Elizabeth Perkins), who has made a habit of sleeping with the new up-and-coming executives. The longer he inhabits his 30-year old body, the more he grows away from his childhood buddy, Billy. However, the day of reckoning eventually comes when he must make a choice.

Hanks & Perkins give outstanding performances; instead of "playing" a 12 year old, Hanks actually becomes one. His innocence is totally believable. Perkins plays the part of the ambitious Susan to perfection, and she is the perfect love interest for Hanks. Talk about chemistry!

This 2-Disc Edition gives you 2 versions of the movie; one is the theatrical version, and the other is an Extended Cut (note: NOT a director's cut...just an extra 20 minutes or so added back in). Skip the extended version; it adds nothing, and if anything slows the pacing down and adds sub plots that are meaningless (example: Billy's shrewish mother, played by Frances Fisher). The picture is wonderful; good detail and color. The sound is extremely disappointing. A 2 channel stereo mix? Where's the 5.1? In this day and age, hard to believe they couldn't have put together a nice surround mix for this one. It would really be fantastic in the Billy Idol limo scene!

There is an interesting "commentary" track by the writers/creators of "Big," Gary Ross & Anne Spielberg. Although extremely interesting, this would have been better as an audio-only supplement. A nice commentary that corresponds with the picture by director Marshall or Hanks would have been better. The track consists of current interviews with Ross & Spielberg (yes, Steven's sister) who introduce vintage audio tapes that they made while they brainstormed the idea of what would become "Big." The tapes do not correspond to what you see on your screen. Yes, it is interesting, but after awhile, it gets somewhat annoying having to listen to Gary continually talk over Anne and not letting her ideas be heard. It does appear that much of the movie that we know and love came from Anne, who quietly (and thankfully) persisted with her vision.

Disc 2 includes deleted scenes with commentary by director Penny Marshall. For one of her first movies, she does an excellent job. As did Anne, she had a vision of what the film and especially Hanks' performance should be and she stuck with it, despite the risks (example: at least 3 other age-change movies were ready for release before "Big" would be finished). There are a number of featurettes: "Big Beginnings", "Chemistry of a Classic", AMC Backstory, "The Work of Play," and "Carnival Party Newswrap" (a vintage film showing the wrap party for "Big."). There is a fair amount of overlap in all the extras, as Marshall, Ross, and Spielberg are the main contributors. Still, plenty of interesting tidbits; we came this close to seeing Robert DeNiro in the lead role. It is also interesting to hear the young stars of the film, David Moscow (young Josh) and Jared Rushton, discuss the filming. Perkins also gives some fun insights as well. Theatrical trailer and TV Spots round out this edition.

Overall, a nice set, but there is definitely room to grow for the next outing of this classic film.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
I am a big fan of Hoagy Carmichael's "Heart and Soul" and when I saw a brief clip of Tom Hanks playing this song on the step piano, I had to watch this movie. I tried to find it on Netflix to no avail. I tried Amazon Instant Video, but I decided to jump in and spend the extra $8 to have the Blu Ray copy. I am glad I did. This movie is a instant classic. I had no idea what I was in for. I don't want to ruin the movie, but it is a very funny movie in which Tom Hanks becomes BIG basically. Hanks does an amazing job acting like a 13 year old living as a 30 year old. The most memorable part was when Hanks and his boss were playing Heart and Soul as well as the Chopstick March on the step piano.

Never once did the movie slow down or became boring. I was craving for more and fell in to the entire setting and the plot of the movie. The acting was great and the entire cast did an superb job. Overall, the movie deserves 5 stars for it's clever laughs, amazing acting, magnitude of imagination and nostalgia. Nonetheless, when the ending came along, I was left in shock wondering what just happened. Is that it? What happens next? There has to be additional footage. It cannot end like this. It called for a sequel perhaps, but I don't know if it ever came out. If someone knows, please inform me! If you never watched this movie and would like to experience 80's nostalgia, it is highly recommended.

PROS:
+ Excellent Acting
+ Great Plot and Story
+ Worth the $10 to belong in my collection

CONS:
- Ending left more to be desired
- Slightly grainy picture (not a big deal)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 18, 2015
Maybe I always read too much into what was supposed to be a fairly light 1980’s movie. Everyone has been a kid and unable to do something because of their size and age and wish we were grown because grown-ups can do everything, right? Big presents the perils of wanting to grow up too soon and the dangers of thinking too much like an adult. Of course no one can avoid growing up, but it really does make one pause and consider the things that we lose as we grow up.

While its meant to be a comedy, there’s an underlying darkness or melancholy that surrounds elements of this movie because Josh knows he doesn’t belong in the adult world because he’s 12, but yet he feels things in the adult world that can’t be taken back. I prefer to think of Big as a message to never lose that childhood element of yourself that is imaginative and creative mixed with the spirit of anything is possible. All too often it vanishes with age.

