Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "More "Bionic Woman" On DVD!!!"
After the huge sales of "The Bionic Woman-Season 1" on DVD last October now comes word from Universal Studios that "The Bionic Woman-Season 2" arrives in stores on May 17th, 2011. This is the series' first complete season because season one only contained 13 episodes as "The Bionic Woman" was a mid-season replacement on ABC. Season 2 started on network television on...
Published on February 4, 2011 by Terrance Richard

versus
49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Technical Issues Make This Release Unbuyable
Yes, I know: "not fit for purchase" or some such would be better English. Still, it's important that anyone reading this review understand that while Universal is to be commended for (finally!) releasing this best season of the timeless classic for which Lindsay Wagner justifiably won an Emmy award, THE CURRENT PRESSING IS UNFIT FOR SALE due to an extended section of...
Published on May 21, 2011 by William B. Bangs


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "More "Bionic Woman" On DVD!!!", February 4, 2011
By 
Terrance Richard "Terry Richard" (Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
After the huge sales of "The Bionic Woman-Season 1" on DVD last October now comes word from Universal Studios that "The Bionic Woman-Season 2" arrives in stores on May 17th, 2011. This is the series' first complete season because season one only contained 13 episodes as "The Bionic Woman" was a mid-season replacement on ABC. Season 2 started on network television on September 22, 1976 and contains 22 episodes. The great thing about this boxset (besides the fact that "The Bionic Woman" is available on DVD for fututre generations to enjoy) is that there are two crossover episodes included from "The Six Million Dollar Man" so the viewer can watch the complete full story arch on "The Bionic Woman" box set.

There are a slew of bonuses including a new featurette with Lindsay Wagner, Kenneth Johnson, and crew members entitled "Bionic Blast" where they discuss the merchandising of the series, how the stunts were performed, and who their favorite villins were. There are new audio commentaries on select episodes by Lindsay and series creator Johnson. Actress Janice Whitby (who played fembot Katy in the episode "Kill Oscar") has stated she has done some voice over work that will be included as commentary on this set. Finally, there is also a gag reel and photo gallery included.

"The Bionic Woman" continued to enthrall audiences young and old upon its first network broadcast with season 2 finishing a respectful #14 in the national Nielsen Ratings. This would, however, be the series' final year on ABC as the network canned it citing "The Bionic Woman" was not attracting the kind of young demographic it desired. Season 3 was picked up by rival network NBC in the fall of 1977.

Guest-stars in season 2 include Stephanie Powers, Sandy Duncan, John Saxon, Vincent Price, and Julie Newmar. This is a 5 disc set with english subtitles and english mono sound.

This was the season Lindsay won her much deserved Emmy as Oustanding Actress in a Drama Series for the two-part episode "Deady Ringer". Her competition that year was Angie Dickinson for "Police Woman", "Michael leaned ("The Waltons"), Sada Thompson for "Family", and Kate Jackson ("Charlie's Angels").

UPDATE, July, 28, 2011..."The Bionic Woman-Season 3, The Final Season" comes to DVD on October 4, 2011!!!!

The following is a list of episodes included in "The Bionic Woman-Season 2" box set, all 22 shows along with the 1 crossover episode from "The Six Million Dollar Man". Also listed are the airdates.

1. "The Return of Bigfoot-Part 1" from "Six Million Dollar Man", Sept. 19, 1976
2. "The Return of Bigfoot-Part 2, Sept. 22, 1976
3. "In This Corner, Jamie Summers", Sept. 29, 1976
4. "Assault on the Princess", Oct. 6, 1976
5. "Road To Nashville, Oct. 20, 1976
6. "Kill Oscar-Part 1", Oct. 27, 1976
7. "Kill Oscar-Part 2" from "Six Million Dollar Man", but released in syndication as a "Bionic Woman" episode, Oct. 31, 1976
8. "Kill Oscar-Part 3, Nov. 3, 1976
9. "Black Magic", Nov. 10, 1976
10. "Sister Jamie", Nov. 24, 1976
11, "The Vega Influence", Dec. 1, 1976
12. "Jamie's Shield-Part 1", Dec. 15, 1976
13. "Jamie's Shield-Part 2", Dec. 22, 1976
14. "Biofeedback", Jan. 12, 1977
15. "Doomsday is Tomorrow-Part 1", Jan. 19, 1976
15. "Doomsday is Tomorrow-Part 2", Jan. 26, 1976
16. "Deadly Ringer-Part 1", Feb. 2, 1977
17. "Deadly Ringer-Part 2", Feb. 9, 1977
18. "Jamie and the King", Feb. 23, 1977
19. "Beyond the Call", March 9, 1977
20. "The DeJohn Caper", March 16, 1977
21. "The Night Demon", March 23, 1977
22. "Iron Ships and Dead Men", March 30, 1977
23. "Once a Thief", May 4, 1977

