Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent, totally non-heinous sequel
While Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure was funny, Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey is simply hilarious. Of course, the movie is "dumb," but it's a comedy classic in my opinion. This totally triumphant sequel goes all out to entertain, producing a most memorable ending that brings the storyline of both movies together and unifies the past, present, and future of the Bill...
Published on August 21, 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Adventure, but way Bogus Journey
This movie was nowhere near the original, so should you wish to watch it, don't expect to be in stitches the whole time. I honestly like it less and less each time I watch it, which to me is a mark of a bad movie. It does have it's moments, hence the 2 stars (it is after all Bill and Ted, it HAS to have moments!). My suggestion is rent/borrow it before purchasing it...
Published on May 15, 2006 by Sci Fi Chic


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent, totally non-heinous sequel, August 21, 2003
This review is from: Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey (DVD)
While Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure was funny, Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey is simply hilarious. Of course, the movie is "dumb," but it's a comedy classic in my opinion. This totally triumphant sequel goes all out to entertain, producing a most memorable ending that brings the storyline of both movies together and unifies the past, present, and future of the Bill and Ted universe. Keanu Reeves is, I believe, at his best and most believable as Ted Theodore Logan, while Alex Winter shows off his impeccable comedic timing as Bill S. Preston, Esq. I think the wit is a little sharper in this sequel than it was in the original Bill and Ted film, and its closer associations and sometimes impressively subtle references to popular culture should make the comedy more appealing to a wider audience than that attracted to the original movie.
As the movie opens, the whole world is Bill's and Ted's oyster. They have their own apartment, they are in love with the princess babes they rescued from mediaeval England in the first movie, and the Battle of the Bands is all set to take place the following night. As they already know from Rufus (George Carlin) of the future, their performance at the Battle of the Bands will change the entire world and quickly lead to a blissful future for mankind in which everyone is excellent to each other. In that happy future, Rufus is teaching a class with the aid of such historical figures as Bach, Edison, and the killer guitar player from Faith No More. Then, from out of the blue, the classroom is taken over by gunmen led by Rufus' old crotchety gym teacher Chuck De Nomolos. The man's hatred for Bill and Ted and the way of life they brought into permanent being is so strong that he sends two evil Bill and Ted robots back in time to ruin the lives and future of Wyld Stallyns before they can really even begin. The robots are pretty successful, actually killing the good Bill and Ted. Here begins the truly bogus journey of our heroes, as they face the Grim Reaper himself, get an up close and very personal look at the depths of Hell, and journey to heaven to meet God Himself. It takes more than a well-coordinated Melvin attack on Death to bring them back to life, but they never waver from their determination to come back, save the babes, kill the evil Bill and Ted, and play most triumphantly at the Battle of the Bands.
I love the ending of the movie; it has little shame in its pursuit of utter goofiness, and I admire that type of commitment to inanity for the sake of entertainment. The whole scene takes about fifteen minutes, but the guys put on one heck of a show at the Battle of the Bands. The fun doesn't even stop when the credits begin to roll because we are treated to a number of magazine and newspaper headlines of the future chronicling the many successes of Bill and Ted and the somewhat troubled rock and roll career of Death. I love this most non-heinous, totally excellent movie. If you want comedy, look no further than Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild Stallyns Rules! Did I Spell That Right?, May 30, 2000
By 
C. Manson (Destin, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As good as the first Bill and Ted film was and still is ("Excellent Adventure"), this sequel raised the bar. Hilarious at every turn, and it deals with life and death issues at the same time. Throw in Bill Sadler (the great character actor from "Die Hard 2") as the reaper, appearances by Pam Grier and George Carlin, a parody of Ingmar Bergman's "Seventh Seal", and you've got a movie that probably oughta rate 5 stars. Despite the heady subject matter, the most important plot thread is whether the boys will win the "Battle of the Bands" contest. Station! (PS-this and the first film would make an excellent double-feature DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hands up if you want more!, April 7, 2004
