Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference tool for students and instructors!
The 8th edition of Cecie Starr and Ralph Taggart's BIOLOGY: THE UNITY AND DIVERSITY OF LIFE is a significant improvement over the already excellent 7th edition. It is a substantial reference made "user friendly" with its excellent graphic designs, well organized and readable text, and extensive electronic support...
I found the tutorial quizzes and...
Published on January 12, 1999

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biological Detour
This is the book I had in my college biology course. I find this book to be quite inconsistent. While it has it's bright spots and explains some things very well, it is one of those books where you end up having to hunt for the information. Result? You spend a great deal of time deciphering the book which has the information strewn everywhere in a fashion that's not...
Published on April 19, 2005 by Dark Blue Something


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference tool for students and instructors!, January 12, 1999
By A Customer
The 8th edition of Cecie Starr and Ralph Taggart's BIOLOGY: THE UNITY AND DIVERSITY OF LIFE is a significant improvement over the already excellent 7th edition. It is a substantial reference made "user friendly" with its excellent graphic designs, well organized and readable text, and extensive electronic support...
I found the tutorial quizzes and chapter summaries especially useful. The online support and CD-ROM are effective new study tools! I recommend this book to all students taking a course in introductory college biology, as well as biology instructors looking for a well supported book that actively engages their students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biological Detour, April 19, 2005
This is the book I had in my college biology course. I find this book to be quite inconsistent. While it has it's bright spots and explains some things very well, it is one of those books where you end up having to hunt for the information. Result? You spend a great deal of time deciphering the book which has the information strewn everywhere in a fashion that's not entirely organized. Not to mention the fact that it stops dead cold in the middle of explaining a concept in order to go into great detail about another related concept. Then suddenly it jolts the reader back to what it was talking about beforehand. A good and elementary example of this is in chapter 2 where they discuss hydrogen bonding. It veers off and on from what the topic is supposed to be. It would be more helpful to cut to the chase and leave the lengthly prose out of the book. As another reviewer pointed out, the fact that the book has so many different authors is just ASKING for the final product to be inconsistent. This book is not worth the 120 dollars they expect you to pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homeschoolers Take Note!, September 18, 2000
By 
This is a fantastic text for homeschooling. Each concept is introduced, discussed, and wrapped up in a 2-page spread. This is *not* the dry bio text you remember from high school. It is fascinating enough that I find myself stealing it from my daughter's room. Perfect for a science-loving homeschooler who is hungry for advanced texts at an earlier age because the setup is conducive to parental participation and discussion. However, be advised it is written from an evolutionary point of view if you are inclined to avoid this emphais. And of course there's that really cool picture of the monkey fighting the cheetah ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introductory biology textbook, August 25, 1999
By A Customer
This is a really wonderful textbook to have read before coming to university. The background I gained was of great help during my first year of college bio where we use the textbook LIFE. I would suggest getting the study guide, as it is a great complement to the text. The intros to the chapters were a little overly dramatic, but everything else was fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some grave mistakes in the 13th edition, December 13, 2012
By 
Bluevanilladonkey (Ravenswood, WV USA) - See all my reviews
This college level book gives a short introduction into biological concepts.
I feel that it is sometimes hard to understand for undergraduate students and not always coherently written. Also I found several mistakes in the 13th edition. For this price the book should have been properly reviewed.

# On page 105 water is listed as one of the reactants in the light-independent reaction. Other common college textbooks describe this differently. Water plays a major role in the light dependent reaction. Whereas the light-independent reaction takes place in the aquatic environment inside the cell it was never explained IF and where water is added to this reaction, nor could was it explained in the following text or diagrams.

# Table 13.1 states that the recessive traits in pea plants are round, yellow seed, purple flowers, tall stems. According to Mendel's original publication this are the dominant traits. It seems that the heading of the table got mixed up. The 12th edition showed it correctly.

# Table 24.1 states that Platyhelminthes have two tissue layers. I was under the impression that they actually have 3 germ layers (ectoderm,endoderm, and mesoderm). In the text body it is actually described correctly.

I think this book needs a major overhaul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, April 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology: The Unity and Diversity of Life (Available Titles CengageNOW) (Hardcover)
Easy to understand and read. Prompts u to think and relate all possibilities in life created on earth. Comprehensive and beautifully coloured book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible text book, November 5, 2014
horrible text book ,and the test questions on the quiz material issued by the professor just horrible you can't look up the answers and expect to learn from your mistakes to many ambiguous question's no clarity when trying to learn the subject material text book tries too hard to make this complicated that does not need to be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book was in even better shape than I expected as well, October 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology: The Unity and Diversity of Life (Available Titles CengageNOW) (Hardcover)
I ordered this book for my daughter so she could have her own for AP Biology book to bring home when she wanted and highlight in the book. The shipping time listed was a wide time range, but I was pleasantly surprised when it came quicker than expected. The book was in even better shape than I expected as well. It was barely used and in excellent condition even though listed as very good. The price was great compared to what these books cost new. Her teacher was impressed with the price and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars damaged, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was on time yes, but had a lot of damage. There was oil stain on the upper right side of the book through out and the whole back of the book had scrapes so server that it took the design off half of the book cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
needed this book for a assignment that was due, thought I was going to receive my book a week after my assignment was due but I actually received it 4 days in advance .. love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Biology: The Unity and Diversity of Life (Available Titles CengageNOW)
$345.95 $304.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.