Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
This item ships for FREE with
FREE Shipping
Due Date: Dec 21, 2014

FREE return shipping at the end of the semester.

Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with rentals.
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Biochemistry (Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series) [Paperback]

Richard A. Harvey , Denise R. Ferrier
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (49 customer reviews)

Rent
$38.33 & FREE Shipping. Details
In Stock.
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Paperback --  
Woot is turning 10!
Save Up to 70% at Woot's 10th Birthday Bash! Today only, get free shipping on some of our best deals ever! Check out all the fun, games, and deals now!
There is a newer edition of this item:
Biochemistry (Lippincott Illustrated Reviews Series) Biochemistry (Lippincott Illustrated Reviews Series) 3.9 out of 5 stars (12)
$61.21
In Stock.

Book Description

July 12, 2010 160831412X 978-1608314126 5th

Thoroughly updated for its Fifth Edition, Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry enables students to quickly review and assimilate large amounts of complex information through powerful visual resources essential to mastery of difficult biochemical concepts. Its signature outline format, full-color illustrations, end-of-chapter summaries, and USMLE-style review questions make it one of the most user-friendly books in the field. New features include expanded coverage of molecular biology.

A companion website offers fully searchable online text and additional USMLE-style questions for students and an image bank for faculty.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Series: Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews Series
  • Paperback: 544 pages
  • Publisher: LWW; 5th edition (July 12, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 160831412X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1608314126
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 8.5 x 10.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.8 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (49 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #11,070 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
175 of 188 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This Review Applies to the FIFTH (5th) Edition ONLY! January 26, 2011
By D.O.C.
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
GOOD NEWS! Since this "new" 5th edition is exactly the same as the eight month older last edition, the 4th edition is now an incredible bargain! Get a copy before they are sold out. The 4th edition may be the BEST biochemistry class and USMLE review book ever. After you use it in your medical school biochemistry class, just review the highlighted sections and the charts, etc. for the Step 1 and you'll ACE the biochemistry part of the exam. Also, this book helps integrate biochemistry with other subjects, such as physio, pharm, cell-bio, etc., helping to make multi-disciplinary concepts and mechanisms more clear.

Yes, everyone knows that Lippincott Illustrated Reviews (LIR) Biochemistry 4th edition deserves 5 stars. However, LIR Biochemistry 4th edition, with a new cover on it that says 5th edition, deserves only "1" star (and I wish I had the option of giving it "0" stars).

I'm sure most of you are familiar with amazon's feature, "Click to Look Inside", which is listed right above the picture of the book. When I clicked on this feature for this 5th edition, I was surprised to find that the table of contents was EXACTLY the same as the 4th edition. I'm not talking only about the content or titles of the chapters, which you'd expect to be the same, I mean both editions showed the same number of pages in each chapter, the same number of pages in the index, and the same number of total pages for the entire book, and every sample page was exactly the same in both editions. I concluded that this must be a mistake by amazon, since occasionally they'll show the pictures and text from the previous edition (although they will usually, but not always, state that the sample pages shown are from a previous edition). So, I went ahead and placed my order.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Biochem Book November 20, 2010
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I bought this book after it was highly recommended to me for my medical school course (Molecular and Cellular Basis of Medicine). It has certainly been an invaluable resource and gives you just what you need to know. This is not a reference book, or even a textbook. It's a highly condensed, high-yield book for learning what's relevant and important. If you're a visual learner, this book contains quality diagrams that illustrate the material very well. I highly recommend this book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
By Kate
Format:Paperback
An excellent study buddy for your undergrad or medical school biochem class. The figures and succinct explanations are unrivaled, according to my more experienced friends, who used it for USMLE prep. If you are new to biochem, you'd also benefit from the excellent outlines and topic summaries in DePra & McKee's Biochemistry Study Guide Biochemistry: The Molecular Basis of Life Student Study Guide / Solutions Manual. You of course won't need the solutions sections included, but the boiled down-to-basics flow charts, equations, and mneumonics, and topic organization are a nice resource when your head is spinning or you are having trouble memorizing things.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect! December 22, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Buy this book. Do not waste time reading a more dense version of the same material. This review is a fantastic resource to gain a solid foundational understanding of topics in biochemistry. The diagrams and chapter summaries are very high yield.

