Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Textbook!
The 8th edition of this Biology book is great. It has many pictures, diagrams, and charts that make the reading much easier. Also, it has end of section reviews that help to absorb the material.

If you are required to purchase the 9th edition- don't bother. When comparing this version to a classmate's, I noticed that the text and charts were essentially the...
Published on February 13, 2012 by Karen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very lengthy, good extra details in back
This book was for a simple biology class. The topics in this book are relatively simple, but somehow they managed to put in an enormous amount of text in here. It's good explaining and there are some charts that help summurize, but overall, it was a little over complicated and hard to get basic principles from the book alone.
Published on June 19, 2011 by Joe Rhodes


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Textbook!, February 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology, 8th Edition (Hardcover)
The 8th edition of this Biology book is great. It has many pictures, diagrams, and charts that make the reading much easier. Also, it has end of section reviews that help to absorb the material.

If you are required to purchase the 9th edition- don't bother. When comparing this version to a classmate's, I noticed that the text and charts were essentially the exact same. The 9th edition has nearly the exact same content, except some diagrams may have different colors or be located on different places on the page. So, if you already have the 8th edition or can find it somewhere for a lower price than the 9th, there is no need for the 9th edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Biology book for any experience level!, July 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology, 8th Edition (Hardcover)
I purchased this book about 3/4 weeks ago and I am very happy with it.

I am actually not a student - I'm in my mid 20's and work full-time with a house, wife, dog etc. However, I do have a passion for a wildlife and natural history and decided to buy this book so that I could casually learn more about the living creatures of our world and how they function.

I have no formal background in Biology, yet I have been able to pick up this book and start reading straight away. I have just finished Chapter One (page 25 of 1300!) and still have a very long way to go, but have learnt a lot already.

This may not be for the younger crowd (under 15yrs), as there is SOME terminology in here that youngsters may not quite understand. But for students and casual learners alike that simply want to learn about Biology, this is an excellent book. It has everything in here you could ever need. The graphs, pictures and diagrams are also very clear and concise.

Buy this book and expand your craniums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Textbook, February 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology, 8th Edition (Hardcover)
This book is so jam-packed with information that I had two professors use it for completely separate biology classes. Well written and organized which is really nice when it comes time to take notes and study for tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Need the 9th Edition..., August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology, 8th Edition (Hardcover)
if you were asked to get the 9th edition by your instructor, this book is much more budget friendly. it is identical to the 9th in every way except minor grammatical differences and only 1% of new images/charts are not included (possibly due to the information having been discovered after this edition was published).

all i can say is my professor taught using the 9th edition, i used the 8th, saved lots of cash and got a 100% (just don't forget to cross-reference when needed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very lengthy, good extra details in back, June 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology with MasteringBiology™ (with WebCT Access Code Card -- Generic) (8th Edition) (Hardcover)
This book was for a simple biology class. The topics in this book are relatively simple, but somehow they managed to put in an enormous amount of text in here. It's good explaining and there are some charts that help summurize, but overall, it was a little over complicated and hard to get basic principles from the book alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Condition, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology, 8th Edition (Hardcover)
Purchased as used and its condition is better than I expected. It is a fine collection of college level core textbooks my daughter's college recommended that includes the specific edition (8th edition in this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Pictures/Diagrams, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology, 8th Edition (Hardcover)
This is such an awesome textbook. One thing I love about it, aside from the well-worded writing, is the pictures! There are some full page pictures and diagrams that are just stunningly beautiful-- and this is talking about like cell biology. The figures help more than the book does for me. Just amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Biology, 8th Edition (Hardcover)
For it's very low price tag it contained a lot of information and a lot of problems to help me understand each topic would recomend to anyone taking introductory biology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book, May 6, 2011
This review is from: Biology with MasteringBiology™ (with WebCT Access Code Card -- Generic) (8th Edition) (Hardcover)
If you have anything to do with biology, this is a must have book. It will help you to pass a course (actually you can use it in several courses), and work as a reference afterwards. This is not one of those books that you use and sell. This is one of those books that you use and hold on to because they are of continuous help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Easy to Use Text Book, December 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This text book is very comprehensive and easy to understand. The diagrams are thoroughly explained and the chapters are easy to follow. It is a great guide for beginning college biology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Biology with MasteringBiology™ (with WebCT Access Code Card -- Generic) (8th Edition)
Used & New from: $28.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.