Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive On Truckers
"The Big To-Do" rocks on and the lyrics continue the DBT tradition of story telling and insightful, cleverly worded commentary on personal and social issues. There's not a pretentious or preachy bone in their lyrics, just brilliant poetry and truth for all of us workin' through our lives. And of course, the music itself is breathtaking.

Perhaps one example will...
Published on March 29, 2010 by Dean W. West

versus
32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars-Truckers enter new decade with more gritty rock
During the last decade, The Drive-By Truckers released a trio of brilliant rock records (Decoration Day, The Dirty South and A Blessing and A Curse) that helped to establish them as one of the top rock bands in America. With 2008's Brighter Than Creation's Dark, however, the group seemed to falter a bit. It was still a good Truckers album, but it wasn't a great one...
Published on March 22, 2010 by B. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive On Truckers, March 29, 2010
By 
Dean W. West (Hartford, Kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
"The Big To-Do" rocks on and the lyrics continue the DBT tradition of story telling and insightful, cleverly worded commentary on personal and social issues. There's not a pretentious or preachy bone in their lyrics, just brilliant poetry and truth for all of us workin' through our lives. And of course, the music itself is breathtaking.

Perhaps one example will capture the genius apparent in this recording: was on a long trip to visit friends and slipped in the CD for the first time as I motivated down the highway. The words of the first cut, "When Daddy Learned to Fly", grabbed me by the heartstrings right away, yet for some magical reason the music made me happy instead of sad. The song's about the passing of a friend and mentor. I've lost one of those myself lately, and was touched by the lyrics. But at the same time the powerful rock & roll had me pounding out an impressive air guitar/drum solo on the steering wheel as I sailed along- until I realized the car was racing down the highway at warp speed and had to slow it down before this daddy learned to fly. This phenomenon illustrates the duality of the Patterson/Cooley thing. All the boys, and Shonna too, are on their game. If you love great music and have a hard-working soul, don't miss "The Big To-Do."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone Shootin', March 17, 2010
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
Right out the gate, the boys nail em', bang bang bang bang bang, like hittin' cans off a fence with a .22...then, being all Democratic, the boys give Shonna a shot...and she misses the thing completely. The boys don't laugh, cuz she tries real hard. Patterson nails another one, hands the gun over to Cooley. He grazes it, can don't fall over. Cooley had one eye closed and is half drunk, so it's okay. Patterson takes another shot...swats it in no time-makes it look easy as a matter of fact. He goes out on the range on his own a lot, murdered a man named Oscar actually. Hell of a job he did on that guy. Mr. Hood may be a killer, but he is a gentleman, so he gives Shonna another turn, hands her a shotgun this time, thinking it'll help her hit one of those damn cans. The fence takes a beatin', but I'll be damned if that PBR can ain't still sittin' there. They've been there all day, drinkin' and shootin' and whatnot, so the boys are gettin' a little weary, feelin' the buzz. As the sun sets, the cans don't even matter anymore. The stars are out, the cooler is about empty. Cooley shoots the moon and hits it. Life is good even when it's bad, cuz no matter how bad you got it, somebody has got it worse. It's all gonna end someday anyway...

...so here's the soundtrack, as imperfect and beautiful as life itself.

Drink up, DBT is back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars-Truckers enter new decade with more gritty rock, March 22, 2010
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
During the last decade, The Drive-By Truckers released a trio of brilliant rock records (Decoration Day, The Dirty South and A Blessing and A Curse) that helped to establish them as one of the top rock bands in America. With 2008's Brighter Than Creation's Dark, however, the group seemed to falter a bit. It was still a good Truckers album, but it wasn't a great one. There were too many songs and the second half of the album was mediocre. Part of this, at least in my opinion, was attributable to the departure of Jason Isbell who had contributed some excellent songs to the aforementioned set of albums. Without him, the band didn't quite seem to be the same.

On The Big To-Do however, Patterson Hood and company seem to have regruoped from the loss of Isbell and gotten back on track with a mostly satifsying set of sourthern rockers about working class men and women dealing with broken hearts, economic crises and unfulfilling lives. Hood handles the bulk of the work load, singing and writing the majority of the tracks. His voice is as weathered and plaintive as ever while his lyrics continue to paint vivid sketches of down on their luck southerners.

Still, without Isbell the band just isn't quite as dynamic. They seem to be a bit more one dimensional and predicatable than in the past. They're still an excellent group and there's no reason to think that they won't continue to release sturdy rock records like this one well into the new decade. But I'm going to keep hoping for the great band to return. Only time will tell if they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the new direction, April 9, 2010
By 
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
Mr. Neff filled the third guitar slot well, why the bitch'n? Now we can also catch Isbell's tour.
The introduction of keyboards on this album adds another layer of maturity to the overall sound.
Another great DBT album, Great to see these musicians expanding and refining their sound. Unless they record a "show-tune covers" album, I will likely continue my DBT collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep, Uh Huh, Well Alright!, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
This is a **great** new Truckers album. While the last "proper" (non-live, non-compilation) album, Brighter Than Creation's Dark, may have been a bit long and missed some of the punch of earlier efforts, The Big To-Do brings back the three-guitar attack with a more focused, rockin' album. Highlights include Birthday Boy (Cooley), After the Scene Dies (Hood), Santa Fe (Hood), Get Downtown (Cooley), and Fourth Night of My Drinking (Hood).

The Truckers do not have a clunker in their entire catalog. And their "perfecta trifecta" of Southern Rock Opera - Decoration Day - The Dirty South is as good as it gets, regardless of genre, type, theme, decade, whatever. After some key personnel changes over the last few years, the band seems to have hit its stride again. And for a band that has the bar set as high as the Truckers do, that's really saying something. It's time to head on down to The Big To-Do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good music, May 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
This is the first CD I've gotten by these guys. Thought the music was great as well as diverse. will defently check out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YEAH!!!!, March 25, 2010
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
My teacher loves the Drive-by Truckers and made me listen to this album with her for detention. It didn't turn out to be so bad at all. Kinda like Lynyrd Skynyrd or some kinda southern or country rock. So, I went and bought this CD myself and tried to get detention with her more often.

Anyway, the best tracks are "Drag the Lake Charlie," which is a great song and very pretty. The second greatest track and possibly the greatest D-BT song is "Birthday Boy," a three-and-a-half minute chill-out.

This album is great. What else can I say but "This album is great"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting to love these guys, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big To-Do (MP3 Music)
I first bought an older release called 'Pizza Deliverance' and liked it pretty well. Then I bought 'Go-Go Boots' their latest (last year?) and liked that better. I thought about getting the "Greatest" but a review by a hard core fan says it doesn't do their catelog justice. This came right BEFORE Go-Go and I think it is my favorite so far. One of my favorite bands right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dbt is back, March 18, 2010
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
I'm a big trucker band and wasn't that impressed with Brighter than creations dark (DBTs last album). This one is really good though...the guitars are finally back.It isn't as good as Southern Rock Opera or Dirty South but I'd say it's as good or better than both Decoration Day and Blessing and a curse.

BTW if you can get your hands on alabama @$$ whuppin its really raw dbt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They just keep on truckin!!, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big To-Do (Audio CD)
The best American Made stuff I know of!! God Bless us all, everything is gonna be OK when you hear these guys still growing and winning over fans with HONEST great rock and lyrics to match. Brewed down south for better flavor!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3d2ba50)

This product

Big To-Do
Big To-Do by Drive-By Truckers (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.