This review is from: Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey (DVD)
There definitely has to be at least one more of Bill & Ted. Both are approaching 40, and their bank accounts may soon be running a little dry (that's a joke), so surely that's an excuse enough to make another! Please? I'm sure there are more Bill & Ted fans out there, it's just not me! Keanu & Alex have both said they'd work with each other again, and lets face it, Alex isn't exactly up to much recently. He's mainly doing behind the scenes stuff, and apparently has a wife and child, and is looking mighty fine for a guy approaching 40. Keanu is also a fairly small name in the movie business these days, you may have heard of the Matrix trilogy?
The first movie was a success. The second isn't as exciting, although it does have its moments, but it is still a totally bogus movie. All the old characters appear, the princesses, the dads, Missy, and some great new stars, William Sadler playing the Duke of Spook, the Doc of Shock, The Man with No Tan, Death himself, the Grim Reaper. He is terrific in this movie, moreso towards the end, where he comes out with a excellent line: "You might be a king or a little street sweeper, but sooner or later you'll dance with the reaper." You've gotta love that line.
Not since Chasing Amy etc, has a movie come out with great end credits. (If you like the final song, you'll probably watch the credits right to the end, if you don't, you won't!) Here are some examples of what appears in the end credits to Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey:
"Be Excellent to Each Other and Party On."
The Full On First Unit
The Stellar Cast
The Non-Heinous Second Unit
The Bodacious Video Effects
The Atypical Creature & Makeup Effects
The Unprecedented Video Photography
The New Age Dudes
Totally Outstanding Guitars Provided By
Camera Operator "Evil" Bill Roe
First Assistant Camera "Good" Bill Clevenger
I hope there will be a third Bill & Ted movie. The best bit of both movies has to be the newspaper/magazine covers towards the end. If you read the headlines, they're pure class! If you haven't seen these movies, you must. They're before Keanu really hit the big time, when all he could do was goofy (and sexy at the same time!), and when Alex really didn't look like he'd hit puberty yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Non-Non-Non-Non-Heinous, March 31, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey (DVD)
I really didn't think Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey was gonna be as good as Excellent Adventure, but it was! I rented it at my friend's house, and then I rented it again the next day when I came home, that's how good it was. I think it's worth it just to see the few parts with Good Bill & Ted talking to Evil Bill & Ted... and maybe the part where Evil Bill throws some junk food at himself. I crack up every time. Keanu Reeves and Alex Winter are both most excellent in this movie, and are also most triumphant as Evil Bill & Ted. Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey was MOST unprecedented. I totally recommend it, dude!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Adventure, but way Bogus Journey, May 15, 2006
This review is from: Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey (DVD)
This movie was nowhere near the original, so should you wish to watch it, don't expect to be in stitches the whole time. I honestly like it less and less each time I watch it, which to me is a mark of a bad movie. It does have it's moments, hence the 2 stars (it is after all Bill and Ted, it HAS to have moments!). My suggestion is rent/borrow it before purchasing it. If you love it--buy it. If not--don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Totally Bogus, Dude, February 8, 2003
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I enjoy watching BILL AND TED'S EXCELLENT ADVENTURE because it is such a humorous, fun movie that takes a look at time travel in a very light-hearted way. I avoided watching BILL AND TED'S BOGUS JOURNEY for the longest time because I knew it just wouldn't compare to the first and the concept just didn't appeal to me.

Well, I'm sorry to say, but the Bogus Journey isn't anywhere near as good as the original film. Bill and Ted have been out of high school for a long time, yet they still act and behave like they're in high school. That's not so bad, but then they get killed by evil robot counterparts from the future and the movie quickly goes downhill from there until the last ten minutes of the film where we learn how Bill and Ted became the great Bill and Ted of the future. The whole journey through Heaven and Hell that the bumbling duo travel is a pain to watch. Also, what's the deal with a Martian in Heaven? That's just wrong. Sure, Station is a fun character, but it just doesn't fit. Also, we know how Bill and Ted came back to life, but how did Station come back from death?