UPDATE: JULY 1, 2011: Fans have been complaining (and rightly so) that the episode "Deadly Ringer" has poor audio quality. This was due to the fact that Universal couldn't find a proper master tape for that particular show (remember these episodes are over 30 years old). Now, fans can rejoice in knowing the studio has found another master tape and has corrected the problem. For fans not satisfied with disc 4 that contains "Deadly Ringer" they can contact Universal for a replacement disc by emailing them at USHE.ConsumerRelations@bydeluxe.com or by phoning 888-882-5779.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 - wrestling Sasquatch and spooky fembots and singing country songs, November 5, 2011
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
I was around six or seven years old during the mid-1970s, and I still recall being struck with an epiphany. Thanks to Lindsay Wagner and Lynda Carter, I realized that girls weren't totally icky. I am so very glad to own entire seasons of WONDER WOMAN and THE BIONIC WOMAN. Me, I consider THE BIONIC WOMAN Season 2 to be the best of that franchise. I think this was the season that won her an Emmy for 1977's Best Actress in a Dramatic Role. And while WONDER WOMAN limited Lynda Carter to portraying a fairly one-dimensional character, THE BIONIC WOMAN presented Lindsay Wagner with plenty of chances to bust out her acting chops. And Lindsay had range, and that certain graceful way about her. Even as a six year old boy, I was smitten.

Some of my favorite episodes take place in Season 2. We get the classic crossover episodes with THE SIX MILLION DOLLAR MAN: "The Return of Bigfoot" and the absolutely awesome "Kill Oscar." In "In This Corner, Jaime Sommer," we eyeball Jaime in her Pocahantas-type costume as she infiltrates a shady lady wrestler club. We even hear her talk wrestling smack during a television interview. "Road to Nashville" showcases Lindsay's singing a country song ("Good To Be Alive in the Country") as she tries to locate a vanished OSI agent. "Black Magic" guest-stars Vincent Price as Jaime is deployed to a remote island and gets caught up in a treasure hunt. The fabulous two-part "Deadly Ringer" features the return of Jamie's doppelganger, Lisa Galloway, who has broken out of prison. Jaime, drugged and mistaken for Lisa, gets thrown in the hoosegow. Lindsay Wagner's riveting performance in this two-parter is said to be what won her the Best Actress Emmy that year.

Ultimately, "Kill Oscar" is what propels this season over the top for me, even though "The Return of Bigfoot" with its big space alien sci-fi themes is also up there. Anyway, K.I.T.T. had K.A.R.R. The shipwrecked crew had Gilligan. Jamie Sommers had the Fembots. I remember watching the three-part "Kill Oscar" as a kid and being scared silly by the creepy, creepy robot women, and that fear was stoked higher when even Jaime's vaunted bionic strength barely had her holding her own. And then how could you not love her teaming up with Colonel Steve Austin? Lee Majors and Lindsay Wagner together ignited some serious sparks. And damn Jaime's amnesia anyway.

