Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from www.firrkids.com, August 12, 2009
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
I just can't say enough good things about this book. I fell in love immediately and found myself wanting more at the end. The illustrations, the story - lovely, wonderful, excellent! A stunning book with a simple message reminding us of the beauty of friendship.

Big Wolf quite contentedly lives alone under his tree at the top of a grassy hill. Each morning, he climbs the tree to perform his exercises, which is followed by freshly picked fruit for breakfast. After eating, he takes a long walk and enjoys the solitude. When darkness approaches, he snuggles up under his leaf blanket and settles in for the night. It has always been this way and Big Wolf has always felt satisfied.

Until one day, Big Wolf spots a blue wolf coming towards him in the distance, looking no bigger than a dot. He worries that this wolf will be bigger than him, but is reassured to discover this new wolf is indeed very small (and very blue). The wolves do not speak to each other, but are certainly aware of each other, sneaking sidelong glances. When night time approaches,Little Wolf remains, and Big Wolf shares a teeny tiny corner of his leaf blanket.

In the morning, Big Wolf resumes his typical morning routine, this time with Little Wolf copying his every move. He is careful to pick extra fruit to share for breakfast and finds himself enjoying the company. But when Big Wolf returns from his daily walk, there is no sign of his new friend. Immediately, Big Wolf feels uneasy and searches everywhere. When he can't find Little Wolf, he feels very sad. How is it possible that small a small wolf has taken up so much room in his heart?

When Little Wolf does return, Big Wolf's heart nearly leaps from his body with happiness. Both Little Wolf and Big Wolf realize how lonely they were without the other. They mutually decide that from that moment on, they will live together under the tree. And that's how it will always be.

It's all the small details that make this book so wonderful. On the page where they meet, the wolves are trying so hard to look casual, but you can see the sideways glances they cast. Gorgeous illustrations convey real emotion, with just a tiny bit of humor. It is terribly difficult to explain what a perfect match the writing style and illustrations are. Really and truly, this is one of my very favorite books of the year.

Another little detail that makes us terribly happy? The sequel Big Wolf & Little Wolf, The Leaf That Wouldn't Fall will be coming out this October! The same great wolves, this time wearing winter gear ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, January 30, 2010
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
We got this for my four year old son for Christmas, and he absolutely loves story. It is a sweet tale in which a lone big wolf has a new little wolf come into his life. At first, the big wolf is wary of the little wolf but grows to love him by the end of the story. My son identifies with the little wolf and to this day likes to call himself Little Wolf. The drawings are also beautiful and fit naturally with the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book!, July 1, 2009
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
WONDERFUL story, awesome illustrations. Just an enjoyable, colorful book you can immerse yourself in. All about sharing and friendship and nowhere near overdoing it it with heavy-handedness like many books today. Just a great story that your child will love to have you read to him and you'll enjoy it just as much. Great storytelling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly and in good condition, April 22, 2014
By 
Patti Lehigh (Cordova, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
Daughter needed this book for a class she was teaching - and found the storyline was very good and the pictures were cute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this with my favorite "Little" in mind..., January 3, 2014
By 
Lynda M. Lee (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
The art work was first to capture my attention since I'm always looking for creative images to present to our grandchildren. The story is what kept me connected. This is a story that respects the deep thinking that children can do. We are Big Wolf. And we are Little Wolf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely wonderful!, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
I love everything about this book ... illustrations are colorful, whimsical and lovely, and the story is clever, thoughtful, playful and simply wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First book of the series, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
My son owns a teddy he calls "big woofy" and a smaller one he calls "little woofy" so we changed Big Wolf & Little Wolf's names to match that of his teddies!
Well this is such a delightfully sweet story of the feelings inside you - love. Very beautiful book, so much so that I purchased all 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the occasion, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
I love this book, its in great condition and it was perfect for what I needed!
Thanks for the sale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Plus, May 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
If I could give this delightful book more than 5 stars, I would! This is a book of friendship; it's beauty is in it's simplicity. The book opens with a lone wolf (Big Wolf) living under a tree at the top of a hill. Then enters a new character, Little Wolf. New to both the reader and to Big Wolf. Big Wolf is curious about his new little intruder. They didn't speak a word to each other, but they watched each other. "Their looks were curious- not mean or suspicious at all." This sentence reveals the gentleness in Big Wolf's heart. Big Wolf goes about his daily and nightly routine as usual with Little Wolf joining in. Just when Big Wolf is getting used to his little friend, Little Wolf disappears. "Big Wolf felt uneasy for the first time in his life." "There was no one under his tree." "It was like before. Except that now Big Wolf was sad." As a reader, you can feel the pain and sadness of Big Wolf. Big Wolf is so distraught, he doesn't eat, sleep, or exercise. Big Wolf waits for his little friend. He waits and thinks about how he could be a better friend if Little Wolf returns. Will his friend return? "For the first time in his life Big Wolf's heart beat with joy." The readers heart beats with joy in perfect rhythm with Big Wolf's. The book ends with the beginning of a beautiful friendship! This is on my favorite book list- a must for any child's library. I can't wait to read more from Nadine Brun-Cosme. The illustrations are beautiful and full of emotion. Nadine Brun-Cosme and illustrator Olivier Tallec make a perfect pair just like Big Wolf and Little Wolf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review from Books That Heal Kids, May 11, 2010
This review is from: Big Wolf and Little Wolf (Hardcover)
Have you ever had a whole classroom clap after you read a book? It's pretty cute and cool when it happens. Big Wolf and Little Wolf practically got a standing ovation. This is a touching story of friendship. Big Wolf is content living a solace little life style under a tree, OR IS HE? Something spectacular happens to him when he finally 'invites' the friendship of Little Wolf into his life. He's changed forever and for the better. Sharing, caring, being grateful, appreciation of another....you will get the 'works' in this sweet story. More endearing friendship books for my shelf. Yippeee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Big Wolf and Little Wolf
Big Wolf and Little Wolf by Nadine Brun-Cosme (Hardcover - April 1, 2009)
$16.95 $13.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.