Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From one Author to another
I've read books with high acclaim from top reviewers that can't come close to Cristopher Bonn Jonnes's "BIG ICE." The book fits all the accolades of a best seller.
Seth (the main character) . . . who can't love him even with his personal problems? To me he represents the fears in us all and how most of us have run away from something when we should have...
Published on August 23, 2003 by M. D. Cummings

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold Murder and Icy Theories
Reclusive, cranky, Seth Peterson is not an engaging protagonist. Okay, so he rescues a woman from a burning car in the first ten pages. But he doesn't really like people, particularly in crowds-say two or three ort more. Make a presentation to a group of scientists? Forget it. Do a stint in front of the camera-fainting time. But stick with Seth Peterson and you...
Published on January 1, 2004 by carl brookins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From one Author to another, August 23, 2003
By 
M. D. Cummings "Marv" (Kanosh, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
I've read books with high acclaim from top reviewers that can't come close to Cristopher Bonn Jonnes's "BIG ICE." The book fits all the accolades of a best seller.
Seth (the main character) . . . who can't love him even with his personal problems? To me he represents the fears in us all and how most of us have run away from something when we should have stayed. For me, Seth did more than overcome his problem of Social Phobia; he tells the reader, through his ordeal, that we are all heros when we stick out the hard times and remember those who mean the most to us, viz. our families and true friends.
I had to keep reading this book because it pulled me into its story with the non-stop action, suspense, and intrigue. Author: Christopher Bonn Jonnes has set a new trend in a genre that I thought was worn out and uninteresting---not so with "BIG ICE." You won't be disappointed if you like shoot'em up, narrow escapes from death, and grizzly scenes that make you cringe. You'll be cheering for the main character, and I promise, he will not fail you when the time comes.
Get it! Buy it! and enjoy it!
What about it, Christopher? ---can we take the sequel to the Antarctic?
From the author of: "Whipped Pups of Bitterbrush" M.D. Cummings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping and thrilling read, September 19, 2003
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
Big Ice is an exciting and suspenseful tale of threat, extremism, and heroic desperation. When a reclusive polar ice researcher discovers a "doomsday fault" that could potentially cause a massive amount of ice to detach, melt, flood coastal cities around the globe and wreak havoc upon humanity, he is thrust in the center of a nexus of journalists, law enforcement officials, and ruthless fanatics determined to make cataclysmic prophecies come true. A gripping and thrilling read, Big Ice documents author Christopher Boon Jonnes as a gifted and original novelist of considerable talent and storytelling expertise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great One!, July 9, 2003
By 
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
Great book!! Jones writes so that you can relate to the people. You really get to know them and even with their faults, you still end up liking them and rooting for them!
I recommend Big Ice (and Wake Up Dead, his other book) to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BIG ICE, BIG STORY, July 17, 2003
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
Seth Petersen, a scientist with the National Ice Center, thinks he has discovered a way to predict where the next ice breaks will occur in the Antarctic ice sheets. He's also discovered a fault in one, if it breaks off, the water displacement would cause enormous floods all around the world, with coastal cities and islands disappearing, in fact, the end of the world as we know it.

Seth's boss wants him to give a lecture about his findings to a
conference. There's one big problem, Seth has a phobia aobut people, he's absolutely terrified of them and he has a panic attack at work, when it was only his colleagues he had to give a presentation to, how is he going to manage at a conference?

Confiding his problem to his boss, Seth gets out of attending the conference as a speaker, and his colleague, Bill gives the talk instead. Unfortunately for Bill, a group of eco-terrosists don't want Seth's findings to be made public, and Bill is gunned down at the conference.

The last thing Seth wants is attention, but that what he gets, first from the media who call him "The Shy Samaritan" after he saved a woman from a burning car, but failed to stay around for any thanks, and now from the terrorists who are trying to kill him.

The book is a real page turner, with enough plot twists and turns that you have to keep reading. Seth is not your typical hero, he doesn't have a perfect life, he is just an ordinary guy with problems which he has to overcomce. In my mind that just makes him all the more endearing and easy to relate to.