Anyway, I'm taking this movie way too seriously, but that's the point. Whereas, the first movie was fun and humorous enough to ignore the plot holes and suspend your disbelief, this one is not. Besides explaining Bill and Ted history, the only other high point of this movie is the scene where Bill and Ted challenge Death; it's a great bit of comedy and makes the drudgery of most of the rest of the movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good as the first one, June 20, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey (DVD)
Bill and Ted are a little older now and so their naive, dumb personnas don't work as well as the first time around. The Station character is non-non-heinous and seems totally out of place. The Grim Reaper is great though and the scene where Bill and Ted battle with the Reaper via Milton Bradley games is one of my all time favorite cinema moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pardon Me, But Your Shoelace is Untied ..., March 28, 2003
I'm afraid I'll have to say I like the sequel even better than the original "Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure". The original was a lot of fun and brought a fresh script. Obviously some of those things are going to be repeated in the sequel for the sake of continuity, but I like the screenplay on the sequel even better (don't get me wrong, the first film is great!) ...
Briefly, Chuck D. Nomulus is back with a vengeance and plotting to overthrow the Utopian society constructed around the philosphies and music of (who else?) Bill & Ted. Chuck's evil(!) plan includes two robot Bill & Ted's designed to supplant the real guys and cancel out the past (kinda like SkyNet tried in "Terminator") ... will Chuck succeed in his evil plan? ... you'll have to buy the movie to find out ...
There's some classic footage from the Star Trek episode "Arena" and I think the boys even visit the same rock formation where it was filmed (a little homage?) ... A Martian named "Station" helps the boys with their own little science experiment which provides a little action reminiscent of "Rock 'Em, Sock 'Em Robots" (for those of you who grew up in 1970's and had the game) ...
Pam Grier is absolutely beautiful in this film ... she lets the boys enter the local band contest ... and there are a few surprises in store. The soundtrack is fun and the language is generally acceptable for family viewing and overall a PG-13 rating is about right.
George Carlin is back as Rufus and Missy is back, too, though she proves to be a bit fickle. There's a little bit of theology in the film which is not exactly Biblical, but yet it's poignant in its own way in a few spots. And Bill & Ted experience a few revelations themselves. Oh, well ... it's a movie!!!
Hats off to William Sadler, playing two roles in the move (one major and one minor) ... absolutely hilarious and creative ... I could not have been more amazed to discover Sadler playing the part of Death. Bill & Ted challenge him to a game of Twister, Clue and Battleship, among others, for all the marbles. Sadler steals every single scene he's in and he deserves it.
The special effects are great and a hoot to watch. With the DVD version, you get the teaser and theatrical trailers (though there's apparently not much difference in them), a behind-the-scenes featurette, and subtitles / spoken languages of English, French, Spanish and Portuguese. If you've conquered many of the romantic Latin-based languages, you'll have a heyday.
This is one film I've enjoyed watching over and over again which is why I gave it 5 stars. It's fun every time I watch it and I pick up a few things, like the birthday card given to one of their girlfriends celebrating her 521st birthday (they were from the past you know!) ... the van scene with Station doing a bit of engineering, and Death pointing out how helpful he's been is just great ...
If you haven't seen the first film, "Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure", then you must get it and watch it first. Then you'll be able to appreciate the inside jokes and plot twists of "Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey" completely, as it was meant to be. Have fun and be excellent to one another, dudes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not the same magic as before., February 27, 2008
By 
SRFireside "ZOOM!" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey (DVD)
Time travel's most unlikely heroes are at it again. This time the romp isn't as fun as their first movie. You would think with the same writing team from Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure some of the old magic would still be there. Alas it wasn't. It's not that Bogus Journey wasn't funny or enjoyable enough to watch, but at the same time it's not in the same league as its predecessor on many levels.

