Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read
I bought this book for my bio. psych class. It is very user friendly and offers detailed images of neurons (both drawn and actual photographs). The information provided is easy to read, by that I mean the author has put it in terms where anyone can easily understand it. Overall a great book for beginning neuroscience.

BUYER BEWARE: Some sellers will send you...
Published on May 10, 2012 by Isa138

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Paperback Edition is NOT THE FULL TEXT
This is not the complete text-you'll have to buy a separate access code for a digital edition of the full text. This edition is missing many chapters and is labeled on the front cover as being for Europe, Africa, and the Middle East only. Again, do not purchase this paperback edition-purchase the hardcover edition, the Kindle edition, or rent one of those two editions.
Published 5 months ago by Corey Grantham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read, May 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Paperback)
I bought this book for my bio. psych class. It is very user friendly and offers detailed images of neurons (both drawn and actual photographs). The information provided is easy to read, by that I mean the author has put it in terms where anyone can easily understand it. Overall a great book for beginning neuroscience.

BUYER BEWARE: Some sellers will send you the sample version! If this happens to you make sure to let the seller know! If the cover is taped up, make sure it does not day "Sample Copy"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Paperback Edition is NOT THE FULL TEXT, July 20, 2014
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Paperback)
This is not the complete text-you'll have to buy a separate access code for a digital edition of the full text. This edition is missing many chapters and is labeled on the front cover as being for Europe, Africa, and the Middle East only. Again, do not purchase this paperback edition-purchase the hardcover edition, the Kindle edition, or rent one of those two editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 11, 2013
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Hardcover)
I also had this for my course. And it is one of the best text books I have ever read. It's evident that the writer understands what psychology is and how learning takes place. The way he has organized the book shows this. The "stop and check" parts are amazing in terms of reminding and reinforcing the material in a fun and different way. The summaries are also useful. I usually don't write reviews but I had to do it for this one. The only downside is its high price, which makes it hard for students to purchase it (many actually don't purchase it). Bring the price down to 70 dollars and you'll see so many people buying it. Best of luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worked out okay, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Paperback)
I was unaware that the copy I received was going to be the European version. Chapters are not included in the book. Have to work with the online component.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for College!, April 8, 2014
By 
Joe R (Milwaukee, WI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Hardcover)
I am a current college student who decided to take a Physiological Psychology class, and this is the book that the professor required.

I love psychology and thought that this class, as well as this book would be interesting and helpful.

The book is designed that it starts off basic and works its way toward the more difficult areas. It gives you the basic information that will be needed as the book progresses. It also breaks up the book into different sections, such as muscle movement and how it correlates to your brain and then to your eyes and how we are able to view things and to how the nerves assist with that.

Overall it is a great book for a physiological psychology class and is beneficial to helping understand the psychology field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Hardcover)
Meet expectations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Read this book for class it was easy to follow and interesting. I really enjoyed the class due to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Intro Textbook, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Paperback)
This was a good intro textbook that I used for my Intro to Brain and Behavior class. However, my teacher (a doctor who researches taste and smell) was able to point out several instances in multiple chapters where Kalat watered things down too much to the point of inaccuracy, and it had some diagrams that weren't completely accurate. However, it's great at helping you get the gist of things, and the diagrams are helpful for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A rarity among modern psychology textbook offerings, September 26, 2014
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Hardcover)
This book is consise. It has no "career connections," no emotional "subject profiles;" it has pure neuropsychology, augmented with some intellectual digressions (e.g., how does this neuropsychological concept apply to an everyday conception of X?). It covers all of the content in-depth, with liberal citations, and still comes in at under 500 pages.

It is clear that the author is actually interested in the subject he is writing about and interested in the world in general, and this shows in the textbook. Reading is straightforward enough, and you will end up with more questions by the end of the chapter (not because a subject is not covered sufficiently, but because that is the nature of neuropsychology; each chapter could fill an entire book/class by itself!). Kalat does an admirable job of explaining basic concepts without diluting knowledge about the subject. He also has a sense of humor, which adds to the reading.

All in all, this makes for a very enjoyable and useful textbook. Excellent references are provided (with regards to both applicability and quality), which means that if you want to start going more in-depth right now, you can do so. Modern textbooks are typically the subject of my intense contempt because of greed on the publisher's behalf (18th edition of a subject area that is relatively static, especially at the introductory level; "online supplements" which are nothing more than $100 tickets to be thrown down the drain - they can only be used once - etc.), misunderstanding/lack of effort on the author's behalf, and disgusting dilution of the content, to the point that you feel like you're reading material written for an elementary school student (including the blatant misconceptions/misrepresentations that typically exemplify content written at that grade level). This textbook, however, does not suffer from any of the above issues. If your professor picked this book, be thankful. If you are looking to learn about neuropsychology/physiological psychology independently, this is a great place to start and an excellent general reference book to hold on to for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth purchasing, not just renting, August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biological Psychology (Hardcover)
One of the premier texts on Cognitive Psychology. A great resource worth purchasing for undergrad psych students. If the latest version is too costly, you should consider purchasing a previous edition to add to your personal resource library. You'll miss out on the latest research being done (which is worth staying on top of), but you will have a great survey text on the subject of cognitive psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Biological Psychology
Biological Psychology by James W. Kalat (Hardcover - January 1, 2012)
$295.95 $248.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.