Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my top ten . . .
Despite my best instincts to the contrary, this movie remains among my top ten favorite (notice, not BEST - there's a difference) movie of all time.
There is something about this movie that simply appeals to me. Being in the military and working as the Executive Officer of a Basic Training Battery, I definitely recognize the witt and toughness of Drill Sergeant...
Published on October 31, 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars funny but not worth buying
I normally Like or love neil simon plays.. but this was a medi yoker job.
Its funny the first time or two you see it but after that its time wasting
Published 14 months ago by Mayberry mommy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my top ten . . ., October 31, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Biloxi Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Despite my best instincts to the contrary, this movie remains among my top ten favorite (notice, not BEST - there's a difference) movie of all time.
There is something about this movie that simply appeals to me. Being in the military and working as the Executive Officer of a Basic Training Battery, I definitely recognize the witt and toughness of Drill Sergeant Merwyn J. Toomey (actually, I kind of wish we were allowed to be more like him today - it would produce better soldiers). But the appeal of this film goes far beyond recognition of the brilliance of Christopher Walken's performance as the DS.
Above all the dialog in the movie is crisp and funny, without an element of raunch or being to sarcastic. There are feelings of genuine nostalgia and sweetness about the picture which are hard to describe, but definitely noticeable. They are in the scene in which Broderick's character meets Daisy for the first time, they permeates the scene in which Eugene loses his virginity and they even appear at the end of the film, where the soldiers of the company learn DS Toomey is leaving.
The performances of all the principles are nothing short of fantastic. Broderick is perfect as Jerome, Walken is great as DS Toomey, and Penelope Anne Miller - wow.
The last think about this film that makes it stand out is the music. There is a slow rendition of "How High the Moon" which makes its appearance at the beginning, at the end and in the scene at the USO where Jerome meets Daisy. This version of the song, which is normally done at a jazzy trot, is wonderful, almost hypnotic. For this song alone, the soundtrack is worth exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly natural comic treat, August 1, 2002
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Biloxi Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If there has to be a message to this movie, and I don't really believe there's supposed to be, it's that a sense of humor will indeed get you through the worst of situations.
Matthew Broderick and Christopher Walken carry this comedy. There is an unassuming quality here. It's funny without trying to be funny, or at least that's the feeling I get from it. There's not much of a chance that this is on anybody's top ten list, not even a top ten comedy list. There's no obvious contrivance here. The whole story just happens, flowing smoothly along without effort. And so it's exceedingly pleasing, immensely enjoyable, quite lifelike.
And as another reviewer points out, for all the innocent quality of the movie, there are "blue" scenes here, but nothing graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique., June 21, 2000
This review is from: Biloxi Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I found this movie to be simple and cute. I watched it once,and then i wanted to watch it again because i enjoyed it so much. The whole story revolves mainly around Eugene Jerome (Matthew Broderick) and how much trouble he has at the army with a sergeant,the people he mainly talks to,and the life he is having there. His fantasy was to lose his virginity and fall in love,both of which he did,in the same day! Eventually he made amends with his friends,after all the things they went through. I really enjoyed this movie,i was surprised about that too. All together the movie was good. This is one i would want to buy and add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bootcamp Wars, April 21, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biloxi Blues (DVD)
Biloxi Blues is one of Neil Simon's most moving comedies. The famous Simon one-liners are built into the play in the person of Eugene Jerome (played by Matthew Broderick as a thinly disguised Simon himself), whose voice-over narration is that of a comic writer looking back on the often excruciating experience of boot camp just before the end of World War II.

Eugene quips, speaking in retrospect and in the character of the young recruit, but more often he expresses frustration, anger, anxiety, or regret, as he learns to cope with Americans from all over the United States, some of whom do not share his outlook or sense of values.

There are formidable, sharply etched characters, besides that of Eugene Jerome. Arnold Epstein, Eugene's highly principled friend, is loathe to compromise his values, even if it means isolation, humiliating punishments, and confrontation with the sergeant in charge. Then there is Sgt. Toomey, brilliantly played by Christopher Walken. He is one of Neil Simon's most astounding creations, based no doubt on an actual person or at least a combination of real-life encounters. Toomey is by turns brutal, funny, just, solicitous, and troubled, a complex authority figure who almost runs away with the film. The audience can easily share the sentiments of the group as expressed by Eugene, that when he leaves they sorely miss him.

The two women, Rowena the hooker (played by Parker Overall) and Daisy the Catholic school girl (played by Penelope Ann Miller) would seem at first glance to be the classic "virgin and whore" dichotomy as an influence in the hero's life. However, it is difficult, despite her profession, to categorize Rowena, whose patience, compassion, and understanding incline her more towards the "heart of gold" cliche, but who is a unique non-stereotypical character in many ways. Through Rowena, Simon shares with us the tenderness as well as the hilarity sometimes connected with a boy's first time.

