Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Biochemical Calculations: How to Solve Mathematical Problems in General Biochemistry, 2nd Edition
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 14, 2001
I have taught Biochemistry and Enzymology at the undergraduate and graduate level for over 20 years, and have recommended this book every year, to every student. Although the field of biochemistry has changed greatly during this time period, certain fundamental concepts have not changed at all, and remain central to a true understanding of how to do biochemistry. These include acid/base chemistry, energetics, enzyme kinetics, spectrophotometry, and isotopes. Of these, the first three gnerally give beginning (and even some advanced)students the most difficulty. In "Biochemical Calculations" Dr. Segel provides excellent explanations of the most important aspects of these topics. He provides example problems, with the answers worked out in detail, and then at the end of each chapter he provides numerous practice problems (along with the answer). I know of no other source of such a variety of practice problems covering these topics. Any student who expends the effort to work through these problems will certainly gain the confidence to tackle the common quantitative problems associated with biochemistry. Clearly this is not intended to be a biochemistry textbook, but rather a supplemental resource, to be used to more fully understand the topics covered in the early chapters of all current biochemistry texts.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2006
As a biochemistry teacher, I find that a large number of our students are defficient in their quantitative skills. This is because many of them are biology majors, who do not have the best math background. This relatively inexpensive volume bridges the math gap for these students. It also provides the teacher with tools that increase his efficiency in dealing with the problem, without taking too much time away from the materials in the course syllabus. Although it is an older book, there is no modern replacement for what it does.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2008
This book is definitely the best to read for anyone who deals with buffers biological systems protein purifications and so on. It reveals a lot of details so important for a practical chemist to know. The information inside of this book will definitely help you to save your time and money. It will in a very good and understandable way explain the most intricate questions. It can possibly change your vision of numerous key processes. One of the best advantages is that there is very little "water " in this book - you won't have to read 100 pages to get to the main idea. Really recommend to the chemistry majors.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2012
This book, albeit a bit old, is an excellent book in learning Biochemistry. Our professor did mention some new tests and enzymes that Segel didn't mention in his book because of time, but reading Segel's book makes sense in topics that just stumped me.

I felt that Segel's book provides a lot of examples, not just a formula, an example, and then the next topic. For example, during the acid base chemistry in the beginning, the book covers all realms of a topic, all possible scenarios of pKas and pKbs. He talks in-depth on Henderson-Hasselbalch and goes deep into buffer solutions, how to calculate change in pH and it's affect in different solutions.

I was scared of biochem because everyone kept saying it was hard and tough to memorize a lot, but it really isn't that hard. Following this book and doing the problems out of it are a big advantage to any biochem class you plan on taking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
Haven't had the chance to work on any problems yet, but was thrilled when the book came way earlier than I expected it to. This came highly recommended by several bicohem professors, so looking forward to doing problems!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2010
I am biochemist, a grad student. Initially I tried to use book from library, but I found myself refering this book very often. So finally I had to buy this book. I bought used book. It was not like new but in a good condition- means no problem in reading, some pages were folded, some markings like that. But the book is awesome.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
Has good descriptions of how to solve many of your biochemistry problems and its all explained very well, somethings may be done a little different than what you are taught but generally it follows the same logic. Great for reviewing how to do biochem problems and great for beginners (with prior biology/chemistry experience)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2000
This is an essential book for anyone looking to practice biochemical problems -- if only for the reason that books with as many practice problems are hard to find. If you're a true biochemist and love the subject ad will continue on with graduate work or careers in biochemistry, this may be the book for you. For everyone else... probably not. This book is very minimalist. No frills. It has an answer key to the practice problems but lacks any explainations to the answer. Reviews of the material covered in the book are scant at best and very technical. Few examples from real biochemical situations in living organisms are used. It does nothing to make you interested in the subject. The book also uses units such as normality (N) and Calories (C) rather than molarity (M) and Joules (J), the more modern and internationally accepted units of biochemical equations. I have also encountered typos and mistakes in the book in my studies. The only reason why this book is still published is that there are few other books available that offer so many practice problems. If you're looking for practice on any possible biochemical calculation, buy this book. When you're done with it, compost it. Or get $2 back by selling it to the local college bookstore. Biochemical Calculations wouldn't be so bad if a new edition would be written. Biology is a rapidly changing science, and a book that is now going on 25 years old can't compete with the newer and more reader friendly texts.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
it was in good condition, if you taking hilt at uc davis by any chance, this book helps a lot in the beginning. but its probably best to get a used version because I didn't use much after the class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2011
The book was delivered on time. It has been very helpful to practice those real life biochemical questions in the book. Our professor recommended it and I personally found it useful as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.