Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon David Bowie egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now DOTD

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Biology Revisioned Paperback – July 1, 1998

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
$43.54 $3.07

Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more

Editorial Reviews


Harman and Sahtouris take us on a highly readable journey to the frontiers of the new biology to demonstrate the life and consciousness are integral to the creative process of the cosmos. In so doing, they provide a profound and deeply provocative look at the choices humanity now faces. A seminal contribution to redefining contemporary social and scientific inquiry."
—Dr. David C. Korten, author of When Corporations Rule the World

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: North Atlantic Books (July 1, 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1556432674
  • ISBN-13: 978-1556432675
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 1 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,029,850 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 19, 2001
Format: Paperback
In this remarkable book, two great biologists hold a speculative conversation about the true nature of "life, the universe, and everything," and you get to eavesdrop. Your world view will never be the same.
Following in the tradition of James Lovelock and Lyn Margulis, the late Willis Harman and his protege Elizabet Sahtouris here take Gaia Theory (the notion that our planet is a superorganism not merely hosting life, but in itself alive) to its next logical extension. Gaia, this duo speculates, is conscious. Indeed, they postulate that not only is Gaia conscious, but every level of life is conscious. From the atomic components of each cell in your body to the unimaginable vast Body of which Gaia herself is only one cell, all...All...ALL is conscious.
The adage, "As above, so below" has never had more compelling meaning.
Harman and Sahroutis base their logical groundwork on a concept of all being organized into holons (identity units) which are part of a larger holarchy (complex of identity units). Holons, say these two, take their purpose from the holarchy in which they are embedded, and take their ability from the holons which are embedded within them. Thus, your liver exists to serve your body, and draws its capacities from the health of its individual cells.
Take this concept outward to Gaia--nay, to the penultimate Cosmos--and you may find, as I do, profound spiritual implications. You will also understand why these two respected scientists had to present this book as a speculative conversation. Pushing the outer edges of thought, challenging academia's entrenched mindset, is professionally risky. But Sahtouris has no less a motive than the saving of the planet. She holds that only by understanding what We are, can we save Ourselves from physical destruction.
With the greatest of delight, I recommend this book to your consciousness.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: biology free books