Bonus features: "Bionic Blast" - cast & crew reflect about the show's popularity and impact on pop culture and reminisce about stuff like the Fembots and the action figures; audio commentaries on 4 episodes: "Road to Nashville" and "Biofeedback" (with Lindsay Wagner), "Doomsday is Tomorrow, Parts 1 & 2" (with show creator Kenneth Johnson); and a photo gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Lindsay is Still the Best!", October 26, 2007
The transfers are beautiful and immaculately crisp. You will enjoy watching the episodes repeatedly. Each episode is in it's original broadcast form and Lindsay Wagner has never looked better.
You will need a region 2 dvd player to view this and "Bionic Woman"-Season 2. There is one extra which is a brief montage of other available tv series through Universal Playback. I must warn you before hand though, as there is a creepy anti-piracy advertisement at the end of the last episode of each disc. You'll know what I mean when you see it. I turn it off immediately so I don't have to see it. Other than that, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Technical Issues Make This Release Unbuyable, May 21, 2011
By 
William B. Bangs (Irvine, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
Yes, I know: "not fit for purchase" or some such would be better English. Still, it's important that anyone reading this review understand that while Universal is to be commended for (finally!) releasing this best season of the timeless classic for which Lindsay Wagner justifiably won an Emmy award, THE CURRENT PRESSING IS UNFIT FOR SALE due to an extended section of barely audible audio at the beginning of the (first part) of the very episode for which she won it: "Deadly Ringer" on Disc Four.

This is not an issue with a small batch of discs, but instead something which originated with the studio -- a problem being discussed like crazy on every bionic internet group, and by now something the studio -- whose consumer relations department has issued a statement about it -- is aware of as well. What Uni Consumer Relations told my fellow fan listserv participant is that they can't do anything about it because these are old shows with less-than-perfect masters! TVShowsOnDVD is also covering this issue, and it's worth noting that all three seasons are available in English with PERFECT audio tracks in non-US releases which can be imported and enjoyed with the right equipment and know-how, though obviously without the much-anticipated special features of this release, which are very good, and will be most welcome once a new pressing is done with all the audio intact.

A few quick words about the program & this season: This is the classic counterpart program to The Six Million Dollar Man, the groundbreaking action/SF series of the '70s based on Martin Caidan's 1972 novel, Cyborg. For those who don't already know, Six Mil creator Kenneth Johnson decided to create a "Bride of Frankenstein" for Col. Austin at the end of his second season, and a two-part episode introduced fans to Jaime Sommers, former tennis pro-turned middle school teacher, Steve's first heartthrob. Lindsay Wagner proved so popular in the role that ANOTHER two-part story was hastily written and aired, even though execs at "The Black Tower" (a.k.a. ABC, the program's original network) had insisted that Jaime not live through her first appearance.

The huge groundswell these Six Mil episodes created carried Lindsay to the top of the A-list, and ultimately (as I just said above) to an Emmy Award for (I think the wording was) Best Actress in an Action/SF series -- a true cultural benchmark, for a woman had never been the star of a US TV action series before. In this, The Bionic Woman's second season, the creative team reached what I feel to have been the series' high-water mark as Ms. Wagner worked closely with Johnson and the other writers and directors to bring a truly feminine tenderness to a character which could have been -- as she told me personally a couple years ago -- "The Six Million Dollar Man in a skirt." In addition to the aforementioned Emmy-winning story arch, this season is also when John Houseman appears in the role of misogonystic former O.S.I. scientist Dr. Franklin, who unleashes his "Fembots -- as beautiful or as deadly as I wish to make them" on Jaime and her loyal viewers! Other notable guest stars included Vincent Price, Norman Fell, Lew Ayres, Lloyd Bochner and Country star Hoyt Axton.

So you see: When Universal re-presses Disc Four, this will be a must-own set for anyone nostalgic for the halcyon childhood some of us were lucky enough to have, in which science, coupled with humanity could still produce everyday heroes -- ones we pretended were our big brother and sister, and still love to this day. Until then, however, DO NOT BUY THIS SET!! It's just not worth getting all psyched up for, only to turn on your TV, and...not hear anything at all for nearly ten minutes.

Better luck next time, Universal. thanks for trying, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bionic Woman Where are You?, September 26, 2007
By 
Brent Hilton (Layton, Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh come on this is available outside the US but not in US. I just love this series starring Lindsay Wagner as Jamie Sommers. a woman is seriously hurt in accident to save her life the doctors put bionic parts in her making her faster, stronger and kneener in her senses. This Classic Series Should Return to the video format On DVD. So should The Six Million Dollar Man Too.

Update: this series is playing on hulu right now. but still wish that is was out on DVD now. Universal seriously needs to restore the show, the print is a bit washed out and has dirt and scratches in it, on certain shots. it's still okay but should have some tender loving care to restore the prints to a vivid clear presentation that is worthy of this show, after all it's a classic.

