Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 21, 2009 11:02:18 AM PDT
Reading the summary of Robert Lanza's new book "Biocentrism" made me realize that, as a physicist, I have not been radical enough. For several years now, i have been claiming that physics research has been going in the wrong direction - literally. The reductionist program of matter-science (physics) has been going inwards for over 100 years, investigating ever smaller configurations of matter: first the atom, then the nucleus, now the sub-nuclear (quarks, Higgs boson, etc). Apart from nuclear energy this has been a deeply frustrating activity, producing no technology or any other direct benefits to humanity, which has funded this endeavor for over 70 years & billions of dollars. I have been encouraging physicists to redirect their focus outward to atoms & molecules, where knowledge has a direct impact on humans. This level of matter research only needs the electromagnetic force & is totally unaffected by 'forces' that only act at much smaller scales than this.

The problem even with this approach is that the number of atoms required to cooperate to create even the simplest examples of living systems is in the trillions upon trillions. This is too great a chasm of complexity for humans to cross - especially when we cannot even solve the first non-linear system in physics: the helium atom.