I wish that I had purchased this book sooner.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I used this book to supplement my General Biochemistry text, Voet, during my post-baccalaureate year (the course is structured identically to an undergraduate general biochem course). General Biochem books are very dense and it's easy to get bogged down in that detail. This book was amazing in that it highlighted all of the important concepts from the text and lectures. It was as if someone took a highlighter, went through the main text, and said "know this, this, this...here it is in English." That was a very casual description, the course is difficult, and this book explained concepts more effectively than the main text did. I used it in addition, though, so don't completely substitute one for the other. It hits the main points of biochem in just the right amount of detail, In addition, having used this course in undergrad/post-bacc, you will have had a pass through it and will be familiar with it before going into your grad/med-school courses, so you'll already be familiar with the material. You'll recognize the information that you don't need to know and can easily skip it. Get this book, your grade will love you for it. One last detail, the examples used in the book are usually the same ones that professors like to use in class, ex. What can you use to treat a patient who comes in with methanol poisoning? Why? (section on enzyme inhibition).
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for med school March 4, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great book for med school...flow charts at the end of the chapter help organize info...illustrations sometimes make the text unnecessary
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent January 11, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is an excellent supplement to the lecture notes provided in class.
It provides concise summaries and often simplifies topics that left me otherwise confused.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars illegible illustrations October 30, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was very excited to find this textbook in kindle format. My excitement deflated after purchasing the book and discovering that virtually every illustration in the book is either entirely illegible, or very difficult to read. I would otherwise rate it five stars for the accessibility, searchability, notability, etc. provided by having an e-form of the text book. I feel like I only recieved a percentage of what I paid for in this product. Ironic that a selling point is "illustrated reveiws series" If only there was a way to update the image quality...
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars happy with my purchase
I received the book at the right time. It was exactly what I needed for my class to be successful.
Published 2 months ago by Heather Yacoub
5.0 out of 5 stars the best
I bought this book for my review and so far I really enjoyed reading it. \
'"
really good for USMLE review
Published 4 months ago by Aime
5.0 out of 5 stars Lippincott biochemistry
A great review book that looks to really refresh key subjects and concepts for Step 1! I have thoroughly enjoyed the authors compilation of topics!
Published 5 months ago by Veerendra Jadhav
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
Used it for biochem, cell and molecular bio, and genetics! Great graphics, diagrams, format and it is really easy reading yet it has all the details you need to know for medical... Read more
Published 5 months ago by Gabriela
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious
This book is tedious. I bought it for medical school as a required book and I don't recommend it. It has everything you could possibly need to know, but it is a very typical... Read more
Published 6 months ago by MedStudent
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book
This book is useful to help study for medical biochemistry classes. There are sample questions at the end of each chapter where you can test yourself. Read more
Published 6 months ago by alin527
4.0 out of 5 stars to the point
Excellent text for the visual learner. It's also straight to the point not very wordy. The book is organized amazingly to find what you need quickly.
Published 7 months ago by Neil Doering
5.0 out of 5 stars Organized, clear, and recommended for medical school
Fantastic review, really clearly organized, and clinically relevant. The best biochem book for medical school. If I ever teach a course on biochem I would use this book series.
Published 7 months ago by Erik P. Reinertsen
4.0 out of 5 stars The book itself is 5 stars (I had the 3rd edition in paperback), but...
The images in the Kindle edition are too small--so small the notations on those images are illegilbe if you're using them on the Kindle app for the computer. Read more
Published 7 months ago by lm
5.0 out of 5 stars Biochemistry Review
While some of the wording was hard to follow at times, the graphs, illustrations, and data tables helped to bring the subject to life. Read more
Published 8 months ago by LaToya C Seard
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category