Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful read!
My husband loved reading this, I did as well, and now I am buying a copy for my mom! A wonderful selection for anyone interested in Jewish culture and the immigrant experience. The graphic-novel style is perfect for bringing to life these stories drawn from A Bintel Brief (an advice column for new immigrants in the venerable Yiddish paper The Forward).
Published 4 months ago by sarahtk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Energetic effort
I give the author - artist credit for what seemed like a very interesting idea. Regrettably I did not find this sufficiently compelling to finish the book.
Published 2 months ago by Westchester Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful read!, April 20, 2014
By 
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
My husband loved reading this, I did as well, and now I am buying a copy for my mom! A wonderful selection for anyone interested in Jewish culture and the immigrant experience. The graphic-novel style is perfect for bringing to life these stories drawn from A Bintel Brief (an advice column for new immigrants in the venerable Yiddish paper The Forward).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure to Treasure, April 25, 2014
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
This book is a treasure. It's beautifully drawn, beautifully told. Liana Finck's brings back, and brings to life, a classic feature of the immigrant world - the Bintel Brief. I have now bought four copies - one for myself, three for my friends. My book club will read it in June, and I can't wait for the discussions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of art, literature, and history..., June 1, 2014
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
Young artist Liana Finck has produced a graphic book about letters sent to "The Forward", a Yiddish newspaper published in New York City, after the turn of the 20th century. Her book, "A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York", can be viewed as art, literature, and history.

The lower East Side of New York City was the home of thousands of Jewish immigrants who emigrated here from Russia and other eastern European areas. Mostly poor, they settled in the tenements and looked for jobs to support themselves and their families. "Greenhorns", as the newest immigrants were sneeringly referred to by other Jews who had been here for longer...at least one or two years in many cases, were also saving to bring their families over from the lands they had left. (These early immigrants were fleeing the Russian pogroms and though not known at the time, of course, bringing family over here in the first thirty or so years of the century saved them from the Nazi killing fields of the 1940's.)

The newspaper "The Forward" was a Yiddish piece-of-familiarity for these new immigrants. They could read the paper in their own language and the newspaper published helpful and timely articles for them.One of the most popular features of the paper was the "Bintel Brief", a column of letters written to editor Abraham Cahan, seeking his advise on points of assimilation. And what interesting letters Cahan received and answered. Letters that questioned American habits which seemed strange to these new immigrants. Questions about manners and love and history and almost anything that challenged these newcomers.

Liana Finck has taken ten or so letters and built a story around them. Beginning in today's world, she looks back on relatives who had saved copies of the newspapers with a selection of these letters. Her art work is excellent and the book is deeply touching to those of us who had relatives who made that long trek over a hundred years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun., May 26, 2014
By 
Righter (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
A delightful book that arrived promptly and is giving great pleasure to the whole family. Glad to have it around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These wonderful, heartfelt stories are brilliantly illuminated by Liana's deeply ..., July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
Do not pass this by! These wonderful,heartfelt stories are brilliantly illuminated by Liana's deeply moving artwork. This is a book you can look at many, many times. Absolutely tremendous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Energetic effort, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
I give the author - artist credit for what seemed like a very interesting idea. Regrettably I did not find this sufficiently compelling to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really a hauntingly beautiful piece. Obviously evocative of a certain time, July 13, 2014
By 
R. Case (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
Really a hauntingly beautiful piece. Obviously evocative of a certain time, and the art is suffused with that nostalgia -- but the problems the letter writers describe are also so every day in their joy, pain and longing that the book is a wonderful visit to the past and present at the same time. I was transported reading it. Brava Liana Finck! (Or as the brief writers themselves might have said more properly, "A sheynem dank, Liana"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book., July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
Grew up in NYC in the 50's, & tho not Jewish, remember The Bintl Brief in the Forward. A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars My main disappointment was, I thought the artwork was too simplistic, August 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
Although this little graphic novel has been well-reviewed, I'm sorry to say I was unimpressed. My main disappointment was, I thought the artwork was too simplistic. I thought the artwork failed to convey the kind of complex enhancement that would have helped convey the writers' stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 22, 2014
By 
Phyllis Kelvin (NEW YORK, NY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York (Paperback)
A fine addition to the growing repertoire of adult graphic literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York
A Bintel Brief: Love and Longing in Old New York by Liana Finck (Paperback - April 15, 2014)
$17.99 $14.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.