Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Offers "doable" strategies for managing diabetes from counting exchanges to tracking down hidden sugar
The newest cookbook from Better Homes and Gardens, this culinary compendium of more than 300 recipes specially designed for the nutritional needs and restrictions imposed by diabetes is spiral bound, features easy-to-read type for comfortable cooking, is enhanced with 32 full-color photos, notes total carb counts for every recipe, offers "doable" strategies for managing...
Published on December 11, 2005 by Midwest Book Review

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for people who LIKE to cook
I was kind of disappointed in this book because it sometimes required ingredients that are not easily obtainable and the recipes were too complex for those of us who work and have little time to cook.
Published 23 months ago by Fantastic


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Offers "doable" strategies for managing diabetes from counting exchanges to tracking down hidden sugar, December 11, 2005
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
The newest cookbook from Better Homes and Gardens, this culinary compendium of more than 300 recipes specially designed for the nutritional needs and restrictions imposed by diabetes is spiral bound, features easy-to-read type for comfortable cooking, is enhanced with 32 full-color photos, notes total carb counts for every recipe, offers "doable" strategies for managing diabetes from counting exchanges to tracking down hidden sugar, and is ideal for planning meals on a daily and weekly basis. From Asparagus & Potato Skillet; Spiced Pot Roast with Root Vegetables; Cilantro Chicken with Peanuts; and Spicy Jalapeno-Shrimp Pasta; to Acorn Squash Bisque; Lasagna with Zucchini & Walnuts; Southwestern Breakfast Tostadas; and Cherry Cobbler with Corn Bread Biscuits, each recipes comprising Better Homes And Gardens Biggest Book Of Diabetic Recipes, has preparation times, bake times, oven temperatures, number of servings, and "Exchanges" information. If you have a diabetic in your family, then your kitchen cookbook collection would be wonderfully enhanced for them and your whole family's dining experience with the inclusion of the Better Homes And Gardens Biggest Book Of Diabetic Recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Diabetic Recipe Book I have found, April 15, 2011
By 
Tim (La Mesa, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
Well, I ordered several Diabetic recipe books recently. This one is produced by better homes and gardens. It features a really good variety of recipes. The Preparation and cooking times listed are accurate. The Carb and calorie counts are accurate as well. My copy came spiral bound so that it opens flat to make it an easy reference while cooking. I have tried several of the recipes and found every one to be delicious. If I could offer any suggestions on how to improve the book the only one for me would be to add the glycemic load for each of the dishes.

If you only buy 1 Diabetic recipe book, this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, July 14, 2008
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
I am not one to use Cookbooks only because I love to experiment. Yet, I did purchase this one for various reasons.

I have tried several recipes and they all have been Surperb. The ingridents are those that most kitchens have.

All recipes are easy to do.

My Husband was shocked on how wonderful they all have been since they came out a DIABETIC Cookbook.

Highly recommend this item and the price fair.

I purchased at a well known bookstore.

Happy Cooking!!!

B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest Bool of Diabetic Recipes, November 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
This is a must for Diabetic, It has every thing from morning to last snack of the day. Im a new diabetic and wanted to start out right and the Library only gives you 3 weeks so this would be a great cookbook for anyone whos wants to start eatting with great tasty recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook ever, December 12, 2008
By 
C. Foiles (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
The recipes in this book are incredible -- you'd never know they are "diet" recipes. The flavor in these recipes is unbelievable. Just goes to show that you can eat healthy and have great flavor too.

I highly recommend this book for anyone, diabetic or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest book of diabetic recipes, October 26, 2011
By 
Denise Condie (Arlington, Virginia, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
The recipes are flavorful with reduced fats and carbs. The writers definitely knew how to use spices and flavorings. My husband has used 70 recipes in the book and I get to eat them. There have been very few recipes that I haven't liked. He follows the recipes as written. We have bought three additional books for our children to enjoy, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BHG Diabetic Cookbook, March 3, 2006
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
Lots of great recipes that healthful for anyone. The nutrition information is most helpful and the recipes are not overly complicated if cooking is not your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One great Diabetic cookbook, October 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
The recipes in this cookbook are outstanding! Great fresh food, clean taste, and wholesome! My glucose has gone down and has stayed down following these receipes. GREAT for anyone with diabetes and needing to curb their carb intake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For big families., July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
My only complaint with this book is most recipes are for 6-8 people. We are only two. I should have tuned into that fact from the descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diabetic Recipes, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biggest Book of Diabetic Recipes: More than 350 Great-Tasting Recipes for Living Well with Diabetes (Better Homes & Gardens (Plastic Comb)
This is a terrific cookbook with a lot of tasty, easy to prepare recipes. No one in our household is diabetic, but we wanted a cookbook with a multitude of healthy recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.