Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
17
5 star
94%
4 star
6%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$9.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 1999
This is one of those smokin albums, so full of detail and expression that you have to listen to again and again to gain every innuendo, every element and to truly understand the meaning of what the players are doing.
I dunno if I dig this album being stuck in "acid jazz"; I kinda agree more with Charlie Hunter himself who has resisted that category by labelling his style "antacid jazz". Whatever, for me personally Hunter and his various troupes over time have built the bridge for me to escape the single-minded torments of pop and rock to enter the exciting, vivacious, ever-changing realm of modern jazz.
Groovy to the max, funky out the door, always exciting and always involving, Charlie Hunter and his gang are the peak of modern jazz for young-minded folks. Hell, you know that if the young folks are buggin the old fogies, them be the young folks to hang with. Isn't it ironic then that Hunter and buddies tend to worship the work of the old school (Colemen, Mingus, et al.)?
This album in particular is a tremendous example of the Hunter groove. Rawer than some of the newer albums, and less produced, it has some great loose moments and some amazing horn work from Dave Ellis. Make sure you sit down for this one; otherwise you may find yourself shakin that booty in ways you never imagined you could.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2000
I picked up this album after reading numerous reviews, labeling Charlie Hunter as the most innovative jazz guitarist imerging in recent years. The first time I listened, I enjoyed it and could appreciate the groove, it sounded like a decent quartet. But then I remembered, Charlie Hunter is the 8-string master and was simultaneously playing the addictive bass lines, as well as churning the organ sounding chord changes. With the melodic stylings of tenor, Dave Ellis, I immediately became a huge Charlie Hunter fan. With every listen, one will pick up on the intricate nuances of Hunter's style. A must have for a any guitar player or jazz head.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2000
This was my intro to Charlie Hunter and I have to admit it took some time to grow on me. Yeah, Charlie is great, enough can't be said about him. But to me the highlight if this cd is Dave Ellis on Sax. Ties in with Sonny Rollins and Cannonball Adderly. And Jay Lane! Where did you come from my man? As far as I'm concerned, this trio could have stayed together for a lifetime.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2015
Charlie Hunter and his "Trio" always bring it. There's something here for everyone, and it's not always a showcase for one of the best guitar players in the world...it has side bars and instrumentation that highlights some very talented musicians and their ability to master their instrument. Yes, they cover Curt Cobain's "Come As You Are," which is very well done. A great record with a variety of sounds and professional delivery that is always...Charlie Hunter and whatever company he keeps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 1998
If you haven't yet experienced the "Hunter touch", get ready. If Charlie and his trio don't get your toes tappin nothing will. His very eclectic and unique guitar/bass playing is phenomenal as his thumb grooves through the rhythms underneath a wonderous array of strumming. Support is good from Jay Lane, whose straight-forward approach to drumming, is not to be overshadowed by the oh-so-familiar "overabundance" common in today's pop music. Provides for a smooth entry into the funk/jazz arena.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2003
Year after year, this CD finds a place in the household rotation. Sad to say, but that's not the case for the other C. Hunter CDs we own. This one grooves and moves, and yet it settles all around with a supreme subtlety. It's Charlie Hunter's one bottom line statement that he belongs. It's not quite at that level of must have/essential CD, but it offers hope that one day Charlie will deliver on his exceptional promise. And it's an incredibly solid outing, worthy of praise and many reissues down the road.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2005
hunter's second release, and his first for blue note, has him mellowing out a little and focusing more on mainstream jazz. with the same lineup as his initial release, hunter, dave ellis and jay lane mix it up on instrumental selections ranging from funk, jazz, post bop and even a hybrid of jazz and rock. hunter's playing is as top notch as always, both as the soloist and when he is backing up ellis in an organ-like fashion. similarly, ellis' solos are creative and excellent. he blows the instrument hard, but never honks it and always stays in step with rest of the music. jay lane keeps the music steady and shines on certain tracks, especially "bullethead". the group seem comfortable with one another and it shines through the music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2008
dope disc. this was my first experience with mr. hunter, and it made me buy up all his discs. smells like teen spirit is hit or miss... i dig it, but a lot of folks think it's lame. musician friends like it, non usually don't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2008
Charlie and the boys really make it happen on this one. The grooves get better and better with more listens.. His version of epistrophy is great as well. A must for any Charlie fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2006
All tunes are terrific, there are none that I'd skip over, which is very rare. Some of the greatest work of the decade by one of the most prolific musicians of my life time. Rest of the band is nothing short of fantastic, sax compliments Charlie's work perfectly. Wish this collection of musicians would have produced more. Another one that I would have to put in my all time top ten favorites. My favorite of all that Charlie has produced so far. If you're unfamiliar with his work, start here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.49
$9.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.