These are just a few thoughts I have.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Big" is funny. Tom Hanks in "Big" is as funny as in Forrest Gump, as touching as "Sleepless in Seattle," and as goofy as "Turner and Hooch." You see the beginnings of the star of "Castaway," "Apollo 13," and "Catch Me If You Can." Hanks took on a solid movie and made it a great one.

The story is simple, based on classic plotlines that extend back through fairy tales. Josh, the boy, is bummed his life is dictated by his small size and young age. He is unexpectedly granted his wish to be 'big', which means 30 years old. He then faces the adventures of being a grown-up.

Scenes from this movie are famous, including the FAO Schwarz toy store dance on the keyboard floor mat. It has everything a vaudeville skit would have, from music to dance to the mix of an old and young man. It works incredibly well. Chopsticks has never been as entertaining.

Josh becomes by serendipity the VP of toy development. Despite his immaturity, the owner feels Josh is tuned into the pulse of youth, unlike the lackeys cranking out marketing reports. His colleagues become jealous of his fast rise and unsuccessfully try to root him out. One of those trying to learn his game is Susan, but he wins her over in a confusing escapade of love.

The movie is an overall pile of fun, but lacks in a few areas. It is dated, very stuck in the 1980s. That is tolerable. Had Josh been kidnapped, why wasn't his boyhood friend interviewed by police? Why didn't Josh ever confide in Susan while they fell in love? A number of other unanswered questions develop at the end dealing with his job, his apartment, his bank account.

Even though I have questions, the movie is still a keeper. It is funny, makes strong statements about good parenting, and has a charm only Tom Hanks could bring. Good, clean fun... a perfect date movie.

Anthony Trendl
editor, HungarianBookstore.com
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2002
Big-1988
100mins/Colour
Tom Hanks
Elizabeth Perkins
Robert Loggia
John Heard
The wonderfully versatile Tom Hanks stars as Josh Baskin, a 12 year old boy who makes a wish on a carnival wishing machine. His wish is to be 'BIG'....and to his amazement wakes up the next morning with the body of a 30 year old. Confused and frightened at being thrust into the adult world, Josh (with the help of his best friend) runs away to New York, where by sheer luck he lands a job in a Toy company. There he discovers the advantages of being big: freedom,money,unlimited toys and junk food. But he's not prepared for what happens when he attracts sexy co-worker-chic, ambitious and predatory Susan Lawrence. Josh is torn between the freedom of being an adult (with a 12 year old brain)and the love and security of his homelife. BIG is great entertainment, it is often touching but always BIG on laughs!
Written by coproducers Gary Ross and Anne Spielberg.Tom Hanks' 11th film. BIG was later a broadway musical.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
One of Tom Hanks funniest films from the 80's
written by Gary ross & Anne spielberg (Steven spielberg's sister)
but Directed by Penny marshall
this is Penny's 2nd film as Director, very Good Directing to

well 20th century fox have released 'BIG' as 25th Anniversary blu-ray now
a new 5.1 Master audio mix has been added to which really does boost the sound quality
20th century fox have also included 2 versions of the film now
the usual Theatrical cut 104mins & the new Extended UNRATED version which has the Deleted scenes & outtakes inserted back in
i've seen the Theatrical version so many times so i only watched the UNRATED version
to see what the extra scenes are
so the extra footage is about 20mins more inserted back in which makes the unrated cut to be 120mins including credits
some of the extra scenes were needed for the storyline & some were not necessary to put back in
but it's a matter of opinion really
you either prefer the new UNRATED cut or the usual Theatrical cut
but both versions look very sharp & clear with their new HD transfers

special features
all new extras have been added
BIG BEGININGS which is retrospective featurette with writers Anne spielberg & Gary ross & Producer Jim Brooks, 15mins
CHEMISTRY OF A CLASSIC which is another retrospective featurette
more cast & crew are interviewed this time for 24mins
Director Penny marshall, Producer Jim brooks, writer Anne spielberg
Actors Elizabeth perkins, Robert Loggia, Jon Lovitz, David moscow who played the young Josh
and Jared rushton who played Billy, Josh's best friend
Tom Hanks was not interviewed for some reason
HOLLYWOOD BACKSTORIES-BIG which is TV broadcast
another 20mins featurette on the making of the film & behind the scenes stories to
most of the cast from the previous featurette are interviewed
THE WORK OF PLAY which is 5mins featurette about General people who work for a Toy company
i couldn't see the point of it really
the only thing missing is an Audio commentary by Penny marshall but i don't think it's Necessary
Theatrical trailer, TV spots, Photo Gallery are included to

scrap the old dvd release and get this new blu-ray release
which has both versions of the film plus all the special features on 1 blu-ray Disc, incredible
5 stars i gave it for sure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.