Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good on stability analysis, September 8, 2008
By 
This review is from: A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution (Hardcover)
Although other books may have a better presentation of the models' use and context, this is the best presentation I have seen on stability analysis, plus it presents a good quantity of model examples. The presentation of the math used is ample and clear. I highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Just For Biologists!, March 17, 2011
This review is from: A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution (Hardcover)
This gem of a book is terrific, not just for biologists but for anyone trying to get a handle on modeling in ecology and evolution. I teach an evolutionary game theory class to a law school class (yes, that's right, law school), and couldn't find a good textbook that would teach students with a basic math proficiency what they needed to know about stability, probability theory, etc. to be able to model some of the more interesting EGT methods. This book fit the bill. My notes all come straight from here, even when we are using other textbook problem sets. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for students interested in ecology and evolutionary theory., April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution (Hardcover)
mathematical tools are a must for modern ecology and evolutionary research. This is a good book for students to understand how we can use mathematical models to understand ecological and evolutionary processes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-Have, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution (Hardcover)
This is a must-have reference book for any computational biologist. Even those who roughly work in the computational biology realm, need to master the skills introduced in this book to be effective at what they do. It's not overpriced, and it will reward you 10fold in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mathematics & Biology, May 31, 2011
By 
TumTum (Corrales, NM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution (Hardcover)
This book introduces the mathematical models in use in various branches of biology and related fields. It is extremely well written and easy to follow. If you wish to own one book on this subject then this should be high on your list for consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wondeful book, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very clearly written, thorough, generally excellent guide. It was a great book in class, and I still use it as a reference regularly.
(I even used it at work today!)

The book explains everything very well, which I find rare for science textbooks. Its appendices are very helpful, and there are many examples. Well worth the investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution (Hardcover)
Good introductory book. Can be used as a textbook, or kept on the shelf for future reference. I bought second hand because this is not a collectible book nor something I will sell to someone else when I finish reading it. I see no point buying a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's good book !!, May 24, 2009
This review is from: A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution (Hardcover)
This book is the best in Mathematical Modeling tha I read.
It's a good educational book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution
A Biologist's Guide to Mathematical Modeling in Ecology and Evolution by Sarah P. Otto (Hardcover - March 12, 2007)
$85.00 $67.18
In stock on September 1, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.