Seth's phobia is handled very well, very realistically (I suffered from this same phobia and the author has got it exactly right.) An exciting tale that doesn't let up.

A great read.

Reviewed by Annette Gisby, author of Shadows of the Rose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Ice = Big Thrills, June 25, 2003
By 
Brian Lutterman (St. Paul, Minnesota United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
In BIG ICE, Christopher Bonn Jonnes' follow-up to his successful debut mystery, WAKE UP DEAD, government meteorologist Seth Peterson discovers that a massive chunk of ice is about to break loose from the Antarctic ice pack. When he tries to present his findings, with their deadly implications for world climates and ocean levels, he is targeted by deadly fanatics, who see fulfillment of their apocalyptic delusions. Seth's attempts to make his report public are hampered by his extreme-even pathological-reluctance that reveals the book's second major story line: his struggle with personal demons that threaten his ability to function, and even his sanity. These challenges, internal and external, follow a series of twists, culminating in a stunning climax on a frozen Minnesota lake.
Either of the book's two story lines is unique and gripping, but when they are combined, the result is a suspense-filled yarn that is hard to put down. BIG ICE provides ample suspense and mystery for thriller fans, but also a fascinating character study. The story's settings, in Washington, D.C., and in Jonnes' home state of Minnesota, are both vivid and accurate. In all, it's a strong, high-concept successor to WAKE UP DEAD, except that the reader gets two stories for the price of one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding and Developing Courage, June 12, 2003
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
Big Ice is the best thriller that I have read that has been published so far in 2003.
The most common fear people have is of public speaking. What if you had that fear to such an extent that you could not speak in front of more than one person without fainting? Or if you could not speak your most important thoughts to anyone else? That's the circumstance of Big Ice's hero, Seth Peterson.
Seth has another side which we see early in the book. He's absolutely fearless in the face of real danger to others.
Fleeing a very painful personal experience in his native Minnesota, Seth has come to Washington, D.C. and found work with The National Ice Center which tracks major ice movements in the Southern Hemisphere. He's focused on the large masses of ice in Antarctica and understands how past movements in this ice have changed the Earth's poles and dramatically affected the climate on each land mass. In addition, he sees the potential for such changes to recur.
Seth's research work comes unexpectedly to the notice of an environmental group when he answers a telephone call. But his own colleagues don't even know about the work yet.
Seth finds himself struggling throughout the book to overcome his fears in order to share his knowledge while dangerous people are trying to get the knowledge away from him. With a little support from others, he also comes to better understand his fears, how others see him and what courage is all about.
Although this review makes the book sound like a psychological journey (which it is), the book abounds in exciting fast-paced action and realistic conflicts. As a result, the book has more interesting content than 99% of all thrillers while not stinting the heart-pumping excitement that draws us to them.
As a native of San Bernardino, California, I was amused to see that town mentioned as a possible new beach front community. Since the town is located at 1000 feet above sea level, I don't think that's likely. Everything else in the book rang true, even down to the details of those with excessive social anxiety and the role of antidepressants in treating that circumstance.
After you finish this book, think through what you are unwilling to do because of your fears. Have you ever discussed those fears with anyone else? What is it costing you to be inhibited by those fears? How can you begin to overcome those inhibitions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific suspense, June 18, 2003
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
Seth Peterson works for the NIC (National Ice Center) studying the movements of antarctic ice shelves, hoping to predict possible future motion in order to prevent disaster. His research, however, is going to cause trouble for more people than he can possibly have imagined.
After rescuing a woman from a wrecked car in the middle of a snowstorm, Seth becomes the unwitting participant in a media circus, being named The Shy Samaritan for his unwillingness to appear before the cameras. You see, Seth has a secret. But that's not even his main problem. It appears as if some people are trying to kill him because of his research. And if that's not enough conflict, Seth hides out in his hometown and has to deal with some past mistakes he has made with his family and the woman he left at the altar.
Jonnes builds the suspense in Big Ice from the get-go, with the rescue scene being a particular highpoint. I felt as if I were experiencing every moment with Seth and I didn't want to put the book down. His flair for description is also remarkable, making it easy to visualize the details in every scene. Jonnes has a talent for suspense and obviously loves to work with the language.