Every minute of Biloxi Blues is well-crafted and well-acted. I found myself laughing until the tears came one minute and choking back tears of joy, relief, and compassion the next. Biloxi Blues is quite simply one of my all-time favorite comedies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...It's like Africa hot, January 9, 2004
By 
sean (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Biloxi Blues (DVD)
I am thrilled to see this DVD is finally going to be made available. In college I my theater troupe pulled off "Biloxi Blues,"
I went to see Christopher Walken perform in a broadway production of "James Joyce the dead" a few years ago, and low and behold, bumped into Matthew Broderick and his wife. Not only were the two of them in the film production of Biloxi Blues together, but had performed the play together on Broadway as well.
This was about 5 years ago, and I was thrilled to see the two of them were still friends. Great movie, fantastic play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book or movie, take your pick; both are stellar, June 7, 2001
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Biloxi Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Neil Simon's 'Eugene Morris Jerome' plays never fail to make me laugh no matter how many times I see/read them. He's got his finger on the pulse of true comedy, and it's treatment in this film is quite worthy.
Although the whole cast is great, Matthew Broderick does a fine job portraying Eugene; just the right amount of incredulousness and irreverence to do the character justice. But he also carries the few bits of drama without many problems, so for any actor to handle comedy and drama with such flair is commendable.
Christopher Walken as the sadistic Sgt. Toomey steals the show, however, proving he's not just a bad guy in films... he's also a very FUNNY bad guy, with unerring comedic timing, that unfortunately doesn't get shown often enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broderick makes basic training fun, December 13, 2005
This review is from: Biloxi Blues (DVD)
Matthew Broderick created the role of Eugene Jerome at the Ahmanson Theatre in Los Angeles (then Broadway where he won the Best Actor in a Featured Role of a Play Tony Award) in Brighton Beach Memiors. When the film was made he lost out to an inferior Jonathan Silverman.

A few years later he recreated Eugene Jerome at the Ahmanson and Broadway in the follow up Biloxi Blues. This time they were wise when they made the film, they kept Broderick.

Biloxi Blues is semi autobiographical look at Neil Simon's experiences during boot camp during WWII. Eugene has never out of Brooklyn, New York. He is now going to the heart of the bible Biloxi, Missouri. He has gone from on strict environment run by his Jewish mother to a toll different strict environment run by his tough drill sergeant. These changes in situation is the basis of this movie.

Matthew Broderick has Eugene Jerome down pat. His perfectly timed quips define Eugene. Broderick has moved on to bigger and better things but Eugene Jerome will be his defining character.

Christopher Walken personifies the over the top drill instructor. Walken doesn't take the easy road with this role. He let's you see his frustration with being safe at home when he really wants to be on the front lines. This is one of his finest performances.

Park Overall from Empty Nest makes a cameo as the hooker with a sort of heart of gold. Park has an acerbic wit that combines with her natural southern style.

This is the best of the Neil Simon Eugene Jerome trilogy.

DVD EXTRAS: None
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Biloxi Blues, August 2, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biloxi Blues (DVD)
Classic movie that I can watch over and over. Cute sometimes serious, and sometimes humorous, Christopher Walken at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Neil Simon movie, April 3, 2008
This review is from: Biloxi Blues (DVD)
"Biloxi Blues" is the second in the trilogy of autobiographical plays Neil Simon wrote about Eugene Jerome (the first being "Brighton Beach Memoirs" and the third being "Broadway Bound", both of which have also been made into movies). This installment sees Jerome (Matthew Broderick) drafted into the army and forced to endure basic training with a group of men he has absolutely nothing in common with and an "eccentric" drill sergeant, Sgt. Toomey (Christopher Walken). Rather than taking the easy option and making all of these characters two-dimensional stereotypes, as a lesser writer would do, however, Simon gives each of his characters depth and makes his audience genuinely love and respect them, even Sgt. Toomey, especially Sgt. Toomey - and Christopher Walken is really great in this part. My biggest problem with "Brighton Beach Memoirs" was that I found Eugene Jerome to be too passive. Simon actually addresses this issue directly in this play/film (one character actually tells Jerome that he is too passive), and the play/film is all the better for it.

One of the biggest problems with many films that are based on stage plays is that they have a static, stagey feel to them. "Biloxi Blues", however, does not have this problem. The screen adaptation (the screenplay is also written by Neil Simon) is so good that I spent the whole film trying to work out how this could possibly have been performed on stage.

Ever since I was a child, I have always enjoyed the films and plays of Neil Simon ("Murder By Death" was my favourite film from the ages of 5 to 12), but rewatching "Biloxi Blues" the other night, I reached the conclusion that this is my favourite Neil Simon play/film and furthermore, is one of the best movies I have ever seen in my entire life. Now, if only I could get a copy of "Broadway Bound".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie..., April 11, 2007
By 
Michelle Polk (Mississippi, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biloxi Blues (DVD)
Just the right amount of humor and drama. Matthew Broderick played his part perfect. Being a Mississippian myself, I am thankful when they make a movie that is not so unforgiving! You will be entertained thoroughly with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Biloxi Blues
Biloxi Blues by Mike Nichols (DVD - 2004)
$14.98 $9.00
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.