Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and moving
It's always a risk to buy a DVD sight unseen, but I bought this gem based on some reviews I've read and the fact that it's made by Worldwide Pictures who have produced some great movies (Vow to Cherish, Something to sing about).
Road to Redemption tells of a young couple Amanda Tucker (the lovely Julie Condra) and Alan Fischer (Jay Underwood) who are sick of...
Published on April 25, 2004 by J. Botha

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy, but good.
The overall theme and message of this movie is great, but the action gets a little cheesy at times. Don't let this discourage you, however, it is a worthwhile film.
Published on January 5, 2007 by Strider


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and moving, April 25, 2004
By 
J. Botha "claude777" (Melbourne, Australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Road to Redemption (DVD)
It's always a risk to buy a DVD sight unseen, but I bought this gem based on some reviews I've read and the fact that it's made by Worldwide Pictures who have produced some great movies (Vow to Cherish, Something to sing about).
Road to Redemption tells of a young couple Amanda Tucker (the lovely Julie Condra) and Alan Fischer (Jay Underwood) who are sick of struggling along financially so "borrow" some money from Amanda's boss who also happens to be a Mob boss, along with the money comes racing tips for some fixed races so off they go to the racing track. All does not go to plan and Amanda finds herself having to leave town to track down her Grandfather Nathan (Pat Hingle) in order to hit him up for some cash so she can pay back her boss.
There are some excellent performances put in by the lead actors as well as the supporting mobsters Tony Longo as Vincent the enforcer is very amusing as it Wes Studi as Frank Lightfoot. There are some real funny set pieces in this film and some of it reminded me of the also excellent Dumb and Dumber (minus the crudeness).
Road to Redemption is a family friendly comedy with real heart. It's extremely amusing and a joy to watch. It also very moving and touching as well as Amanda gets to know her Grandfather and learns about what is most important in life. I recommend it whole-heartily for anyone needing a good laugh and it's refreshingly free from smut, foul language and jokes made in bad taste.
Enjoy this film and thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story about the Relationship that Really Matters, April 19, 2001
By 
RNB (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road to Redemption (DVD)
Road to Redemption is dubed as a comedy movie. Although the comedy part of the movie, allowed a chuckle now and then. The movie made a bigger hit in it's message. A young girl living with her lover works for a Mob boss. She and her lover in get in trouble by talknig illegal money mailed to her boss. Financially dry, she and her lover blow it on fixed horse racing bets. When they loose all the money, she travels to her meet her rich retired grandfather, who by the way has not seen her since she was a little girl. He agrees to give her the money owed under one condition. That she takes him fishing. Off they go cross country, with the mob at their heels, and her lover who turns eventually out to be her traitor. The theme is no doubt directed towards a grandfather who wanted to start a new relationship with his granddaugther, who is only intrested in getting the money she needs. A Good story, with a God inspired message, a good dvd for all young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A++++, March 5, 2002
This review is from: Road to Redemption (DVD)
Road to redemption was better than I hoped for. A Christian movie with some humor. Don't miss out-Get the DVD version! You will get many extras that you won't find on the VHS. This is not a witnessing tool, but a good addition to the Christain DVD collection, try "Vanished" by cloud ten pictures for a witnessing tool. If you liked this movie try "Something to sing about" & "A Vow to Cherish" both are heart warming Christian movies and are also by world wide pictures. Plus they have many extras if you purchase the DVD versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie for everyone - it has it all, November 10, 2001
By 
Frank A. Coluccio (Toms River, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Road To Redemption is rare in that it has 3 great features that you do not see together too often. It has super comedy, the kind that is so popular today with a mafia theme, outstanding scenery that is colorful and majestic, and a Christian message that is so wonderfully presented that it is the best evangerlical tool I've ever seen. You can present this movie to anyone and after they stop laughing (which will take some time), they will really relate to the spititual message. The story is simple, presented well and the acting is superb. This is a can't miss flick. You will thoroughly enjoy it and want 100 of your closest friends and family to see it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Creative Christian Comedy, April 20, 2002
By 
This review is from: Road to Redemption (DVD)
Yes, it's corny at times, but if you do corny just right, you can not only get away with it, but it can be great entertainment! Most comedies end up trying to be funny by getting as close to the border of offensive as possible. It is SOOOO refreshing to find something that makes you laugh that you also don't feel like trashing in the next scene. The story starts out a bit weird and corny and develops into a humorous, dramatic, heartwarming tale of what real meaning in life is about. It is unique in it's genre, in a world full of too many rapture, end-days Christian movies or the alternate end of the road, then get saved variety. Yet, at the same time, it effectively assaults the shallow thinking of today's society with looking beyond the veil. Try the movie, make sure you get past the 1st 10 minutes and I think you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is the Mob after you? God can handle it!, April 30, 2003
By 
shoutgrace "savedbyhisgrace" (Charleston, WV United States) - See all my reviews
This is one Christian film that lots of people will enjoy. I mean believers in Christ and non-believers. It's a great insight on following the road to Christ. It's about a couple, Amanda (Julie Condra) and Alan (Jay Underwood) who found stolen mob money. They decide to gamble the money on horse racing and lose the money. The gangsters find out about this and go after the couple. The grandaughter, Amanda seeks the help of her wealthy grandpa Nathan (Pat Hingle) for the money she needs to pay back the mob. But grandpa has plans. It seems he "got religion" and is willing to give her the money. But she has to drive him to visit his favorite fishing hole some 800 miles away. There are some breathe-taking scenes of Utah. So they're all on the run from the mob and along the way learn a valuable lesson of choices and consequences. In the meantime, God gets Amanda's attention and God gives the mob a run for their money. The movie is rated PG for thematic elements and mild violent content, but still a clean Christian movie. It's advised that very young children shouldn't view this. For older teens and adults may find a lesson to be learned that doing something you know is wrong can only get you into deeper trouble. Billy Graham's 'Road to Redemption' is really a great movie with a great message to lead those to Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Clean Comedy, June 8, 2001
By A Customer
Even though this movie has a Christian message, it is suitable for all people who want a comedy movie with good clean jokes. It is a great movie for the family in that, it has some slapstick humor that kids will enjoy while still maintaining a story line interesting for adults and older kids. It has NO offensive language and a lot of good action. While most recent Christian-themed movies appear low-budget, this movie has good secial effects.Try this movie out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome entertaining entertaining comedy with a message, November 30, 2005
By 
This review is from: Billy Graham Presents - Road to Redemption (DVD)
This is simply one the best movies I've seen in a very long time.