First off the future setting was off from before. The futuristic costumes in this movie took a massive turn for the worse compared to the last one (can you say day-glow foam suits?). Sets weren't as bad, but you can notice a change. The villain also seemed out of place in this film, but I guess he keeps the plot moving. Granted the evil Bill and Ted robots and their blatant badness were amusing... to a point. Then it gets tired and repetitive. The chemistry between Bill and Ted themselves didn't seem as strong as the first movie either. Maybe it's just the script that's making it seem strained

Instead of traveling through time they are going through Heaven, Hell, Purgatory (sorta) and plain old San Dimas. A few cameos from those historical characters in the last movie, Socrates or Abe Lincoln, would have fit perfectly in the story. But that never happens. That interaction with a couple of teens from the valley and historical icons is what made the first movie so great. You don't get the same kind of interaction this time around. The only exception, and a good one I might add, is their relationship with the Grim Reaper. William Sadler literally steals the show with a fantastically funny performance through and through.

I might as well hit my biggest gripe, which happens at the end of the movie. Essentially all that talk from the last movie about, "no matter what you do your current clock is always ticking" was pretty much thrown out the window in place of a quick fix. Also they wasted some good talent with George Carlin, who does pretty much nothing in the movie but fulfill an immensely stupid plot twist... thus again the writers take an easy way out of the plot.

I know I have been slamming this movie hard, but I will admit it's still fun to watch once you get past the crap. The scenes with the Grim Reaper are alone worth seeing the movie. I guess all this stuff I said is to just warn you not to expect too much from Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey. It's good for a few laughs, but don't expect greatness... or very goodness at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill And Ted's Journey through the After-life., April 2, 2003
By 
Sean Parauka (Orange, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first Bill and Ted movie was a big hit and now they came out with an awsome sequel. Instead of going through time, they go to the after-life. The two began a Bogus Journey they won't ever forget.
The story starts out in San Dimas, CA 2688 at Bill and Ted University. Rufus (George Carlin) is teaching a seminar class and the evil Chuck De Nomolos invades with his private army. With him are two evil robots of Bill and Ted who he sends back through time to kill them before they become superstars.
We find the Wyld Stallyns (Bill, Ted, Elizabeth, and Joanna) auditioning for the battle of the bands contest. Of course they stink, but they still get a shot in the contest. That night after Bill and Ted propose to their girlfriends, the evil twins call the good Bill prettending to be Joanna and dump them. So the evil twins show up prettending to be helping them by bringing them to the desert where the evil twins said the girls were. Instead they throw them off a cliff and the good ones are dead.
Then they wake up in the after-life seeking revenge and then Death shows up (William Sadler). He tells them to come with him and they ask him if they can come back to life. Deaths says they must challenge him to a contest and if they win, they go back to life and if not they stay in the after-life. So they ditch him by melvining him (otherwords, a wedgie).
So, they go Ted's parents for help and Ted's step-mom, Missy and her spiritual group send them to hell. So they are stuck in their own personal hells that revolve around the bad things they did in life. After the two being chased by a evil colonel, a evil easter bunny and Bill's grandma, they decide to challenge Death.
Now on with the games. They play Battleship and of course Bill and Ted win. Death is a poor sport and makes them play best 2 out of 3. Then he loses again in Clue and he says best of 3 out of 5. Then he loses in electronic football. Bill: "Best of 7?" Death: "DAMN RIGHT!" The last game is Twister. He loses and decides to take them back to life. They go to heaven, and find two alien scientists to help them build two good robots of themselves.
Now they have built the robots and they are at the Battle of the Bands where the evil ones are. So they destroy them at the concert. Chuck De Nomolos shows up to finally kill him themselves. He loses and Death melvins him (Wedgie). They play at the concert and win. The song they play is KISS's very own "God Gave Rock and Roll To You II" that they released for the movie and for their Revenge album in 1992.
This movie isn't as exciting as the first but definately a great sequel. Take the Bogus journey with Bill and Ted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey
Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey by Peter Hewitt (DVD - 2001)
$14.98 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.