The first quarter could have been more tightly edited, and the title is misleading (the ice is the motivation for the plot, not an actual participant), but these are minor complaints. Christopher Bonn Jonnes is a writer to watch and I look forward to reading his first novel, Wake Up Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Second Novel: Big Ice by Christopher Bonn Jonnes, May 18, 2004
By 
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
In his debut suspense novel "Wake Up Dead" Christopher Bonn Jonnes combined intriguing characters and cutting edge science to produce a riveting read. All too often the second book from an author is weaker in terms of character development, plot or some other structural problem. That certainly isn't the case here where the author has once again combined intriguing complicated characters with cutting edge science to produce another intense read.
Seth Peterson witnesses a car crash during a snowstorm in Washington, D.C. As the crashed Blazer begins to smolder and the on looking crowd does nothing, Seth rescues the driver narrowly escaping the escalating flames. Unfortunately for the seriously social phobic Seth, the rescue brings unwanted media attention.
Seth has more than enough scrutiny that he can stand thanks to his discovery. As a Polar Ice Researcher, he believes that he has developed a program through his job at the National Ice Center, to identify where and when large slabs of the Antarctic Ice Shelf might break away. The results of such a massive release of ice would be disastrous for a world unprepared. Such knowledge could be worth millions and power to some.
Such knowledge would especially be important to members of a doomsday cult that believes an ancient and very overdue prophecy is finally about to come to fruition. Since Seth can predict where and when, it stands to reason in their minds he could assist them in actually making it happen. They need his knowledge willing or otherwise to assist them to fulfill the prophecy and thanks to the media exposure have a very good idea where to find him.
The chase is on as Seth narrowly escapes their clutches and what follows in this 244 page novel is a book full of intriguing characters with plenty of action as well as plenty of plot twists and turns. The book does slow down at times as information on ice formation and little known opposing viewpoints on the issue of Global Warming are discussed. However, each time the information is presented, it is done in an educational non-preachy way and is used to ultimately further advance the book.
This is one of those authors that modern publishing houses who seem bent on following cookie cutter methods should pick up. Better than a lot of what is being pushed by the big boys of publishing, this novel is an example of an author who can be counted on to write tight well-written novels full of intriguing characters and cutting edge science. This book, like his first, is well worth the read and this is one author you should definitely keep your eye on for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before The Day After Tomorrow, May 23, 2004
By 
M. D. Cummings "Marv" (Kanosh, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
Just to set the record straight "Big Ice" was written and created before the movie "The Day After Tomorrow." I think to get a real feel for the catastrophic, global warming scenario and potenial planet killer phenomenon, you should read "Big Ice". Not to mention the book has a great plot and story line. It keeps the reader from yawning after seeing so many world calamity movies that always seem to wallow in the same predictable plot: I mean how many times have you seen the Statue of Liberty drowning in Ice, sand, water, or evil slime?
Christopher Bonn Jonnes, has a great novel with "Big Ice" one that will thrill any readers who not only like to read about global calamities, but enjoy suspense, drama, and mystery. Check it out and see what I mean.
---M.D. Cummings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electrifying Suspense, July 28, 2003
By 
Alan Cambeira "author of Azucar's Trilogy" (Dominican Republic, author of Tattered Paradise...Azucar's Trilogy Ends) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Ice (Paperback)
Almost any story set in the nation's capital personally intrigues me. Such a setting usually promises unanticipated twists and high-energy excitement. BIG ICE therefore immediately hit the spot for me. I was drawn especially to the protagonist Seth because of the manner in which the author Christopher Bonn Jonnes artfully tackles the delicate inner psychological nature of this complicated character. This aspect fascinated me far moreso than the surface storyline, which was totally suspenseful. I'm sure most readers were able to identify quite readily with Seth. The author offers us a splendid work of nervous suspense and mystery. I definitely intend reading Jonnes's previously successful WAKE UP DEAD. A Very Highly Recommended Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Big Ice
Big Ice by Christopher Bonn Jonnes (Paperback - April 28, 2003)
Used & New from: $1.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.