Highly Recommended Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy! No audio problems, June 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
I purchased my season two set from Amazon last week, knowing about the audio problem on "Deadly Ringer" part 1. I had planned on using Universal's free disc replacement offer. However, I was happy to see that the audio on that particular episode was perfect. They must have replaced the defective discs already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal is offering replacement disc..., July 6, 2011
By 
PETER MOY (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
Universal is offering replacement for the defective disc 4 call 1-888-882-5779. Other than the 10 minutes of muted sound on Deadly Ringer part 1 the rest of the discs are fine. Enjoy each & every episode so far looking forward to season 3 (last) sigh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read William B. Bangs' Review For This Item, May 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
I came here to write exactly what Mr. Bangs conveyed so perfectly in his review. This is the best season of "The Bionic Woman," but Universal has made it unwatchable (and inaudible). Never before have I seen a release so poorly put-together. Mr. Bangs gave this one star, and I whole-heartedly agree. We're not dissatisfied with Lindsay Wagner or the series itself, but Universal for releasing such a horrible transfer. Fix it, Universal! Seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Bionic Woman Season Ever!!, August 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
This one season is, in my opinion, the best ever! My DVD set is obviously the fixed version. I remember consumers were complaining about the episode "Deadly Ringer Part 1" with the muffled audio in the first 9:33 minutes. I noticed no such problem with my copy. As I write this, I am watching that particular episode. No problems at all. I enjoyed the Bigfoot episodes and the three part "Kill Oscar" episodes as well. I remember these from when they first aired back in the 70s. Brings back memories!! I did notice that the intro on one episode did have a muffled sound. I think it was the second part of the Bigfoot episodes. It wasn't that distracting because as soon as the actual show began, the sound was perfect! I can't complain. The episode "Black Magic" was awesome because I have always been a Vincent Price fan. Mr. Price and Lindsey Wagner showed great chemistry in that episode. To put it plain, if you love this show, get this DVD!! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Season that won Lindsay an Emmy Award!, May 20, 2011
By 
Thomas (St. Petersburg, FL, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bionic Woman: Season 2 (DVD)
The Bionic Woman season 2 is now available on DVD! This is the season that won Lindsay Wagner an emmy award, and her competition was quite tough, including Kate Jackson of 'Charlie's Angels', Michael Learned of 'The Waltons', Angie Dickinson of 'Police Woman', and Sada Thompson of 'Family'.

There are several 2-part episodes in season 2 (Doomsday is Tomorrow, Deadly Ringer, Jaime's Shield, Kill Oscar, and Return of Bigfoot). When these episodes were originally aired in the late 1970s, viewers would have to wait an entire week for part 2, which was quite frustrating. With today's technology, however, we have the flexibility to enjoy this program at our own discretion.

The appeal of Lindsay Wagner's portrayal of Jaime Sommers is due to the realism she placed in the character. Jaime was not Wonder Woman nor a being with limitless powers such as a witch or a genie; she had flaws, fears, and limits. Jaime's bionics sometimes failed her and were damaged; Jaime was afraid of snakes; and she sometimes broke down and cried due to the circumstances she found herself in (i.e., waking up in prison after being switched with her evil twin, Lisa Galloway, in 'Deadly Ringer'; fighting the doomsday device Alex in 'Doomsday is Tomorrow'). In my view, these limits humanized our heroine and enabled the viewer to relate to Jaime Sommers. Jaime often reacted in the same manner any one of us would have responded in a difficult situation.

I must admit one flaw I've noticed with this CD set: The actors' voices are difficult to hear during the first few minutes of 'Deadly Ringer', part 1. This only lasts for a few minutes; it is NOT a show stopper. For the most part, little is said during this timeframe anyway. Also, at least there's no snowy picture or adjusting the rabbit ears like there was back in the 1970s when this program was originally aired! However, this is sloppy work that should have been caught and corrected immediately prior to the distribution of this CD set.

Sit back, relax, and enjoy 'The Bionic Woman, season 2'. Unlike it's initial broadcast in the 1970s, you do not have to wait until 8pm on Wednesday nights to view this excellent science fiction program. Despite the antiquated special effects, good television never goes out of style, as Lindsay Wagner's 'Bionic Woman', season 2 clearly demonstrates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.