I wasn't expecting much when I sat down to watch but was surprised how much I was moved watching it. The base of the movie is comedy but I also found myself being anxious and moved to tears, especially at the end. It's actually a very happy ending, but it makes you cry. It's also got some nice stunts and a cool car chase.

The Christian message of salvation is wonderfully done in this movie and I think appeals to everyone. I highly highly recommend this movie for your collection and to give to others who need some joy and hope in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy, but good., January 5, 2007
This review is from: Billy Graham Presents - Road to Redemption (DVD)
The overall theme and message of this movie is great, but the action gets a little cheesy at times. Don't let this discourage you, however, it is a worthwhile film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie! One of my all time favorites!, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie starts out rather comical and remains so most of the way through. But, takes a turn to the serious with a few near death experiences. Reminding us that we never know when our time is up. A great movie about a grandfather who desires to get to know his long lost granddaughter, when she finds herself in need of some serious money, then remembers her grandfather who she remembers has LOTS of money. When one scheme turns bad, she is running from the mafia (her boss), and plans another scheme to get money from her grandfather...one thing leads to another, in the end she gives her life over to God...and things change completely. Great movie, lots of action, but short scenes of mild violence, shooting, tense momments. Best for older children or while watching with parents who can explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Billy Graham Presents - Road to Redemption
Billy Graham Presents - Road to Redemption by Robert Vernon (DVD - 2006)
$19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.