Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEW RULES: Got Live If You Want It ...
I already own the NEW RULES audiobook, which was recorded by Bill Maher in a studio without an audience. With roughly three hours of material, the audiobook is the most comprehensive persentation of Bill's numerous new rules (not to mention I'd rather hear the material in Maher's own voice than read the printed version). The new rules on this DVD -- totaling 45 minutes...
Published on July 16, 2006 by J. Lund

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a different approach...
The three star rating that I am giving this DVD is no way indicative of the material that this DVD presents. The strong political humor that is brought to the table by Bill Maher is top notch. No, the reason this DVD gets three stars is because of the price in relation to the length of the DVD. Buying this DVD is like buying a lesser version of an SNL Best Of... The...
Published on July 10, 2006 by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEW RULES: Got Live If You Want It ..., July 16, 2006
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
I already own the NEW RULES audiobook, which was recorded by Bill Maher in a studio without an audience. With roughly three hours of material, the audiobook is the most comprehensive persentation of Bill's numerous new rules (not to mention I'd rather hear the material in Maher's own voice than read the printed version). The new rules on this DVD -- totaling 45 minutes not including extras -- frequently overlaps what's in the book, which itself at times reprised the material from the original HBO broadcasts which comprise this DVD. Either way, the point is that most of the rules will be familiar to anyone who has read or heard the book (and it goes without saying to those who've watched the broadcasts on HBO).

I agree with other reviewers who have criticized the relatively high list price and/or the incomplete presentation of what was originally broadcasted in the "new rules" segment of the first three seasons of his HBO show. Yet when I get to the bottom line -- is this DVD funny? -- in my opinion the answer is consistently yes. The edits from gag to gag are as smooth as can be, and there's several bits of other material from his show to offer comic relief -- so to speak -- from the "new rules" segments. Even if you know the "punch line" of the rules, the inspired rapport that Bill has with his studio audience carries over to the DVD, making it an entertaining option for those of us who enjoy Bill's not-PC humor (which is not surprisingly rated TV-MA). Although I'd recommend his live performance DVDs first, NEW RULES is a welcome addition to what is available by Bill Maher on video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe a different approach..., July 10, 2006
By 
Mark (Bowling Green, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
The three star rating that I am giving this DVD is no way indicative of the material that this DVD presents. The strong political humor that is brought to the table by Bill Maher is top notch. No, the reason this DVD gets three stars is because of the price in relation to the length of the DVD. Buying this DVD is like buying a lesser version of an SNL Best Of... The clips on this DVD are from Bill Maher's HBO television show, and on this show is a segment called New Rules, hence the name. The DVD presents New Rules (not all of them, but rather a selection of the best of the best) from seasons 1-3, as well as a few fake commercials and skits thrown in now and then. The jokes contained in this segment are raunchy, offensive, and aimed towards right-wing conservatives, mostly the president. During a skit in which Maher is being tortured for making fun of the president, he makes promises to marry Ann Coulter, at which point a black bag is placed over his head and a butchy-looking female soldier steps into the picture, indicative of Abu Ghraib. This DVD is not for the easily offended, or the Republican. The DVD is only 45 minutes long, which is why I caution you to only purchase this if you are a strong fan of Maher and his show. Otherwise, rental stores are receiving limited amounts of the DVD, and it might be worth a rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yay and Nay, November 11, 2006
By 
G. Twiford (Indianapolis IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
Bill Maher is one of my favorite comedians at the moment. His stand-up releases are all very funny and intelligent, and his HBO show as a whole is very funny and intelligent. The only thing that he does that isn't always great is the new rules segments he does. And just like he did with his opening monologues of his old show, Maher squeezes more money out of his fans by selling things we've already heard him say. While the book gets away with it, this DVD really does not.

It's true that the actual DVD is only 45 minutes, though there is bonus material that pretty much doubles the length. But they are all edited-down less-funny versions, they are interrupted by the occasional non-new rule sketch, and they are completely overshadowed by frequent cut-aways to a fake audience laughing (these are clips from different seasons, but it's the same audience with some way over-acting extras) which was completely unnecessary.

