Customer Reviews


505 Reviews
5 star:
 (385)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on Steam
Game codes easily redeem on steam. Make sure you're buying this version, the online code. You can go to Steam -> Games -> Product Key and paste it in there, and it adds it.

While I understand this utilizes SecuROM (online activation), $7.49 for both Bioshocks (the price right now) is more than fantastic. We need more deals like this for older games. You're...
Published on May 18, 2012 by Jesse A

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This was a waste when I bought it on sale.
Bioshock 1 hardly ever launches, and when it does, there is no sound.

Bioshock 2 requires a windows live account, and I opted to not use one, because I thought there could be no harm in it. It turns out, if you dont use a windows live account, you can't save, so I wasted 2 hours playing a game I couldn't save.
Published on June 28, 2012 by Coleolitis


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on Steam, May 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Game codes easily redeem on steam. Make sure you're buying this version, the online code. You can go to Steam -> Games -> Product Key and paste it in there, and it adds it.

While I understand this utilizes SecuROM (online activation), $7.49 for both Bioshocks (the price right now) is more than fantastic. We need more deals like this for older games. You're buying the game anyway so it shouldn't matter what security since you bought the games. But then again, I don't have virtual drives or Nero so I don't have any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific original & earnest but lacking sequel, June 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
The first BioShock was a masterpiece: a work of art accompanied by haunting atmosphere and delicate, yet spectacular score. It keeps a special place in my heart. The sequel wants to satisfy all customers, ending up feeling much more generic. By the way, a solid DLC Minerva's Den (not included) justifies the purchase.

* P.S: BioShock 2 doesn't support Xbox 360 pad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal, and not nearly as complicated as everyone is making it out to be..., July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I felt like I should write this to help balance out the negetive reviews. First off I would like to just say that the games are very fun, and I found to be addictive. So if you enjoy creepy shooters these are the games for you.

Now that that is out of the way, I feel like there is a lot of mis-information floating around here that I would like to address. Firstly, only Bioshock 2 requires two forms of validation. Once you enter the code for Bioshock 1 into Steam you downloadit and play. Simple as that.

Bioshock 2 is slightly more complicated. You enter the code into Steam, then download the game, exactly like the first one. Once it's downloaded and you try to play it it needs to validate again. You MUST use the product key that Steam gives you, not Amazon. Amazon's key won't work, so to those of you who were very angry with Amazon, don't be. You need to use the product key provided by STEAM.

On a finle note, I can understand why some people are angry that Bioshock 2 uses Windows Live, it is just another thing to sign into...but it's not that big a deal, and for those of you that have and use X-box Live, you'll love it. It gives you all the achivements as if you were playing on X-box Live, and you can chat with frinds while playing.

All in all a great deal, and it's not nearly the hassle everyone is making it out to be. Buy it and enjoy a fun game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great on Steam, May 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Amazing deal at this price. Didn't even download them from Amazon either, jus popped the product keys into Steam, bam theyre on my Steam account. Nice. One of em doesn't recognize my video chipset, intel HD3000, not recommended, blahblah, watever run anyway, max settings, with intel i5 n 8gb ram too, but runs beautifully both of em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone having compatibility issues!, May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Hello hopefully everyone can see this and not be disappointed. Anyways I came across this problem where Bioshock would not open at all and I knew older games did this too. It seems that Bioshock doesn't play well with Windows 7 so what you have to do is run it in compatibility mode Windows Vista (service pack 2). This is will enable you to play it A-Okay. To do this you'll need to find:

1.)'Bioshock.exe' which for me it's in my C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Bioshock\Builds\Release
2.)Right click on 'Bioshock.exe'
3.)Choose properties and click the tab that says compatibility
4.)Click 'Run this program in compatibility mode' and Choose Windows Vista (Service Pack 2)
5.)After that, click okay.
6.)????
7.)Profit.

-If you need anymore help please do comment!
-Note if Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) doesn't work then try Windows XP (Service Pack 2)since it's one of the 2 OS in the 'ReadMe.txt'
'Bioshock is amazing and still trying to get through it! Can't wait to play Bioshock 2! Anyways for the price of $4.99, that's a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing games, technical issues., July 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Both of these games are amazing. However, Bioshock 2 comes with the AWFUL Games for Windows Live, which causes many installation obstacles. Bioshock doesn't work properly with Windows 7, so you have to run in compatibility mode for an older version of Windows.

And for those complaining about Steam, ignore themes. None of these issues have to do with Steam service, rather, compatibility with Windows.

Amazing games once you get past the technical issues residing with them.

More like 4.5 stars, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving the decision, June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I was a bit worried about Bioshock 1 not working on Win 7, but after countless hours of gaming, I can confidently say it works like a charm. Hope to start Bioshock 2 soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bioshock Franchises, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Great Games and love the deals for steam ! Check deals everywhere don't wait for steam to have low prices.... there is some deals everywhere for those games ! and works with steam !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an AMAZING DEAL these are $20 each on Steam..., May 18, 2012
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is a great deal hands down. And activation on steam is super easy. These are not available for Mac but PC users are getting a super deal. The fact that Steam has great deals & Amazon beat that is just a good thing for gamers! If you're reading this and the price isn't $7.49 but it's still less than $20 it's still a worthy purchase!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This was a waste when I bought it on sale., June 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bioshock Dual Pack [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Bioshock 1 hardly ever launches, and when it does, there is no sound.

Bioshock 2 requires a windows live account, and I opted to not use one, because I thought there could be no harm in it. It turns out, if you dont use a windows live account, you can't save, so I wasted 2 hours playing a game I couldn't save.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.