When I picked it up I was super excited, and less than half way into it, I felt sick. What a waste. Get the book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only 45 minutes long, July 13, 2006
By 
B. A. Brown (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
It would have been nice of Amazon.com to tell us this BEFORE we purchased it. I can't help thinking the running time was deliberately left out of the product details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wrldtrvlr, January 19, 2008
By 
City Studio (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
Not what I was expecting. This DVD is simply short clips from his shows over the years. I expected at least a little something more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stellar content, ridiculous price, August 11, 2006
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
Yes, this may be considered a speciality product but the price is too high considering the length. Maher's humor makes me laugh but there should have been more material, or else the price should be lower. Too bad, maybe more people would give his material a try. New rules is outrageous with its politically incorrect tone. Nothing is sacred, religion, icons, kids. Maher is a Libertarian and frankly militaristic. There may be something for everyone, unless you can't laugh at yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as Maher's other DVD's, February 4, 2007
By 
cccp (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Bill Maher, and I loved Politicaly Incorrect. New Rules I found to be a bit of a dissapointment; the DVD is merely a compilation of (some) hilarious scenes of Maher's talk show, but I did't like it to be fair. He's trying to score too fast and in a too easy way with this DVD, I think. Still, if you're a hardcore Maher-fan, I guess this DVD belongs in your collection. But where I watched PI and the others over 5 or 6 times each, this one was a one-off affair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit thin..., August 12, 2006
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
I think this release lacked a bit of substance, to many "one-liners". My first meeting with Bill Maher was the show "Victory begins at home", and I think that the other material published on DVD is not as nearly as good as that show. A bit disappointed....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maher's Skillful Skewering Captured Neatly on a Compact DVD, July 14, 2006
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
On a broader plain than his closest competition (Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert), comedian Bill Maher skewers absurdities beyond the well-trodden political arena into the media-friendly dimensions of American life with a bracing candor and wit. Too controversial for ABC or even Comedy Central, Maher moved to HBO in 2003 with a revised program, "Real Time With Bill Maher". He developed a regular segment called "New Rules" where he singles out public behavior that he acknowledges is wrong or at least questionable. This 2006 DVD culls three seasons worth of "New Rules" to end up as a "best-of" compilation.

It sounds like it would be wearing to listen to a series of satirical rants from Maher. However, not having been a regular viewer of "Real Time", I am struck by how often he hits his targets with vitriolic accuracy and adroit humor. There are too many hilarious segments to single out, but my personal favorites involve gay fraternities, the correlation between body fat and Scientology, the irritating stickers on individual pieces of fruit, the Village People-wannabe clothing of George W., the excrements of seeing-eye dogs, and the pop-up ads for Classmates.com. Inevitably, there are some bits that already feel dated like ridiculing the "Friends" finale and freedom fries. The program includes staged inserts to break up Maher's talking-head comments, such as a terror alert under the guise of an innocuous weather forecast.

It was smart of the producers to limit the running time of the main program to 45 minutes because any longer would be too exhausting. On the upside, there is a half-hour's worth of extras. There are some "New Rules" that simply did not make the final cut though they are just about as funny. Even better are four editorial segments that come across as more fully developed comedy bits, as Maher covers topics such as same-sex marriage, the indiscriminate use of wolves in Bush's political ads, gays in the military, and of course, the need for a Bush recall movement. It's all hilarious, often sharply insightful and a great way to enjoy Maher's humor without paying the premium price of HBO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny - Well worth the time and money!, August 26, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bill Maher - New Rules (DVD)
Although I have watched most of Bill Maher "New Rules" on HBO, I still wanted to get the DVD to watch it again! Regardless of your political leanings, Bill Maher can still give a good laugh and something to think about. The DVD is a distilled portions of his HBO series, so you will find at least a good hour of intensely funny material. Well worth the time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bill Maher - New Rules
Bill Maher - New Rules by Bill Maher (DVD - 2006)
$19.97 $6.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.